Accountant Allegedly Fakes Own Kidnap After Stealing Company’s $50,000 (Photo)

Date: 28-11-2016 6:29 am (7 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 28-11-2016 06:29 AM (7 years ago)

An accountant with a lubricant producing firm in Ikoyi, Lagos State, Femi Akinola, has been arrested by the police for allegedly stealing the company’s $50,000.

PUNCH Metro reports that the company – Eterna Plc – had sent 30-year-old Akinola to withdraw the sum from the United Bank for Africa in the Marina area on Thursday, November 17.

On getting back to the office, he reportedly told his boss that he was kidnapped on the way from the bank, saying  his abductors dispossessed him of the money and his phones.

However, Akinola was subsequently arrested by the police and police investigation reportedly revealed that he faked his own kidnap.

He was said to have led the operatives to the fence of a primary school in the Bariga area, where $30,000 concealed inside a concrete block was recovered.

While parading the suspect on Friday at the Lagos State Command headquarters in Ikeja, the Commissioner of Police, Fatai Owoseni, said Akinola stripped himself and threw his phones into a river to perfect the ploy.

He said,
“The suspect worked with a multinational company in the state. He was sent to withdraw $50,000. After withdrawing the money, he faked his own kidnap and claimed that the kidnappers collected the money.

“The police have been able to recover $30,000. He confessed to have given out $15,000. We are making efforts to recover the remaining sum.”
However, Akinola, who hails from Ondo State, denied feigning his abduction, saying one Kingsley, who purportedly lives in United Kingdom, colluded with a fraudster to swindle him out of the money.

The father of two children said Kingsley’s accomplice hypnotised him, adding that the man had left before it dawned on him that he had been defrauded.

He said,
“I am also into music. I used to chat with one Kingsley in the UK, who wanted to help me with my music career. I chatted with him that day and I told him that I just withdrew $50,000. He told me he needed $15,000. He sent somebody to meet me around Marina to collect the money. It was after the person collected the money and my phones and left that I came to my senses.

“I was confused and didn’t know what to do. At that point, I decided to hide the remaining $35,000 at the back of a primary school in Bariga, and left for Epe to commit suicide. On getting there, I changed my mind and reported to the police that I was robbed.”

The suspect stated that he was known for honesty, which had earned him awards from the company every year.

“I earn over N120,000 per month. I didn’t have intention of using the money to promote my music career. That was not the first time I would withdraw money for the company as an accounting officer. I had withdrawn more than that in the past. I have been working with the company for five years,” he added.

Do you think he's lying?

Posted: at 28-11-2016 06:29 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- winace at 28-11-2016 07:15 AM (7 years ago)
His lies are smelling every where. Liar
Posted: at 28-11-2016 07:15 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Novic at 28-11-2016 07:53 AM (7 years ago)
God don catch ham... ..yeye people,
Posted: at 28-11-2016 07:53 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Trueyarn at 28-11-2016 08:10 AM (7 years ago)
Hmmm,nah bloody liar he no even sabi lie self,go tell baba Alaye that nonsense for prison.
Posted: at 28-11-2016 08:10 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Afriqueenn at 28-11-2016 09:17 AM (7 years ago)
Do I think he's lying?
I don't think, I know
Posted: at 28-11-2016 09:17 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- diutopep at 28-11-2016 10:20 AM (7 years ago)
Even The Baby That Is Still In Her Mother's Womb Can Testify That This Is  a Pure LIe...
Posted: at 28-11-2016 10:20 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- diutopep at 28-11-2016 10:32 AM (7 years ago)
And he is indirectly saying that he wanted to use this money to promote his music career...
Posted: at 28-11-2016 10:32 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- diutopep at 28-11-2016 10:46 AM (7 years ago)
You withdrew $50,000 that is not your own and started letting your one Kingsley who is in d Uk know about it and then sent somebody to collect only $15,000 from you instead of collecting the whole money!
WHAT A STORY!!!!!
Posted: at 28-11-2016 10:46 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 28-11-2016 10:50 AM (7 years ago)
he no fit go ghana mumu, na your mumulity go send u go prison
Posted: at 28-11-2016 10:50 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- emytex74 at 28-11-2016 11:00 AM (7 years ago)
Story for the gods ewu mmee
Posted: at 28-11-2016 11:00 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emma4love3 at 28-11-2016 11:42 AM (7 years ago)
na waooo things dey happen oooh
Posted: at 28-11-2016 11:42 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Wazubia at 28-11-2016 12:57 PM (7 years ago)
Yoruba guy man  Grin Grin Grin Grin see ur life.
Posted: at 28-11-2016 12:57 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kison at 28-11-2016 02:38 PM (7 years ago)
Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? JUST SEE UR USELESS LIFE OUTSIDE,
Posted: at 28-11-2016 02:38 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kacylee at 28-11-2016 06:40 PM (7 years ago)
THIS ONE NO BE REAL ACCOUNTANT OOOO, WHAT ARE FIGURES MADE FOR, NOT THAT IM TELLING HIM TO MANIPULATE THE FIGURES, BUT IT WILL SAVE A LOT MORE STRESS AND PALAVA THAN THIS IMMATURE METHOD

Posted: at 28-11-2016 06:40 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- tommy70 at 28-11-2016 09:58 PM (7 years ago)
ACCOUNTANT  Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed
Posted: at 28-11-2016 09:58 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Novic at 29-11-2016 11:04 PM (7 years ago)
Good for them
Posted: at 29-11-2016 11:04 PM (7 years ago) | Hero