How Did A Housewife Got $5M In Her Account? EFCC Seizes More Money From Patience Jonathan

Date: 22-09-2016 7:18 am (7 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 22-09-2016 07:18 AM (7 years ago)
The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission has frozen Patience Jonathan’s personal account, titled ‘Patience Ibifaka Jonathan’, which is domiciled in Skye Bank Plc.

Impeccable sources within the agency told Punch on Wednesday that the move had become necessary due to the prima facie case established against the former President Goodluck Jonathan’s wife.

As part of investigations into alleged diversion against a former Special Adviser to ex-President Jonathan on Domestic Affairs, Waripamowei Dudafa, the anti-graft agency had frozen four companies’ accounts in Skye Bank with a balance of $15,591,700.

However, before the EFCC could arraign the four companies in court, Jonathan’s wife deposed to an affidavit, claiming that the money belonged to her.

Despite Patience’s claims, however, the EFCC arraigned the four companies –Pluto Property and Investment Company Limited; Seagate Property Development and Investment Company Limited; Trans Ocean Property and Investment Company Limited; and Globus Integrated Service Limited.

The companies pleaded guilty and the EFCC had already begun moves to ensure that the money is forfeited permanently to the Federal Government.

A detective at the EFCC told Punch, “Recall that we had frozen the four companies’ accounts, which Patience Jonathan later laid claim to. We have been able to establish that the money was part of proceeds of crime.

“She had no evidence that the money in the four accounts belonged to her. All she had were platinum debit cards, which she was using to withdraw money and the cards are not evidence of ownership.

“Initially, we had traced $5m to her personal account, which we did not touch but I can confirm to you now that the $5m account, bearing Patience Jonathan’s name, has also been seized since she claimed that the monies in the company accounts and the one in her personal name all emanated from the same source.

“We are tracing other accounts belonging to Patience. It will interest you to know that despite all the letters she has written, she has never stated where she got the money from. She claimed to be a housewife and yet she has $20m.”

Patience had recently written a letter to the acting Chairman of the EFCC, Mr. Ibrahim Magu, where she claimed that she needed the money for her medical treatment abroad.

She had also sued Skye Bank for N200m, accusing the bank of freezing her accounts unjustly.

In a letter written by her lawyers, Granville Abibo (SAN) and Co, Patience said, “It is noteworthy to emphasise that the said accounts, which were in US dollar denomination, were card-based accounts and our client is the sole signatory of these accounts.

“The said bank officials also assured our client that they will change the account names accordingly and issue to our client new credit cards for the said accounts which was not done despite repeated demands.

“However, our client has been operating the said accounts using the cards for her medical bill payments and purchases for her private purposes without any let or hindrance.

“Our client was therefore surprised when the said cards stopped functioning on July 7, 2016 or thereabout. Our client immediately thereupon contacted Skye Bank Plc through our solicitors. It was only then that the bank officials informed our client that the said accounts were placed on a ‘No Debit Order’ following investigations and instructions from your commission and this is without notice to our client by either the bank or the commission.

“It is in the light of the foregoing that we urge you to use your good offices to vacate the ‘No Debit/Freezing Order’ placed on the said accounts.”

Posted: at 22-09-2016 07:18 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- EDDYPRINCE at 22-09-2016 07:38 AM (7 years ago)
Mama peace where did u get such money from? Anyway EFCC you guys shud slow down on this family afterall she was president wife so wat do we expect, why don't u guys start investigating other past president why only Jonathan this I don't. Really like abt this Govt and EFCC. I see it as witch hunting.... you guys shud respect her person and that of the husband cos it's a wrong signal to other country if we can rubbish our past leaders and call them thief's in public who are the citizens then,,, so u guys shud be wise and thread with caution.
Posted: at 22-09-2016 07:38 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Lilycedar2 at 22-09-2016 07:51 AM (7 years ago)
OK
Posted: at 22-09-2016 07:51 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- danuy at 22-09-2016 07:54 AM (7 years ago)
NOTED,
Posted: at 22-09-2016 07:54 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- diutopep at 22-09-2016 07:58 AM (7 years ago)
Poster, she gave them 14days ultimatum to de- freeze her account. So, it is when dis fourteen days ELAPSES without complying with her letter dat you will say this ok!
Posted: at 22-09-2016 07:58 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- odegbalegu at 22-09-2016 08:20 AM (7 years ago)
witch hunting, prejudicial, bias and with clear intention of publicly disgrace the family of GEJ. I don't see you gaining anything out of all these.
Posted: at 22-09-2016 08:20 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 22-09-2016 08:42 AM (7 years ago)
Seriously I have something to say abt dis case. If some of u notice it, am always siding wit Jonathan not cus we come from same region but cus he is a saint where d thieves in dis country are. Only GOD know why he was quiet all d time those thieves who are threat to him were doing all dis. Firstly, him and Year adua are d only human who have rule Nigeria. wit respect and freedom. Others are jt military goons doing everything to destroy d country not minding abt d citizens. As for Shagari, I don't know much abt his rule back then. Wat we are seeing in dis change era is jt wat I foresee qen campaign was going on. I knew it will be revenge and stealing time for those who were left out during those 16yrs of do or die affair (Obj) We can't make d immediate past president and his family look like thieves b4 d world and yet worst is happening now and we can't talk cus we already shot ourselves on d feet trusting dat dis govt was sent by GOD himself (well I never believe in it anyway) Every now and then pple discover d expenses of Aisha Buhari and her frivolities but kept quiet either cus we have made mistake dat they are coming to change things for us or we are ashamed and can't speak cus we know we made a mistake to bring a Fulani who does not care abt human than his prized possession , his cow. By now we shld be recovering money not fighting opposition who does not agree wit APC rules. My anger is 90% of APC members are part of d pple who kill and squeeze dry dis country treasury jt cus of party affiliate they are saint. Tinubu is a drug lord in dis country. Everybody even children knows dat but he can't be touch cus of power dat be who have dented their image and soak their hand in dirty deals too. D president claim he does not have money to buy presidential form to contest but today we find out dat all his children are schooling abroad which dat thief Jonathan does kpt have any out side. He said they shld go and find out. Am so pained dat we, who are suppose to uphold and cleanse dis country are d ones working hand I. hand wit those who had spoilt and destroy dis country in their prime I mean in dis same age wit us then and they ha refuse to leave for d futures leaders to take over. Oh I weep for my country and d future.
Note : I don't care if u like my comment or not. I only want us to think deep where we d you get generation have made mistake and need amend. Shalom
Posted: at 22-09-2016 08:42 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- wahleysage at 22-09-2016 08:56 AM (7 years ago)
Chai, crying over stolen money, diarrrriss God o! Roll Eyes
Posted: at 22-09-2016 08:56 AM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- sandler at 22-09-2016 09:00 AM (7 years ago)
WASTED GENERATION
Posted: at 22-09-2016 09:00 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruthie at 22-09-2016 09:10 AM (7 years ago)
we are all sentimental bigots taking sides with the rich.. like they know yáll exist... how did she get the money? thats the question here... whether it be witch hunt or wizard hunters... we should be made to understand that we should not take sides in this corruption war at all.. if she cannot say where u got all them monies from (housewife) THEN we r in a big mess .. if the militants like, let them blow up .. operation crocodile is waiting for them..
Posted: at 22-09-2016 09:10 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 22-09-2016 09:16 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: winace on 22-09-2016 08:42 AM
Seriously I have something to say abt dis case. If some of u notice it, am always siding wit Jonathan not cus we come from d same region but cus he is a saint where d thieves in dis country are. Only GOD know why he was quiet all d time those thieves who are threat to him were doing all dis. Firstly, him and Yar adua are d only human being who have rule Nigeria, wit respect and freedom. Others are jt military goons doing everything to destroy d country not minding abt d citizens. As for Shagari, I don't know much abt his rule back then. Wat we are seeing in dis change era is jt wat I foresee wen campaign was going on. I knew it will be revenge and stealing time for those who were left out during those 16yrs of do or die affair (Obj) We can't make d immediate past president and his family look like thieves b4 d world and yet worst is happening now and we can't talk cus we already shot ourselves on d feet trusting dat, dis govt was sent by GOD himself (well I never believe in it anyway) Every now and then pple discover d expenses of Aisha Buhari and her frivolities but kept quiet either cus we have made mistake dat they are coming to change things for us or we are ashamed and can't speak cus we know we made a mistake to bring a Fulani who does not care abt human than his prized possession , his cow. By now we shld be recovering money not fighting opposition who does not agree wit APC rules. My anger is, 90% of APC members are part of d pple who kill and squeeze dry dis country treasury jt cus of party affiliate they are saint. Tinubu is a drug lord in dis country. Everybody even children knows dat but he can't be touch cus of power dat be who have dented their image and soak their hand in dirty deals too. D president claim he does not have money to buy presidential form to contest but today we find out dat all his children are schooling abroad , which dat "thief" same  Jonathan does not have any children out side d country. He said they shld go and find out. Am so pained dat we, who are suppose to uphold and cleanse dis country are d ones working hand in hand wit those who had spoilt and destroy dis country in their prime I mean in dis same age wit us then and they have refuse to leave, for d futures leaders to take over. Oh I weep for my country and d future.
Note : I don't care if u like my comment or not. I only want us to think deep where we, d young generation have made mistake and need amend. Shalom
Posted: at 22-09-2016 09:16 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 22-09-2016 09:20 AM (7 years ago)
ooh my EFCC boys, se una no no say house wife dey gain money from soup money wey she collect from husband  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 22-09-2016 09:20 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- tuscanT at 22-09-2016 09:29 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: odegbalegu on 22-09-2016 08:20 AM
witch hunting, prejudicial, bias and with clear intention of publicly disgrace the family of GEJ. I don't see you gaining anything out of all these.
Let me remind you according to nigeria constitution every present administration must probe the immidiate past administration, what is bias when u can see with ur clear eye  that your future and ur children is taking away by greed , just think for a seconds how many road will be construct for $5m or hospital equipment, ppl are dying everyday for lack of basic amenities. This is domocracy when APC is voted out of office then PDP will also sweep to action to probe any  APC official who acted on greed, Nigeria should  and must unite to say no to corruption in any shape or form regardless of whom is standing trial
Posted: at 22-09-2016 09:29 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- bamsailor at 22-09-2016 09:40 AM (7 years ago)
Why are you this blind deaf? you think it's about region now? how about the future of your kids. I pity you. Keep supporting looters 

