Fashola - Gas Alone Cannot Achieve Increase in Power Sector

Date: 19-08-2016 9:54 am (7 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 19-08-2016 09:54 AM (7 years ago)

The Minister of Power, Works and Housing, Mr Babatunde Fashola, on Thursday said in Lagos that gas alone could not bring the much needed increase in power supply in the country.
Fashola spoke as guest speaker through Mr Chinedu Ugbo, acting Chairman, Niger Delta Power Holding Company (NDPHC), at the 2016 Annual Conference of the National Association of Energy Correspondents in Lagos.
The theme of the conference is entitled: ``Low oil price: Impact and the way forward.’’
Fashola said, ``It is not gas alone that will allow us to achieve incremental power.
"It is our most reliable source of power, yes, but it is only one solution among many other underutilised solutions. "Mambila Power Station, for example, is likely to be our most defining in the road to incremental power, situated in Taraba State. "It will potentially add 3,000MW to the grid and yet this is a hydro-electric project, not gas.
"Our ministry has recently publicised our energy mix and coal forms a large part of our target fuel source.’’

According to him, "I am pleased to say that the Nigerian Bulk Electricity Trading Plc (NBET) is working on a suitable tariff for coal-to-power that will form the basis of a Power Purchase Agreement (PPA). "Although you may not see it, it is at the point of negotiating tariff with power providers that government, through NBET, and NERC, begins to protect the interest of consumers. "Solar and other renewable energies will also play a major role in our roadmap to incremental power. "We have recently signed 14 PPAs for the delivery of 1125 MW of solar power."Other renewable energy projects such as the 10MW wind plant in Kastina, are also in various stages of completion,’’ the minister said.
Also speaking, the Group Managing Director of NNPC, Dr Maikanti Baru, said that oil prices had dropped from 110 dollars per barrel in June 2014 to the current level slightly above 40 dollars per barrel.
"This decline has significantly impacted on government revenue earnings as oil sector accounts for approximately 90 per cent of the nation’s foreign exchange. "The huge drop in revenue earnings poses a grave danger for the adequate funding of the national budget. "A major challenge which, therefore remains, is securing the crude volumes to a level that ensures we deliver the revenue target fully aware of the fact that price is internationally determined. "We are, therefore, working assiduously to resolve the security issues so that we can guarantee volumes,” he said.
Baru, however, appealed to people to stop destroying the energy infrastructure, saying that destruction of critical energy infrastructure posed serious threat to the environment.

Posted: at 19-08-2016 09:54 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sandra78 at 19-08-2016 10:16 AM (7 years ago)
You are the person who blame the problem on Niger Delta bombing last month and this month again you change to say its not only Gas problem anymore.... Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 19-08-2016 10:16 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- EDDYPRINCE at 19-08-2016 10:24 AM (7 years ago)
fashola its confuse
Posted: at 19-08-2016 10:24 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Oways at 19-08-2016 10:48 AM (7 years ago)
Minister of darkness
Posted: at 19-08-2016 10:48 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruthie at 19-08-2016 11:19 AM (7 years ago)
power situation has improved tremendously.. this job is not easy at all. most of you cannot do half of what he is doing yet y''all are complaining... Oniranu Osi
Posted: at 19-08-2016 11:19 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Amibomatc at 19-08-2016 11:23 AM (7 years ago)
Everyday you people will go on the media to say one thing just to confusing the gulible Nigerians. You can fool some people some time but you cannot fool all the people all the time.
Posted: at 19-08-2016 11:23 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 19-08-2016 01:41 PM (7 years ago)
They are speaking from both side of their mouth.
Posted: at 19-08-2016 01:41 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kenosas at 19-08-2016 02:15 PM (7 years ago)

power situation has improved tremendously.. this job is not easy at all. most of you cannot do half of what he is doing yet y''all are complaining... Oniranu Osi

Which work re u talking about,other countries that have stable power,people in the sectors in those countries re they not human being or maybe they ve 7 heads,u people should stop fancy those thieves, if nigerians should be complaining of social aminities at this age ,it should not be issue of power and water,even many poor countries that ve nothing they ve overcome these problem for long,is now we re still tremendously improving.
Posted: at 19-08-2016 02:15 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kison at 19-08-2016 02:55 PM (7 years ago)
BE careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL……………………………….
Posted: at 19-08-2016 02:55 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- osarobo62 at 19-08-2016 04:18 PM (7 years ago)
nigerians should stop stealing cables and transformers ......these are impediments to growth.
Posted: at 19-08-2016 04:18 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Blessed75 at 19-08-2016 05:34 PM (7 years ago)
What do you know about Minister of Power, Works and Housing stupid
Posted: at 19-08-2016 05:34 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- firstmanfour at 19-08-2016 06:48 PM (7 years ago)
u failed us man
Posted: at 19-08-2016 06:48 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- sandler at 19-08-2016 08:54 PM (7 years ago)
Wasted Generation
Posted: at 19-08-2016 08:54 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 20-08-2016 06:29 AM (7 years ago)
but light dey my area since na!! why people dey lie say no light  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 20-08-2016 06:29 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- MumsyTeePeeM at 20-08-2016 06:42 AM (7 years ago)
Fashola has nothing good to offer to Nigerians with tha port folio he's carrying,until he is removed,that sector will continually be in a Dilemma
Posted: at 20-08-2016 06:42 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- CHRISETTE at 22-08-2016 01:26 AM (7 years ago)
Go sleep
Posted: at 22-08-2016 01:26 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- BournIdentity at 25-08-2016 10:14 AM (7 years ago)
Infact I no sabi Faso again,,
Posted: at 25-08-2016 10:14 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Lilycedar2 at 25-08-2016 10:25 AM (7 years ago)
NO BI SMALL THING
Posted: at 25-08-2016 10:25 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- BournIdentity at 31-08-2016 11:12 AM (7 years ago)
Roll Eyes NobsmallTin at all,,,
Posted: at 31-08-2016 11:12 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero