Nigerian Senator, Sani Shehu Declares His Support For The Independence Of Palestine

Date: 26-08-2016 7:22 pm (7 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 26-08-2016 07:22 PM (7 years ago)

The Vice Chairman, Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs, Sen. Shehu Sani, on Friday expressed support for the United Nations’ resolution on the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.
He said during a visit to the Palestinian Ambassador to Nigeria, Amb. Saleh Fhied, in Abuja, that the conflict had lingered in spite of efforts to resolve it.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that there had been efforts by the Security Council of the UN to bring an end to the conflict.

The conflict has been on territorial lines that existed before Israel’s occupation of the West Bank, East Jerusalem and the Gaza Strip in 1967.

Sani assured the Palestinian envoy of President Muhammadu Buhari’s commitment to the traditional position of Nigeria on the UN resolution on the matter.

“I am here to reaffirm my support for the Palestinian course and the struggle of the people of Palestine, for their liberation as an independent and a sovereign state.

“I also want to reaffirm my firm support for the United Nations resolution on Palestine-Israel debacle.

“It is regrettable that former President Goodluck Jonathan’s administration derailed from Nigeria’s official position.

“It was a direct departure from Nigeria’s traditional position. It was not within the principle of our foreign policy.

“I believe no African should think of any other think than to see Palestine as a sovereign state,’’ he said.

Sani said that it was high time Palestine gained its freedom, stressing that “Palestine represents 21st century prison, where a people are denied the basic right to exist as a free people.

“We don’t believe that there should be a country under colonialism. This is the time for the suffering for the people of Palestine to come to an end; it is time for their independence.

“We believe the UN resolution. In as much as Israel exists as a sovereign state, Palestine should also exist as a sovereign state.

“Global peace can only be attained if the issue is resolved.’’

He commended the Palestinian Government for fostering unity among its Muslim and Christian population, saying that it offered a lesson of religious harmony all over the world.

He said that Nigeria and Palestine would continue to cooperate in relevant areas as well as work closely towards global peace.

Responding, the ambassador commended Buhari for fostering relationship between Nigeria and Palestine in 1985 when he was military Head of State.

Fhied said that Nigeria’s support for Palestine was only fair and just, considering the fact that Nigeria had also suffered from colonialism.

He expressed optimism that as civilian president, Buhari would support the Palestinian struggle to become a sovereign nation.

Fhied also commended Sani for his support for Palestine’s course and urged him not to relent in helping the government in the struggle for freedom.

He said, “every single word you just said will be heard in Palestine. The struggle is not finished yet; we count on your support and we wait for the day we will get our liberation.

“We don’t want to destroy Israel. We do not want to de-legalize Israel; we want to have them as neighbours; we hope the problem will finish and we will be free.

“They have to honour all international decisions and Security Council resolutions and with Nigeria and International help as well as your help, we can achieve this.’’

Posted: at 26-08-2016 07:22 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- XTnote at 26-08-2016 07:37 PM (7 years ago)
Hypocrisy at its peak, I wonder if there is any difference between the Palestines and biafra
Posted: at 26-08-2016 07:37 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- yawa_don_gas at 26-08-2016 07:48 PM (7 years ago)
Yawa goes on
Posted: at 26-08-2016 07:48 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Mykie010 at 26-08-2016 07:56 PM (7 years ago)
Shame to u,independence for Palestine because u are a Muslim but Biafra no because u are enjoying their oil
Posted: at 26-08-2016 07:56 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 26-08-2016 08:01 PM (7 years ago)
OK NA
Posted: at 26-08-2016 08:01 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- kison at 26-08-2016 08:25 PM (7 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 26-08-2016 08:25 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- yawa_don_gas at 26-08-2016 09:00 PM (7 years ago)
Yawa dey
Posted: at 26-08-2016 09:00 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Slimchery at 26-08-2016 09:05 PM (7 years ago)
first repair you home before you dey go put your yeye mouth for other people home matter
Posted: at 26-08-2016 09:05 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- freethinker at 26-08-2016 09:29 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: XTnote on 26-08-2016 07:37 PM
Hypocrisy at its peak, I wonder if there is any difference between the Palestines and biafra
REMAIN BLESSED!
Posted: at 26-08-2016 09:29 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgan1 at 26-08-2016 10:34 PM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 26-08-2016 10:34 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Slimchery at 26-08-2016 10:44 PM (7 years ago)
There  is difference between the Palestines and biafra and the difference is Palestine is a country while Biafra is a state in a country, a very big difference
Posted: at 26-08-2016 10:44 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emytex74 at 26-08-2016 10:56 PM (7 years ago)
See person wey im house dey burn e go dey poshu rat
Posted: at 26-08-2016 10:56 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- max219 at 27-08-2016 12:15 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Slimchery on 26-08-2016 10:44 PM
There  is difference between the Palestines and biafra and the difference is Palestine is a country while Biafra is a state in a country, a very big difference