Quote from: winace on 22-09-2016 08:42 AM
Seriously I have something to say abt dis case. If some of u notice it, am always siding wit Jonathan not cus we come from same region but cus he is a saint where d thieves in dis country are. Only GOD know why he was quiet all d time those thieves who are threat to him were doing all dis. Firstly, him and Year adua are d only human who have rule Nigeria. wit respect and freedom. Others are jt military goons doing everything to destroy d country not minding abt d citizens. As for Shagari, I don't know much abt his rule back then. Wat we are seeing in dis change era is jt wat I foresee qen campaign was going on. I knew it will be revenge and stealing time for those who were left out during those 16yrs of do or die affair (Obj) We can't make d immediate past president and his family look like thieves b4 d world and yet worst is happening now and we can't talk cus we already shot ourselves on d feet trusting dat dis govt was sent by GOD himself (well I never believe in it anyway) Every now and then pple discover d expenses of Aisha Buhari and her frivolities but kept quiet either cus we have made mistake dat they are coming to change things for us or we are ashamed and can't speak cus we know we made a mistake to bring a Fulani who does not care abt human than his prized possession , his cow. By now we shld be recovering money not fighting opposition who does not agree wit APC rules. My anger is 90% of APC members are part of d pple who kill and squeeze dry dis country treasury jt cus of party affiliate they are saint. Tinubu is a drug lord in dis country. Everybody even children knows dat but he can't be touch cus of power dat be who have dented their image and soak their hand in dirty deals too. D president claim he does not have money to buy presidential form to contest but today we find out dat all his children are schooling abroad which dat thief Jonathan does kpt have any out side. He said they shld go and find out. Am so pained dat we, who are suppose to uphold and cleanse dis country are d ones working hand I. hand wit those who had spoilt and destroy dis country in their prime I mean in dis same age wit us then and they ha refuse to leave for d futures leaders to take over. Oh I weep for my country and d future.
Note : I don't care if u like my comment or not. I only want us to think deep where we d you get generation have made mistake and need amend. Shalom
Posted: at 22-09-2016 09:40 AM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- AmazingMarie at 22-09-2016 10:11 AM (7 years ago)
this fight will be deep. by patience Jonathan's affidavit she worked in the civil service hence entitled to salary and allowances. where EFCC has investigated this and it is still in excess then she has a case to answer.
Posted: at 22-09-2016 10:11 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- emytex74 at 22-09-2016 11:03 AM (7 years ago)
Dia ris God ooooh oya continue
Posted: at 22-09-2016 11:03 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- livinus5 at 22-09-2016 11:37 AM (7 years ago)
I know that as a president,s wife,the wife has an upkeep amount which Ministersdo not even earn.But the question i wish to ask Patience Jonathan if why change your name o your bank account if you do not have skeletons in your cupboared.Anyhow,enjoy time is over for Madm PaTIENCE;and this is time for stress,while Mdm Aisha Buhari,do not spare the cash and spoil your own enjoyment cos tis ur turn.U still have about 4years, chop it baby
Posted: at 22-09-2016 11:37 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- osarobo62 at 22-09-2016 03:12 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: ruthie on 22-09-2016 09:10 AM
we are all sentimental bigots taking sides with the rich.. like they know yáll exist... how did she get the money? thats the question here... whether it be witch hunt or wizard hunters... we should be made to understand that we should not take sides in this corruption war at all.. if she cannot say where u got all them monies from (housewife) THEN we r in a big mess .. if the militants like, let them blow up .. operation crocodile is waiting for them..
MAY THE GOD THAT YOU SERVE, AND THAT OF OUR ANCESTORS BLESS YOU.
Posted: at 22-09-2016 03:12 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- osarobo62 at 22-09-2016 03:24 PM (7 years ago)
The reason southern nigeria is economically stagnant today is because, we worship our leaders who steal our birthright and give us crumbs that fall from their tables.
i don't care  if PMB  arrest and prosecute only southerners so long as they are guilty of the crimes alleged.  we in the south are tired and sick of these thieves who pose
as our leaders.  they don't help the commoners in the region other than their families. Buhari should throw all of them in jail and cleanse the south of these shameless,
heartless thieves. Tribalism is destroying us. if Nigeria should break up , do we want these same thieves to govern us?
Posted: at 22-09-2016 03:24 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- tweetynene at 22-09-2016 04:30 PM (7 years ago)
Good question.....
Posted: at 22-09-2016 04:30 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac