Rice Is Expensive Because Nigerians Eat Too Much Rice - Audu Ogbe, Agric Minister

Date: 15-09-2016 12:50 pm (7 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 15-09-2016 12:50 PM (7 years ago)

I am not so sure the Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Chief Audu Ogbeh in trying to explain why rice is “NOW” expensive actually said, “Nigerians Eat Too Much Rice?”. The man made a lot of sense in explaining the 2.5 billion dollars weekly demand to import goods and services into Nigeria. Instead, he has advocated Nigerians look inwards and is prepared to support any inward looking initiative. I thought that made sense, and must be applauded and encouraged. The mindset of ‘foreign is better’ must be discouraged. I commend you Mr Minister Ogbeh- Jide Salu
rice

The Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Chief Audu Ogbeh, on Wednesday in Abuja said Nigerian businessmen demanded 2.5 billion dollars (about N492 billion) a week for the importation of goods and services into the country.
Ogbeh made this known in a meeting with officials of VICAMPRO, an indigenous Agro Company investing in the production of Irish Potato on Wednesday in Abuja.
He said that the ministry was willing to support local investors with the capacity to produce goods and save the country’s foreign exchange.
He said that the consumption of rice in the country was rising and that a lot of people were not aware that the rice had some degree of arsenic.
The minister said that consuming rice in large quantity on a regular basis was a bit of health risk, adding that substituting it with potato would be welcomed development.

“The volume of importation of virtually everything into this country is too much.
“The demand for dollars in this country as at today is 2.5 billion a week; this is the quantum of dollars Nigerians are asking for to import things.
“Since 1986, we began this habit of importing everything and doing virtually nothing at home to sustain ourselves; now, we do not have the dollars and people are very hungry.
“This day was coming anyway, no matter who was in power; we have the most ridiculous method of devaluing our currency; every week, we auction the dollar and naira goes up.
“We sat and were hoping that by devaluation, we are going to arrive at Eldorado; if we continue like this, it will be a thousand naira to a dollar,’’ he said.
While commending the investor, Ogbeh said that any private sector effort that would develop local production of goods would be fully supported by the ministry.
“We should aggressively take the West African market; there is no reason why we should allow Irish potato from Ireland and France and Belgium into West Africa; it is the same story with onions.

Earlier, the Chief Executive Officer of VICAMPRO, Mr Michael Agbogo, said that potato could bring value worth over one trillion naira annually if properly harnessed.
He said that potato was the fourth most important crop in the world and that a barrel of oil was an equivalent of 14 kilogrammes of potatoes.
According to Agbogo, while current price of crude oil will fetch the country about N16,000 per barrel, the equivalent in potato will fetch the country N39,000.
He said that in terms of value, potato had three times the value of crude oil, adding that it was a huge industry the country could get into.
Agbogo said that Egypt and Algeria were the leading potato producing countries in Africa, with Egypt producing four million tonnes annually from about 100,000 hectares of land.
He said that Nigeria, which had close to 500,000 hectares, was struggling to produce one million tonnes of potato per annum.

Posted: at 15-09-2016 12:50 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 15-09-2016 12:56 PM (7 years ago)
see mumu talk, make u go south Asian counties and see amount of rice they eat over there and yet it cheaper!! so shut up
Posted: at 15-09-2016 12:56 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- Wazubia at 15-09-2016 12:58 PM (7 years ago)
Dull brian syndrome.  Dey worry the man. Nonsense talk.
Posted: at 15-09-2016 12:58 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Larry28 at 15-09-2016 01:02 PM (7 years ago)
Rubbish
Posted: at 15-09-2016 01:02 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- diutopep at 15-09-2016 01:11 PM (7 years ago)
I no longer hv d interest to commenting on d economic crisis in Nig.... F.G; take Nigerians and do whatever dat pleases u....! I hv arrested my case!!
Posted: at 15-09-2016 01:11 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jeroba1 at 15-09-2016 01:32 PM (7 years ago)
9ja ruler una try oooo.enuff of all dis nonsense.
Posted: at 15-09-2016 01:32 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- benosky4 at 15-09-2016 01:38 PM (7 years ago)
I support producing more locally rather than importing what we can produce ourselves.
But saying we eat too much is totally out of stupidity.
#myverdict

Posted: at 15-09-2016 01:38 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- benosky4 at 15-09-2016 01:39 PM (7 years ago)
I support producing more locally rather than importing what we can produce ourselves.
But saying we eat too much is totally out of stupidity.
#myverdict

Posted: at 15-09-2016 01:39 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kison at 15-09-2016 02:05 PM (7 years ago)
 Sad Sad Sad Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 15-09-2016 02:05 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- mensch at 15-09-2016 02:05 PM (7 years ago)
Am sorry to say this. Just look at what a minister can open his diirty mouth and voice out.
Nigerians has been eating much rice from the beginig till date.  Confused government.
Pls apc should quit.
Posted: at 15-09-2016 02:05 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- okaforjude31 at 15-09-2016 02:48 PM (7 years ago)
APC is full of stupidity
Posted: at 15-09-2016 02:48 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- okaforjude31 at 15-09-2016 02:50 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: okaforjude31 on 15-09-2016 02:48 PM
APC are  full of stupidity
Posted: at 15-09-2016 02:50 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- osarobo62 at 15-09-2016 03:00 PM (7 years ago)
nutritionally and medically, we need to drastically reduce our rice intake. it is a huge cause of diabetes.
also, white sweet bread should drastically reduced also. Their consumption is of little benefit to your health.
DIABETES is becoming a very costly disease to Nigerians now.
Posted: at 15-09-2016 03:00 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- busymom at 15-09-2016 03:22 PM (7 years ago)
Anyways, I Know he has a point about not rice consumed in large potions everyday is not healthy.
Posted: at 15-09-2016 03:22 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- busymom at 15-09-2016 03:57 PM (7 years ago)
*About rice consumed in large potions not being healthy *
Posted: at 15-09-2016 03:57 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- senatordee01 at 15-09-2016 04:21 PM (7 years ago)
let the minister come explain the remaining food for naija to eat.
Posted: at 15-09-2016 04:21 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 15-09-2016 05:19 PM (7 years ago)
I read everything over and over again na another thing them dey talk abt. Irish potato wey dey grow for dis country well well.
Posted: at 15-09-2016 05:19 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sandler at 15-09-2016 06:19 PM (7 years ago)
WASTED GENERATION
Posted: at 15-09-2016 06:19 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emytex74 at 15-09-2016 06:19 PM (7 years ago)
All Promises Cancel una dey tryooo bt God is watching u pple
Posted: at 15-09-2016 06:19 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ifeamakas at 15-09-2016 06:48 PM (7 years ago)
Yes Audu Ogbe that is truth Nigerians eat too much rice as you said.  Then minister of power tell us your own side the reason why Nigeria never have light and will never have is because Nigerians use too much light, minister of transport the reason why there is no good road and Nigeria will never have good road is because Nigerians travel too much, then minister of education the reason why there is no good school and good education system in Nigeria is because Nigerians too much go to school. OH GOD of our Father Abraham You said that when the Israelites sind against You that You will allow them to suffer for seven years Father we Your children of Nigeria we have Sinead against You and we have suffered for more than thirty years please OH Father forgive us our sins and deliver us from the hands of this wicked and devilish leaders.
Posted: at 15-09-2016 06:48 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming