Ex Falcon Striker, Mercy Akide-Udoh - My Kids Will Never Play for Nigeria

Date: 09-12-2016 10:11 am (7 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 9-12-2016 10:11 AM (7 years ago)

Former Super Falcons striker, Mercy Akide-Udoh, has said her children will never play for Nigeria, as long as the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) continues to treat players poorly.
Akide-Udoh emerged the first ever African Women Footballer of the Year in 2001 and was named in the FIFA World All-Star in 2004. The 41-year-old was reacting to the face-off between the current Falcons squad and the NFF over unpaid bonuses and allowances despite winning the 2016 African Women Cup of Nations in Cameroon.
“They fought with everything, so it should have been a happy ending. These kids have families, their parents are waiting for them to come back and put food on the table,” Akide-Udoh told BBC Sport.
“They’ve done their part and should be paid their money. I won’t be surprised if some of these kids don’t come back; opting to stay with their clubs rather than play for Nigeria.
“I am sorry, My kids are Americans, with the situation going on if something does not change my kids will never play for Nigeria. Who wants to suffer? We did it in our own time, this is a new generation, they should not be suffering what we suffered”
, she added.

Posted: at 9-12-2016 10:11 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- morolayo at 9-12-2016 10:16 AM (7 years ago)
Bla! Bla!! Bla!!! Next please!
Posted: at 9-12-2016 10:16 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 419BigBoy at 9-12-2016 10:18 AM (7 years ago)
>>These kids have families, their parents are waiting for them to come back and put food on the table,”

twisted philosophy, parents are supposed to put food on the table and competing for one's country in amateur competition should be more about pride and accomplishment than money.

Posted: at 9-12-2016 10:18 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 419BigBoy at 9-12-2016 10:19 AM (7 years ago)
but if they were promised a stipend they should be paid asap.

hopefully the budget wasn't chopped.
Posted: at 9-12-2016 10:19 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- freethinker at 9-12-2016 10:23 AM (7 years ago)
BUHARI GOVT IS WORST EVER SINCE HISTORY OF NIGERIA..............
THOSE THAT VOTED FOR THIS CATTLE REAER OWE NIGERIANS APOLOGY....
Posted: at 9-12-2016 10:23 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- OZIAMA23 at 9-12-2016 10:28 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: freethinker on  9-12-2016 10:23 AM
BUHARI GOVT IS WORST EVER SINCE HISTORY OF NIGERIA..............
THOSE THAT VOTED FOR THIS CATTLE REAER OWE NIGERIANS APOLOGY....
honestly
Posted: at 9-12-2016 10:28 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Powerfulify at 9-12-2016 10:58 AM (7 years ago)
Change or not , u have said it all, they will never ever played 4 d zoo.
Posted: at 9-12-2016 10:58 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- diutopep at 9-12-2016 11:53 AM (7 years ago)
To me O
Somehow, There Is Pride In Wearing A National Colour!
Posted: at 9-12-2016 11:53 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 1marviz at 9-12-2016 11:56 AM (7 years ago)
see the way she is talking as if footballers come from only her lineage.       abegi comot for road  for me. 
Posted: at 9-12-2016 11:56 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 9-12-2016 11:58 AM (7 years ago)
NA ONLY U BORN PIKIN!! madam go away we have plenty pikin
Posted: at 9-12-2016 11:58 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- diutopep at 9-12-2016 12:01 PM (7 years ago)
Those who are handling sports in this country...don't know their left from their right...
So, taking this kind of decision somehow, is not a bad idea!
Posted: at 9-12-2016 12:01 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- diutopep at 9-12-2016 12:03 PM (7 years ago)
But still remember....
Nigeria is blessed with lots of talents
So, if your children can't....
Others can!!!!
Posted: at 9-12-2016 12:03 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Slimchery at 9-12-2016 12:39 PM (7 years ago)
Even me with this kind of situation i am not sure my kids will ever play for Nigerian or even represent Nigeria in any sport activities
Posted: at 9-12-2016 12:39 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kison at 9-12-2016 02:26 PM (7 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 9-12-2016 02:26 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kacylee at 9-12-2016 03:34 PM (7 years ago)
Too bad that our sports council Dont treat our sports men and women right, I Dont blame Nigerians that play for other countries

Posted: at 9-12-2016 03:34 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- eric2000 at 9-12-2016 04:36 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: gogoman on  9-12-2016 11:58 AM
NA ONLY U BORN PIKIN!! madam go away we have plenty pikin
ignoramus...is that all you got from the post above?.....chai education good o
Posted: at 9-12-2016 04:36 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 9-12-2016 06:16 PM (7 years ago)
let us see if your kids will play for America Huh?...it's a pity many Nigerians don't know how poor and desperate Nigeria has become Huh?
they are still locked up in Nigeria's past glory....Nigeria is dead broke like a broke ass nigga.
Posted: at 9-12-2016 06:16 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- CHRISETTE at 9-12-2016 06:38 PM (7 years ago)
What a disgrace
Posted: at 9-12-2016 06:38 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- CHRISETTE at 9-12-2016 07:12 PM (7 years ago)
See people reply I pity una
Posted: at 9-12-2016 07:12 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- chimexcel at 10-12-2016 02:28 PM (7 years ago)
Very soon  this NFF non payment of allowances will be a gift to our neighbouring countries and the world. Our player will make them great.
Remember the likes of Ogbonna, Agbolahor, Dele Ali, Onyewu, Ibe and many others.
Posted: at 10-12-2016 02:28 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming