PHOTOS: 140 Nigerians Deported From Libya Regret Sojourn

Date: 21-12-2016 6:32 am (7 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 21-12-2016 06:32 AM (7 years ago)

No fewer than 140 Nigerians, who were deported from Libya, arrived in the country on Tuesday through the Murtala Muhammed International Airport, Lagos.

The PUNCH learnt that the deportees, who arrived on board a Libyan Airline, were received by the Director-General of the National Emergency Management Agency, Sani Sidi, who was represented by the South-West Coordinator of the agency, Dr. Onimode Bamdele.

Our correspondent gathered that while many of the deportees left for their various destinations, others left in two chattered BRT buses for the Synagogue Church of All Nations.

Three of the deportees, who had medical issues, were said to have been taken to a hospital, where they were admitted for treatment.

Our correspondent gathered that most of the deportees had been in detention in various Libyan prisons before they were released after the intervention of the International Organisation for Migration and the Nigerian embassy in Libya.

The spokesperson for NEMA, South-West zone, Ibrahim Farinloye, confirmed the development.

“A total of 140 Nigerians were deported. While some of them were from the villages and hinterland, a lot of them were imprisoned. But they all had the desire to return home due to the ugly experiences they had.

“Their deportation was facilitated by the International Organisation for Migration and the Nigerian embassy in Libya. They took off from Libya around 12.30pm Nigerian time and arrived at 4.30pm. Of the 140 deportees, 74 were male adults, while 52 were female adults. We also had six unaccompanied underage, consisting five females and one male. There were four infants among the deportees. Three of the deportees had medical issues and had to be taken to the hospital.

“Most of them dispersed to their various states — Benue, Edo, Anambra, Enugu — while we got six accommodated in hotels. Many of them left in two BRT buses for the Synagogue Church of All Nations.”

Farinloye said the deportees regretted their decision to travel abroad, adding that they had sad tales to tell.

He said the NEMA DG challenged them to stay in Nigeria and contribute to the development of the country.

He said, “They said what they passed through was what they would never wish for their enemies. The DG told them that even Libya that they went to believe there is no place like Nigeria because Nigeria has the most liberal policies for foreigners. He told them to stay back in Nigeria and help in developing the country and we will soon overcome our challenges.”

Posted: at 21-12-2016 06:32 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- jeroba1 at 21-12-2016 06:36 AM (7 years ago)
welcome back struggle continues.
Posted: at 21-12-2016 06:36 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- maizaxx at 21-12-2016 06:55 AM (7 years ago)
Sir I like the comment you made; stay and add to the development of the country! Sir if there was something tangible to do, would they have left in the first place?
So I suggest you don't make those remarks but go back to the drawing board and do something and not just words.
Posted: at 21-12-2016 06:55 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kacylee at 21-12-2016 07:04 AM (7 years ago)
stay ur country

Posted: at 21-12-2016 07:04 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chimexcel at 21-12-2016 07:33 AM (7 years ago)
There are countries we Nigerians should not consider while travelling. Go to countries that have peace and multi religion. One religion country often is not save.
Welcome Back To Nigeria. It's not yet over because we are dealing with change or better still recession. Good luck.
Posted: at 21-12-2016 07:33 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- chukkychukky at 21-12-2016 07:50 AM (7 years ago)
b4 nko libya don spoil jst like malaysia take scatter by nigerians

Posted: at 21-12-2016 07:50 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- luckingto50 at 21-12-2016 09:35 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: maizaxx on 21-12-2016 06:55 AM
Sir I like the comment you made; stay and add to the development of the country! Sir if there was something tangible to do, would they have left in the first place?
So I suggest you don't make those remarks but go back to the drawing board and do something and not just words.

Which drawing board abi d drawing no day finish?
Posted: at 21-12-2016 09:35 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 21-12-2016 11:21 AM (7 years ago)
NAIJA EVERY WHERE
Posted: at 21-12-2016 11:21 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- kison at 21-12-2016 05:52 PM (7 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 21-12-2016 05:52 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- james987 at 22-12-2016 08:09 AM (7 years ago)
E no easy at all
Posted: at 22-12-2016 08:09 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- tommy70 at 22-12-2016 08:58 PM (7 years ago)
OK
Posted: at 22-12-2016 08:58 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- EDDYPRINCE at 23-12-2016 12:01 AM (7 years ago)
Edo most dey,,, hmmmmmm
Posted: at 23-12-2016 12:01 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- journalist96 at 23-12-2016 05:37 PM (7 years ago)
Welcome back home
Posted: at 23-12-2016 05:37 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- BournIdentity at 28-12-2016 04:02 PM (7 years ago)
Sidon there dey look like zombie,,,,.. I just dey wakaring
Posted: at 28-12-2016 04:02 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero