We Only Got $200, Phones From Basketmouth – Robbery Suspects + How They Pulled The Act

Date: 26-11-2016 10:33 am (7 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 26-11-2016 10:33 AM (7 years ago)

More than two months after popular comedian, Bright Okpocha, AKA Basketmouth, was robbed in his home at Lekki, Lagos, the police have apprehended the suspects and paraded them before journalists at the Lagos State Police Command headquarters, Ikeja.

The leader of the three-man gang who attacked Basketmouth, 24-year-old Chibuzor Ugwu,  explained that they simply stumbled on the comedian’s house during their robbery spree on September 7.

Ugwu, an Enugu State indigene living in Anambra State but came to Lagos regularly on the sole mission of carrying out robberies, explained that he was an internet fraudster for three years before he ventured into robbery.

He said, “Anytime I came to Lagos, I took my gang to vandalise vehicles and steal auto parts. We normally targetted Toyota and Honda vehicles.

“But the day we robbed Basketmouth’s house. We had operated on some vehicles in the area that day. We then peeped into a compound and saw a very nice car. When we gained access into the compound, we realised we could make more money by robbing the occupants of the house.

“We then used a bolt cutter to enter through the kitchen. It was when we entered the house that we realised that it was Basketmouth’s house. We saw the pictures of him and his family on the wall.”

According to Ugwu, who said he had done nothing else than internet fraud and robbery since he left secondary school, as soon as they saw Basketmouth, they believed they had hit the mother lode.

The suspect said he pointed a gun he was holding at the comedian and told him to cooperate.

He said they were shocked the comedian told them he had no cash at home.

Ugwu said, “We thought we were going to find millions of naira at the house. He was begging us not to hurt his family. He said he did not keep cash at home. But we told him to cooperate so that we would just operate peacefully and leave.

“We searched the whole apartment and found nothing. We only got a $200 note in his wallet along with the mobile phones in the house which he handed to us.

“Eventually  we left with the little we could find, we were not ready to hurt him because it was clear he was telling the truth when we searched everywhere and found no money.”

He said the phones collected in Basketmouth’s house were sold to a friend he identified as Osama at the Computer Village in Ikeja.

Ugwu explained that he bought the gun he took to the operation for N80,000 in Benue State.

Saturday PUNCH leart that Ugwu entered the police net when he went to a police station to reclaim his vehicle that was impounded after he abandoned it on a road where it broke down at Ijeshatedo area of Lagos.

“I had abandoned the vehicle on the road for some days. When I went there to pick it, I was told the police had impounded it. When I went to the station to claim it, I did not know the police had previously arrested a friend of mine who knew about my robbery activities,”  he said.

The friend he was talking about is 21-year-old Joseph Chimezie.

Chiemezie said he met Ugwu in Anambra State at a joint.

“He is fond of buying drinks for young men at the joint. I told him that anytime he was leaving for Lagos, he should take me along with him so I could find a job,” he said.

He said the day he eventually left for Lagos with him, a member of Ugwu’s gang took him to Ilasamaja and handed him a bag containing guns.

According to him, he was told to take the guns to a house but on the way, the police stopped him. When they searched the bag, they found guns and arrested him.

Chimezie said, “I don’t know about when they robbed Basketmouth. I did not follow them. I did not know that the police were looking for them.

“When they handed me the bag containing the guns, I was afraid and would have droppped it and run away but I knew nowhere in Ilasamaja. All I wanted was to make a better life for myself in Lagos.”

The Commissioner of Police, Lagos State,  Mr. Fatai Owoseni, said the suspects would soon be charged to court.

Posted: at 26-11-2016 10:33 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 26-11-2016 10:41 AM (7 years ago)
OSAMA AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 26-11-2016 10:41 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- kison at 26-11-2016 10:55 AM (7 years ago)
Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? JUST SEE UR USELESS LIFE OUTSIDE, LEADERS OF TOMORROW INDEED..... Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 26-11-2016 10:55 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- EDDYPRINCE at 26-11-2016 11:09 AM (7 years ago)
All this Igbos constituting nausance everywhere they go it's becoming a matter to discuss
Posted: at 26-11-2016 11:09 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- EDDYPRINCE at 26-11-2016 11:10 AM (7 years ago)
Kill dem by firing squard fast
Posted: at 26-11-2016 11:10 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kacylee at 26-11-2016 11:12 AM (7 years ago)
EVEN IF NA N1 UNA TAKE THE FACT STILL REMAINS THAT U STOLE FROM BASKET, JUST FACE IT AND DANCE TO THE MUSIC OF SHAME

Posted: at 26-11-2016 11:12 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- emytex74 at 26-11-2016 11:36 AM (7 years ago)
Una new address na kirikiri
Posted: at 26-11-2016 11:36 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chukkychukky at 26-11-2016 01:09 PM (7 years ago)
dem give u bag of gun u carry, olodo go tell court dat one

Posted: at 26-11-2016 01:09 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 1marviz at 26-11-2016 01:35 PM (7 years ago)
hmmmmmmm
Posted: at 26-11-2016 01:35 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oways at 26-11-2016 01:56 PM (7 years ago)
Bad market
Posted: at 26-11-2016 01:56 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 26-11-2016 02:05 PM (7 years ago)
Hmmm,una get plenty explanation to give Baba Alaye for this December.
Posted: at 26-11-2016 02:05 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- osarobo62 at 26-11-2016 04:14 PM (7 years ago)
so dat poor church rat, na only $200 e get for house Huh?.....real bad market
Posted: at 26-11-2016 04:14 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- diutopep at 26-11-2016 04:17 PM (7 years ago)
Thank God they didn't B.M and his family!
I salute these officers..
Posted: at 26-11-2016 04:17 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- diutopep at 26-11-2016 04:18 PM (7 years ago)
Thank God they didn't B.M and his family!
I salute these officers..
Posted: at 26-11-2016 04:18 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- diutopep at 26-11-2016 04:24 PM (7 years ago)
So it never occurred to you that one day money will go to market and e no go comeback again??
Posted: at 26-11-2016 04:24 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- diutopep at 26-11-2016 04:26 PM (7 years ago)
All of you must perish in jail!
Posted: at 26-11-2016 04:26 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Otikadinje at 26-11-2016 07:12 PM (7 years ago)
Stupid leaders of tomorrow Cheesy

Posted: at 26-11-2016 07:12 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zeigbo at 26-11-2016 08:43 PM (7 years ago)
Hmm

Posted: at 26-11-2016 08:43 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- UWAYO at 27-11-2016 05:42 AM (7 years ago)
Stupid boys,go and get old in jail.so ur nxt generation,even if u se toy gun u go dey run.bad minded People.what are the use of guns.make heavy thunder from ur Village  Fire  u.oloshi
Posted: at 27-11-2016 05:42 AM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- Vicky_joseph at 27-11-2016 09:24 AM (7 years ago)
This is serious
Posted: at 27-11-2016 09:24 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Popular Content Creator, Chidike Emmanuel Shot Dead In Abuja

2. BREAKING: Police Arrest Singer, Portable Over Alleged G-Wagon Debt

3. 5 Soldiers Reportedly Killed, Others Injured As Bandits Attack Military Camp In Katsina

4. Lady Recounts Her Horrifying Ordeal With One-Chance Robbers in Lagos

5. ISWAP Founder's Son Surrenders To Nigerian Security In Borno

6. How Herdsmen Kill Pregnant Woman, 10 Others In Benue

7. 17 BDC Operators Sentenced To 6 months Imprisonment For Operating Without Licence In Kano

8. VIDEO: Singer, Reekado Banks Shows Off His Pending Multimillion Naira Project

9. Man, Elisha Allagedly Kills His Girlfriend, Chops Up Her Body In Akwa Ibom

10. Breaking: Oil Magnate, Sholaye Jeremi, Loses Mother

11. JUST IN: ASUU Threatens Nationwide Strike

1. POLITICAL TURMOIL UNVEILED! 'Wike Was Instrumental To Peter Obi's Exit From PDP' - Paul Ibe

2. Peter Obi Visits Atiku in Abuja as Speculation of Unified Front For 2027 Elections Intensifies

3. Wetin She Wear - Movie Producer, Stanley Nwoko Mocks Destiny Etiko Over Her AMVCA Outfit

4. Lady Raises Alarm Over State of Actor, Nonso Diobi After Spotting Him in Her Area (Video)

5. Reactions as Naira Marley and Sam Larry Were Spotted Vibing to Portable's Diss Track About Them

6. Nigeria Rapper, Dremo Hits Back At Sarkodie’s Shade Of Nigeria’s Big 3 Artists With Diss Track

7. Afrobeat Singer, Davido Blasts Popular Blog For Calling Him “Papa Ifeanyi”

8. 'We Kidnap, Extort & Rap3 Male Victims' - Gang Of Homosegxwal Criminals Arrested In Lekki

9. EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Faces Visa Ban Threat Over Yahaya Bello's Case

10. Man Shoots Stepmom Who Tried To Give Him Hug During Graduation Ceremony