Biafra State or States that makes up the united state of Biafra? Biafra was a a country and emerged back to open Nigeria after they lost the war  against Nigeria, and in UN law after 28 years later they are free to go, what are you sons of bitches supporting Palestinian to go and Biafra to stay in Nigeria because of there oil which you can not survive without. They must go one day watch it you fool. In the History Biafra existed before Nigeria, the British Government came to merge them with Nigeria and out the problems between them and Nigeria, today they realized again that they cant stay as one Nigeria, the want to go, they reason different from you foolish ZOO nation called Nigeria, they are smart, they have different cult from you, many things about the and you people are quite different. I am a Russian and i am my Government is out to support them, ad they are gradually gaining the support of many nations that will help them to crush Nigeria if they don't let the go peacefully soon. God punish you and your Evil Fathers.
Posted: at 27-08-2016 12:15 AM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- max219 at 27-08-2016 12:22 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: max219 on 27-08-2016 12:15 AM
Biafra  a State or States that makes up the united states of Biafra? Biafra was a country and emerged back to one Nigeria after they lost the war  against Nigeria, and in UN law after 28 years later they are free to go, what are you sons of bitches supporting Palestinian to go and Biafra to stay in Nigeria because of there oil which you can not survive without. They must go one day watch it you fool. In the History Biafra existed before Nigeria, the British Government came to merge them with Nigeria and out the problems between them and Nigeria, today they realized again that they cant stay as one Nigeria, they want to go, they reason different from you foolish ZOO nation called Nigeria, they are smart, they have different culture from you, many things about them and yours are quite different. I am a Russian and I am my Government is out to support them, and they are gradually gaining the support of many great  nations including Israel from our last meeting that will help them crush you Idiots called Nigeria if you stupid greedy animals fail to let the go peacefully soon. God punish you and your Evil Fathers.
Posted: at 27-08-2016 12:22 AM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- jp-free at 27-08-2016 02:38 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Slimchery on 26-08-2016 10:44 PM

If a state can be created out of local government why can't a country be created out of a  disjointed country?
Posted: at 27-08-2016 02:38 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- sandler at 27-08-2016 08:34 AM (7 years ago)
WASTED GENERATION
Posted: at 27-08-2016 08:34 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mynameis1 at 27-08-2016 08:38 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: XTnote on 26-08-2016 07:37 PM
God will bless you 1000 times for this comment..
Posted: at 27-08-2016 08:38 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Zadok1 at 27-08-2016 08:42 AM (7 years ago)
They want independent of Palestine
but Biafra no, reason, OIL
Posted: at 27-08-2016 08:42 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- EDDYPRINCE at 27-08-2016 10:26 AM (7 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 27-08-2016 10:26 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Abubu86 at 27-08-2016 04:18 PM (7 years ago)
I support Palestine be giving country
Posted: at 27-08-2016 04:18 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac