NLC Rejects Okorocha’s Three-Day Working, Two-Day Farming Policy For Imo Workers

Date: 22-08-2016 6:29 am (7 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 22-08-2016 06:29 AM (7 years ago)

The Nigeria Labour Congress has condemned the Imo State government’s three-day work and two-day farming for workers, as recently introduced by Governor Rochas Okorocha.

NLC President, Ayuba Wabba, gave this indication while fielding questions at the News Agency of Nigeria Forum on Sunday in Abuja.

Wabba said that the policy which implied forcefully sending workers to farm was against the International Labour Organisation Convention and also against the rules and procedures in service.

Wabba said, “First, we have condemned in very strong terms what the Imo State governor tries to do by forcefully sending workers to the farm.

“Don’t forget that the public service rule is very clear about what trade a worker can actually do to add to his normal routine services.

“It provided that on your own volition, you can join farming as part of your normal routine activities, and that is allowed by law.

“But to criminally now go to the state House of Assembly and pass a law overnight without public hearing and without consultation is against the ILO convention; it is against our rules and procedure in service.

“To say that you want to force workers compulsorily to go into faming two days a week is the height of not even understanding how governance or how public service is run.

“I am sure that is condemnable.’’

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 22-08-2016 06:29 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Blessed75 at 22-08-2016 06:37 AM (7 years ago)
APC leaders are confused evil men
Posted: at 22-08-2016 06:37 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- WhaleDog at 22-08-2016 07:01 AM (7 years ago)
A good motive behind okrocha initiative but shouldn't be enforce forcefully .Workers should have own preference or allowed to chose if or not willing to partake in the exercise .The idea of forceful implementation is against labour law and human right ! This is not era of martial decree ,now we we governed by the constitution and that must be respected .Okorocha was right to introduce farming into civil service as this idea is productive and lift the nation to be more food independent and it also improve economy in several ways.Farming is essential ,when there's abundance of food in our nation the over dependent on imported foods will drastically reduced ,thereby saving more on the nation foreign reserve .

Posted: at 22-08-2016 07:01 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 22-08-2016 07:27 AM (7 years ago)
NLC so farming no be work for una eye abi....... yeye organisation
Posted: at 22-08-2016 07:27 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- morgan1 at 22-08-2016 07:46 AM (7 years ago)
CHANGE!!!
Posted: at 22-08-2016 07:46 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Mynameis1 at 22-08-2016 08:06 AM (7 years ago)
Why not employ farm workers by doing so you'll create more job opportunities..than asking those already working to do farming
Posted: at 22-08-2016 08:06 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kison at 22-08-2016 08:15 AM (7 years ago)
Y'ALL BETTER be careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL...
Posted: at 22-08-2016 08:15 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- CHRISETTE at 22-08-2016 09:44 AM (7 years ago)
Na them sabi
Posted: at 22-08-2016 09:44 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- chimkey at 22-08-2016 10:55 AM (7 years ago)
A  P C, C-H-A-*N ! Its a matter of time, ndi ara!!
Posted: at 22-08-2016 10:55 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- EDDYPRINCE at 22-08-2016 02:37 PM (7 years ago)
CONFUSE OKOROCHA
Posted: at 22-08-2016 02:37 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ruthie at 22-08-2016 05:18 PM (7 years ago)
when i read this, i was shocked ... clearly not the right thing to do
Posted: at 22-08-2016 05:18 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- dickieponga at 23-08-2016 04:13 AM (7 years ago)
Na una go starve no be me..
Posted: at 23-08-2016 04:13 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- BournIdentity at 23-08-2016 08:38 AM (7 years ago)
Make im pikins and relatives start am first den odas  go join am
Posted: at 23-08-2016 08:38 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero