Cristiano Ronaldo Beats Lionel Messi & Antonnie Griezmann To Win His Fourth Ballon d'Or

Published 2 years ago by: Mister Jay Wonder
at 09:11 PM, 12/12/2016 (2 years ago)

(23529 | Addicted Hero) (m)

Portugal's Cristiano Ronaldo has won the Ballon d'Or for a fourth time tonight. He previously won the award in 2008, 2013 and 2014. Ronaldo enjoyed a successful 2016 winning the European Championships with Portugal and the Champions League with his club, Real Madrid.

He still trails rival Lionel Messi who has five awards to his name but has now won three of the last four Ballons d'Or as he looks to catch up with his illustrious rival.

The suspense was killed after the official website tweeted Ronaldo had won before revealing who finished in the 2nd to 5th spots.

Gareth Bale finished in 6th place after a fine season for both club and country.

Elsewhere on the list, Leicester duo Jamie Vardy and Riyad Mahrez were recognised for their efforts in their club's unlikely title winning campaign finishing in 8th and 7th spots respectively.

Previous winners of the Ballon d’or after Cristiano Ronaldo won the award for a fourth time today;

1956: Stanley Matthews (ENG)

1957: Alfredo Di Stefano (ESP)

1958: Raymond Kopa (FRA)

1959: Alfredo Di Stefano (ESP)

1960: Luis Suarez (ESP)

1961: Omar Sivori (ITA)

1962: Josef Masopust (CZE)

1963: Lev Yashin (USSR)

1964: Denis Law (SCO)

1965: Eusebio (POR)

1966: Bobby Charlton (ENG)

1967: Florian Albert (HUN)

1968: George Best (NIR)

1969: Gianni Rivera (ITA)

1970: Gerd Mueller (GER)

1971: Johan Cruyff (NED)

1972: Franz Beckenbauer (GER)

1973: Johan Cruyff (NED)

1974: Johan Cruyff (NED)

1975: Oleg Blokhin (USSR)

1976: Franz Beckenbauer (GER)

1977: Alan Simonsen (DEN)

1978: Kevin Keegan (ENG)

1979: Kevin Keegan (ENG)

1980: Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (GER)

1981: Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (GER)

1982: Paolo Rossi (ITA)

1983: Michel Platini (FRA)

1984: Michel Platini (FRA)

1985: Michel Platini (FRA)

1986: Igor Belanov (USSR)

1987: Ruud Gullit (NED)

1988: Marco van Basten (NED)

1989: Marco van Basten (NED)

1990: Lothar Matthäus (GER)

1991: Jean-Pierre Papin (FRA)

1992: Marco van Basten (NED)

1993: Roberto Baggio (ITA)

1994: Hristo Stoichkov (BUL)

1995: George Weah (LBR)

1996: Matthias Sammer (GER)

1997: Ronaldo (BRA)

1998: Zinedine Zidane (FRA)

1999: Rivaldo (BRA)

2000: Luis Figo (POR)

2001: Michael Owen (ENG)

2002: Ronaldo (BRA)

2003: Pavel Nedved (CZE)

2004: Andrei Shevchenko (UKR)

2005: Ronaldinho (BRA)

2006: Fabio Cannavaro (ITA)

2007: Kaka (BRA)

2008: Cristiano Ronaldo (POR)

2009: Lionel Messi (ARG)

2010: Lionel Messi (ARG)

2011: Lionel Messi (ARG)

2012: Lionel Messi (ARG)

2013: Cristiano Ronaldo (POR)

2014: Cristiano Ronaldo (POR)

2015: Lionel Messi (ARG)

2016: Cristiano Ronaldo (POR)

Problem with this article? Please contact us

diutopep at 09:21 PM, 12/12/2016 (2 years ago)
(6176 | Gistmaniac) (f)

A Big Congratulations To you CR7!
diutopep at 09:26 PM, 12/12/2016 (2 years ago)
(6176 | Gistmaniac) (f)

I knew it before now that Messi and Co can't take it away from you...
Keep working harder Okay!
mavcorner at 09:45 PM, 12/12/2016 (2 years ago)
(23 | Newbie) (f)

Congrats Ronaldo, but come to think of it, is it Ronaldo and Messi birthright?

When Messi was charged for the tax evasion suit, I knew then that he won't win the award. Better luck next year, Messi.
concentrate at 10:08 PM, 12/12/2016 (2 years ago)
(1990 | Gistmaniac) (m)

that's my man. CONGRATULATIONS! It's a honour well deserved.
tommy70 at 10:16 PM, 12/12/2016 (2 years ago)
(3022 | Gistmaniac) (m)

kison at 10:54 PM, 12/12/2016 (2 years ago)
(19287 | Hero) (m)

419BigBoy at 11:04 PM, 12/12/2016 (2 years ago)
(1090 | Gistmaniac) (m)

must be nice racking up anoda trophy
Tripleflash at 11:09 PM, 12/12/2016 (2 years ago)
(240 | Upcoming) (m)

Congratulobia! Ur head dey dia jare
Raphkomo at 01:42 AM, 13/12/2016 (2 years ago)
(307 | Upcoming) (m)

gogoman at 05:49 AM, 13/12/2016 (2 years ago)
(31816 | Addicted Hero) (m)

chimexcel at 07:44 AM, 13/12/2016 (2 years ago)
(754 | Upcoming) (m)

When hard work and talent speaks
CHRISETTE at 08:07 AM, 13/12/2016 (2 years ago)
(12638 | Hero) (f)

Happy for him
jeroba1 at 08:57 AM, 13/12/2016 (2 years ago)
(3143 | Gistmaniac) (m)

gud congrats.
kacylee at 09:34 AM, 13/12/2016 (2 years ago)
(24737 | Addicted Hero) (f)

way to go CR7, u are my all time Champ!!!

emytex74 at 09:48 AM, 13/12/2016 (2 years ago)
(4139 | Gistmaniac) (m)

CR7 congrats my guy
chimexcel at 04:33 PM, 13/12/2016 (2 years ago)
(754 | Upcoming) (m)

BournIdentity at 02:16 PM, 28/12/2016 (2 years ago)
(46066 | Addicted Hero) (m)

Sidon there dey look like zombie,,,,.. I just dey wakaring
BournIdentity at 09:49 PM, 28/12/2016 (2 years ago)
(46066 | Addicted Hero) (m)

Knack mi tori.....,,,
I just dey observe! Dey pass jejeli as in,, maka, make jelorsi no kill u o


  1. Patode on: JUST IN: Courts May Shut Down Nationwide As Lawyers Say No To DSS Court Invasion
    NBA said "armed DSS official". I do not believe that I saw any gun inside that court room.... 2 mins ago
  2. dopygenius on: I Had A Runny Stomach -Cardi B Breaks Silence After Ghanaian Celebs Accuse Her Of Snubbing Them
    Lolz she say the shit nearly dropped out from her fuckin ass... 6 mins ago
  3. willyking on: "I Smoked More Weed Than Fela, Naira Marley Is An Apprentice"- Charly Boy, Shares Randy Photos
    Those who smoked the real weed are in the street now picking cellofing with their plastic rubber Igb... 7 mins ago
  4. dopygenius on: Women Beware! Stop Using Tissue Paper, It Causes Cervical Cancer - Medical Experts
    That same hand dey go use prepare food for their hubby..omg I feel like to pukeOk what about when th... 14 mins ago
  5. willyking on: Photos: Nigerian Celebrities Stun At Ebonylife Films Premieres, “Your Excellency"
    None sense celebrity ..... 14 mins ago