Civil Defence Officials Allegedly Brutalize Trader, Shave His Hair & Beard (Photos)

Date: 26-09-2016 6:05 am (7 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 26-09-2016 06:05 AM (7 years ago)

Officials of the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps on September 18 brutalised a shop owner, shave his hair and stuffed it into his mouth, the victim and a rights group have said.
The trader, Abdullahi Ibrahim, told PREMIUM TIMES that he was brutalised based on his stance on a mobile phone charger purchased by a civil defence official in Gombe.

Mr. Ibrahim said he refused to replace the accessory, valued at N1,500, after selling it to Bala Yayari, an Assistant Superintendent of the Corps, who later claimed it was defective.

Mr. Ibrahim, 25, runs a phone accessories shop at Arawa Market in Gombe town. He said he refused to accede to the officer’s request for replacement because his shop assistant, who sold the Infinix phone charger, tested and certified the accessory as okay before the officer left with it.

“Later, the officer returned with the same charger and asked my assistant to replace it. But my assistant insisted that the charger was functional when the officer bought it,” he said.

“Then the officer asked for the owner of the shop. They called me on the phone and he asked me to come to the shop immediately or else he would close down the shop.”
The trader added that before he “arrived at the shop, the officer had phoned two men of the NSCDC who came in mufti.

Abdullahi Ibrahim with his shaved beard in his hand

THE ATTACKS
The refusal of the trader to return the money later turned sour as the security officials would not accept such.
“It was at that moment that the two men held me by my waist, dragged and bundled me into their waiting Peugeot 406 car and took me to the Gombe Division of the NSCDC,” he told PRMEIUM TIMES

“At the division, Mr. Yayari directed that the officers on duty to lock me up. Even before I could be taken behind the counter, one of the officials slapped me.

“As soon as I was thrown behind the counter, one of them ordered me to remove my shirt. He started flogging me even before I undressed and he continued flogging me until I sustained severe injuries.

“The official later brought out a scissors and asked me to kneel down and he shaved off the hair on my head as well as my beard. He then ordered me to gather the hairs and put them in my pocket, which I did.

“The officers then asked me to hold my ears while still kneeling down. Then they asked me to give them the N1500. One of them forced his hand into my pockets and located the money in it. He removed only N1500 and returned the rest to me.

“Finally they asked me to frog jump out of the premises” Mr. Abdullahi narrated.
The victim, who said he wants justice, said his family members reported the matter to the police before he was taken to the Gombe Specialists Hospital for treatment.

ACTIVISTS SEEK JUSTICE
A group of activists in the state said it was taking the matter to court because the NSCDC officer is allegedly “notorious for such flagrant abuse of official power”.
“We took up the matter and visited the state headquarters of NSDC to lodge a complaint”, Mr. Hashidu told PREMIUM TIMES.

“Even though the state commandant said he was investigating the matter, we are taking it to court because this is a glaring case of gross abuse”.

Abdullahi injured after beatings for officers of the NSCDC

“This officer is not even serving here in Gombe but in Shongom Local Government Area. He is notorious for using his office to exploit and maltreat innocent civilians. We have another case against him and we will soon take the matter before the state commandant” he said.

Mr. Yayari could not be reached for comments as officials at the Gombe command of the NSCDC said he was being investigated.

However, the commandant of the Corps in Gombe State, Shem Sunday, said his command was investigating the incident.

“We are aware of the incident and we have since issued a query to the officer, Bala Yayari (ASC) on the allegations levelled against him and we are also investigating the matter.
“Anyone found guilty will be sanctioned in accordance to the law,” Mr. Sunday told PREMIUM TIMES.

Posted: at 26-09-2016 06:05 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- senatordee01 at 26-09-2016 07:51 AM (7 years ago)
that civil defense man must be mad. law must take it cause
Posted: at 26-09-2016 07:51 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- maxzy277 at 26-09-2016 07:53 AM (7 years ago)
Let me know the outcome of the court before i give him my own punishment of oppressing a citizen he suppose to protect.
Posted: at 26-09-2016 07:53 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 26-09-2016 07:56 AM (7 years ago)
You mean Single defence bcos those animal no get level.
Posted: at 26-09-2016 07:56 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Knowman at 26-09-2016 07:57 AM (7 years ago)
I no see any blood , the liquid on his back is too black to be blood besides don't look like wound
Posted: at 26-09-2016 07:57 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- diutopep at 26-09-2016 08:29 AM (7 years ago)
Men in uniform are always cruel... To them, no body get mouth so they are free to do whatever they like doing! God is watching all of dem.
Posted: at 26-09-2016 08:29 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kison at 26-09-2016 09:00 AM (7 years ago)
EVEN THO YOU ARE CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL, YOU STILL GET HURT OR KILLED…,,,WHAT A COUNTRY NIGERIA IS...KAIIIIIIIIIII...
Posted: at 26-09-2016 09:00 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- DueneAllan at 26-09-2016 09:09 AM (7 years ago)
Abeg we ain't fools d zobo u guyz dropped on his body jst 2 gain sympathy doesn't look like blood at all..I condemn what d officer did BT diz una wayo of blood na  fake, Roll Eyes
Posted: at 26-09-2016 09:09 AM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- gogoman at 26-09-2016 09:48 AM (7 years ago)
RITUAL THING!!
Posted: at 26-09-2016 09:48 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- sandler at 26-09-2016 10:22 AM (7 years ago)
WASTED GENERATION
Posted: at 26-09-2016 10:22 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Lilycedar2 at 26-09-2016 10:30 AM (7 years ago)
HMM
Posted: at 26-09-2016 10:30 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Vicky_joseph at 26-09-2016 10:49 AM (7 years ago)
This is serious
Posted: at 26-09-2016 10:49 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- AmazingMarie at 26-09-2016 12:47 PM (7 years ago)
NSCDC men are now.becoming like soldiers or what
Posted: at 26-09-2016 12:47 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kayveetee at 26-09-2016 12:58 PM (7 years ago)
gbese re oooo.
Posted: at 26-09-2016 12:58 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- anitajoseph at 26-09-2016 01:11 PM (7 years ago)
Uselessness
Posted: at 26-09-2016 01:11 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 26-09-2016 02:06 PM (7 years ago)
Abuse of power
Posted: at 26-09-2016 02:06 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Slimchery at 26-09-2016 03:50 PM (7 years ago)
but they gave him nice style
Posted: at 26-09-2016 03:50 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tweetynene at 27-09-2016 08:22 AM (7 years ago)
The officials shuld be punished.....they totally went out of line
Posted: at 27-09-2016 08:22 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruthie at 27-09-2016 08:55 AM (7 years ago)
mschew... c him face
Posted: at 27-09-2016 08:55 AM (7 years ago) | Hero