Many Injured as Abraham, Akeredolu’s Supporters Clash Violently in Akure

Date: 04-10-2016 4:00 pm (7 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 4-10-2016 04:00 PM (7 years ago)

‎Business activities in Akure, the Ondo State capital, was paralyzed for three hours as supporters of the All Progressives Congress, APC, governorship aspirant, Mr. Segun Abraham and those of the party’s flag bearer, Mr. Oluwarotimi Akeredolu SAN, clashed.
Abraham was said to have mobilised his supporters from Ikare-Akoko to protest against the candidature of Akeredolu, which caused gridlock for several hours at the popular Oba-Adesida/Oyemekun road. Scores of supporters and passersby sustained injuries.
Sources within the party said a national leader of the APC, Asiwaju Ahmed Tinubu has allegedly directed Abraham and his supporters to continue to protest against Akeredolu since he was said to have asked Chief Olusola Oke to decamp to Alliance for Democracy, AD. http://dailypost.ng/2016/10/04/ondo-apc-crisis-tinubu-told-us-join-ad-bola-ilori/
It will be recalled that Tinubu had been in a loggerhead with the national leadership of APC since his godson, Abraham lost the party’s ticket for the Ondo governorship election.
Abraham’s supporters, armed with placards bearing inscriptions such as “With Abraham we stand” “Restore Abraham’s mandate” “Abraham is APC’s candidate” and “ Abraham is the authentic winner of September 3 primary”, moved from Fiwaye Rounabout to the party secretariat.
On getting to the secretariat, the leader of the protesters, Mr Enas Mohammed addressed reporters where he gave reasons for the rejection of Akeredolu as the candidate of the party.
He said the appeal committee set up by the National Working Committee of the party had ordered for rerun of the primary. He added that Abraham should be restored as authentic candidate of the party. Pandemonium was said to have broken out when supporters of Abraham allegedly destroyed posters of Akeredolu.
This was said to have infuriated loyalists of Akeredolu, thereby disrupting the protest. It was gathered that some policemen, men of the National Security and Civil Defence Corps, NSCDC, and journalists ran for their lives. The security personnel had to stay about 200 meters away from the party secretariat in order to escape the dangerous weapons used by the rival groups. But the party’s Publicity Secretary, Omooba Abayomi Adesanya described the protesters protesting against Akeredolu’s candidature as hired hungry youths from Kogi, Ekiti and Edo states who could do anything for just N2000. Adesanya, in a statement, said, “we reliably gathered that these people, who are majorly youths and students were hired from neighboring states and tertiary institutions after been given N2000 each and were mobilized to Akure, the state capital, to create an unnecessary scene and disrupting the peace we enjoy in the State.
“The protesters are not our Party members. We do not have hooligans in our Party. All our member have accepted the decision of the Party on Akeredolu’s candidature and are in various units and wards across the state mobilizing for the Party and its candidate. The Party is supreme and its decision is binding on all members irrespective of status. The public should disregard them and security agencies should do the needful,” the statement read.

Posted: at 4-10-2016 04:00 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- anitajoseph at 4-10-2016 04:06 PM (7 years ago)
Animals
All they know how to do in Nigeria is fight
Stupidity
Posted: at 4-10-2016 04:06 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- diutopep at 4-10-2016 04:15 PM (7 years ago)
USELESS SETS OF VAGABONDS!!!
Posted: at 4-10-2016 04:15 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kison at 4-10-2016 04:26 PM (7 years ago)
Y'ALL BETTER be careful,Y'ALL be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL...
Posted: at 4-10-2016 04:26 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 4-10-2016 04:28 PM (7 years ago)
and police no fit arrest these thugs abi... ooh i don forget they are ABOVE the law  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 4-10-2016 04:28 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- benosky4 at 4-10-2016 04:35 PM (7 years ago)
Yoruba life

Posted: at 4-10-2016 04:35 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tweetynene at 4-10-2016 05:06 PM (7 years ago)
All this so called supports need a life
Posted: at 4-10-2016 05:06 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kayveetee at 4-10-2016 05:15 PM (7 years ago)
I logged in, I read & I commented.... u guys should be careful with ur life.
Posted: at 4-10-2016 05:15 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- christianity at 4-10-2016 05:44 PM (7 years ago)
foolishness@its peak.
Posted: at 4-10-2016 05:44 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 4-10-2016 06:21 PM (7 years ago)
Aketi all the way
Posted: at 4-10-2016 06:21 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- crocatum at 4-10-2016 06:53 PM (7 years ago)
they can keep fighting, it is worth the cause, smash your heads and wound yourselves, fight properly.
Posted: at 4-10-2016 06:53 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- crocatum at 4-10-2016 06:59 PM (7 years ago)
with money, you bought loyalist and the ones you can gain trust without being questioned, you were able to use them as tools to fulfill your plans, because you want to keep controlling the people, you were able to put your boys in power, they serve you, afterall you made them.
Posted: at 4-10-2016 06:59 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- EDDYPRINCE at 4-10-2016 07:06 PM (7 years ago)
USELESS AND JOBLESS YOUTH,,, WHERE IS ABRAHAM CHILDREN AMONGST THIS YOUTH.Huh? YOUTH BE WISE
Posted: at 4-10-2016 07:06 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- emytex74 at 4-10-2016 08:08 PM (7 years ago)
Stupid set of agboros ndi iberibe
Posted: at 4-10-2016 08:08 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sandler at 4-10-2016 08:12 PM (7 years ago)
WASTED GENERATION
Posted: at 4-10-2016 08:12 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Freddie333 at 4-10-2016 09:25 PM (7 years ago)
Lacking wisdom
Posted: at 4-10-2016 09:25 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Trueyarn at 4-10-2016 09:30 PM (7 years ago)
See wetin joblessness and Laziness dey cause people children,dey injure myself because of one polithiefian.
Posted: at 4-10-2016 09:30 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 4-10-2016 10:15 PM (7 years ago)
Foolish pple.
Posted: at 4-10-2016 10:15 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- senatordee01 at 4-10-2016 11:01 PM (7 years ago)
why must you continue to follow this so called politicians and injured yourself
Posted: at 4-10-2016 11:01 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- willyking at 4-10-2016 11:35 PM (7 years ago)
Make una kill una self.
Posted: at 4-10-2016 11:35 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac