I Stole My Boss’ £3,350 To Build House For My Family – 20-Year-Old Houseboy

Date: 08-10-2016 8:58 am (7 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 8-10-2016 08:58 AM (7 years ago)

20-year-old Uweb Samuel, a Cross River State indigene working as a domestic help in Magodo area of Lagos, sat on the grounds of the Lagos State Police Command Headquarters, Ikeja, with his head bowed. Shaking his head intermittently to register remorse, Uweb said he did not imagine he would end up the way he had.

“My boss trusted me so much. In fact, I had access to every part of the house,” he said.

But that trust came back to bite his boss, Mr. Ajadi Babatunde, few days ago when he came back from a trip abroad and left a wad of pound sterling notes in his room. Saturday PUNCH learnt that he trusted his manservant so much that he left the house but left his key on the door of his room...

That day, Babatunde took a peek inside the room and saw something he could not resist.

“I counted the £50 notes and there were 67 there,” he said.

That is £3,350. In current official exchange rate of pounds to naira, that amounts to N1.33m.Samuel said he knew it was a lot of money that could change his life, but thought about building a house immediately.
He said, “There is no house in our village in Calabar that my siblings and I could call a home. So, I thought it was my chance to build a house for my family.

“I took the money before my boss came back home and took it to my sister’s husband to hide for me.

“When my boss came back and started to look for the money, he asked me and I told him I did not see any money. Even though it was just the two of us in the house, I insisted I did not take any money.

“Some workers were doing some renovation work in the compound. He asked if any of them entered the house but they said no. The workers said I must have been the one who took the money and started to beat me.

“They tortured me even though my boss did not instruct them to do that. I still did not admit that I took it. But when it got to a stage, I told them I would kill myself, my boss then told them to take me to the police. But his brother came and spoke with me gently, that was why I decided to confess.”
By the time the police stormed the house of Samuel’s brother-in-law, half of the money was gone, while the man had gone into hiding. Samuel sobbed as he said he was sad that he betrayed his boss’ trust.

According to him, he was being paid N15,000 monthly as a domestic help but that his crime had nothing to do with his salary.
“I wish my boss would forgive me. I did not know this is what will happen to me,” he said.

The police have said investigation was ongoing on the case and the suspect would soon be charged to court.

Posted: at 8-10-2016 08:58 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- diutopep at 8-10-2016 09:26 AM (7 years ago)
''You know that your boss trusted you'' And ...you still go ahead $ betrayed d trust he has for you...! Is it greed, envy, or temptation that put you into dis miserable condition?Huh? I hv wept for you!!!!
Posted: at 8-10-2016 09:26 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kison at 8-10-2016 10:04 AM (7 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 8-10-2016 10:04 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 8-10-2016 10:57 AM (7 years ago)
no be him fault, i blame naija blood wey dey him body, na so politicians too dey do always stealing
Posted: at 8-10-2016 10:57 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- EDDYPRINCE at 8-10-2016 11:05 AM (7 years ago)
temptation, i nor too blame ham coz he was remorseful and u will knw its just the economy hardship and the fear of living tomorrow,,, anyway mr oga forgive him but mk sure the cash is complete by arresting the sisters husband....
Posted: at 8-10-2016 11:05 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- benosky4 at 8-10-2016 11:40 AM (7 years ago)
Poor who can't resist what his eyez sight.
If I'm the Bo$$ I'll forgive and retain him.

Posted: at 8-10-2016 11:40 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- anitajoseph at 8-10-2016 11:45 AM (7 years ago)
I actually feel sorry for him
Posted: at 8-10-2016 11:45 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Freddie333 at 8-10-2016 12:27 PM (7 years ago)
I weep for you, you should have controlled your sef, you have to face the law
Posted: at 8-10-2016 12:27 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- kayveetee at 8-10-2016 03:58 PM (7 years ago)
I logged in, I read & I commented.... That's what I call stealing, thumbs up 4 u.
Posted: at 8-10-2016 03:58 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vicky_joseph at 8-10-2016 05:50 PM (7 years ago)
This is serious
Posted: at 8-10-2016 05:50 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mikexp at 9-10-2016 12:50 AM (7 years ago)
must you steal to be successful?
Posted: at 9-10-2016 12:50 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sandler at 9-10-2016 11:13 AM (7 years ago)
WASTED GENERATION
Posted: at 9-10-2016 11:13 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ignis99 at 9-10-2016 11:20 AM (7 years ago)
Every action  has a consequence
Posted: at 9-10-2016 11:20 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vicky_joseph at 9-10-2016 11:37 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: anitajoseph on  8-10-2016 11:45 AM
I actually feel sorry for him
NA WA OOOOO
Posted: at 9-10-2016 11:37 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 9-10-2016 01:53 PM (7 years ago)
Nah people like you no dey allow people dey trust anybody again,just begin dey DAB enter Kiri-Kiri
Posted: at 9-10-2016 01:53 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- deboalabi262 at 9-10-2016 09:10 PM (7 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?

Posted: at 9-10-2016 09:10 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Otikadinje at 10-10-2016 06:32 PM (7 years ago)
You now can see where longer throat has led you to, stupid boy Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Posted: at 10-10-2016 06:32 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 1marviz at 26-11-2016 01:43 PM (7 years ago)
Na  wa o. everybody wan blow by force.
Posted: at 26-11-2016 01:43 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Singer Portable Slams His Wife, Bewaji, For Excluding Him From Her Birthday Message To Herself

2. Man Arrested By Police For Allegedly Slaughtering 80Yr Old Boss, Wife In Their Abuja Home

3. Lawyer With BSc Drops A Memo For EFCC & Nigerian Lawmakers Over Naira Abuse Brouhaha

4. Nigerian Man Who Hates Cake, Celebrates Birthday With Bread, Butter, And Akara

5. '4 Holy Spirits Came Down From Heaven To Rescue Me' -Tiktoker Who Accused Skibii Of Ritual Says

6. BBN Neo Cries Out Over Accusations Of His Having Affair With AY Makun's Estranged Wife, Mabel

7. Nina Ivy Recounts Her Delivery Journey as She Celebrates Her Son’s 4th Birthday (Video)

8. VID: “I’m Scared, EFCC Are Planning To Arrest Me Because Of VeryDarkMan”– Portable

9. VIDEO: Lady Cries Profusely After Boyfriend Of 6 Years Impregnated Her Best Friend

10. VIDEO: "I Am A Late Bloomer" - Lady Says As She Acquires Her First Car At 32

11. Davido Collaborates With UnitedMasters To Launch New Music Label

12. Burna Boy Receives Accolade From Canadian Senate Over ‘Sold Out’ Concert

13. Lagos Driver Nabbed For Cramming 11 Children Into His Car Meant For Transporting 5 People

14. JNR POPE: AGN President, Emeka Rollas Speaks on Dragging Adanma Luke to Court

15. Comedian Sydney Talker Calls For Prayers For Ailing Singer Khaid

16. New Super Eagles Head Coach Will Be Announced in Two Weeks - Sports Minister Reveals

17. Jubilation in JUTH As 49 Year Old Woman Welcomes Quadruplets After 15 Years of Waiting

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

3. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

4. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

5. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

6. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

7. Embarrassing Moment Lady Was Busted For Lying During Her Testimony in Church (Video)

8. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model

9. VIDEO: Five Cars And BRT Bus Collide in Multiple Crash Along Lagos-Ibadan Expressway

10. Kim Kardashian Shows Off Lots of Flesh as She Debuts Her SKIMS SWIM Summer 2024 Line