Sultan Of Sokoto Oppose Gender Equality Bill "It Not Islamic For Women to Be Equal To Men"

Date: 28-12-2016 2:29 pm (7 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 28-12-2016 02:29 PM (7 years ago)

The Sultan of Sokoto, Alhaji Muhammadu Abubakar, has called on the Nigerian Senate not to consider the bill seeking gender equality in inheritance because of its religious implications.The sultan said this while speaking at the closing ceremony of the 20th Zamfara State annual Qur’anic recitation competition. According to him, the bill is unacceptable to Muslims because it is against Islamic teachings.
"Our religion is our total way of life; therefore, we will not accept any move to change what Allah permitted us to do... Islam is a peaceful religion; we have been living peacefully with Christians and followers of other religions in this country. Therefore, we should be allowed to perform our religion effectively.” He said.
The bill proposes that widows should have custody of their children, except if it is contrary to their welfare. The bill also seeks for widows to be allowed to inherit a fair share their husband's property, be allowed to live in their matrimonial home and also remarry any man of their choice.
Meanwhile, Nigerians on Twitter have expressed outrage over his proclamation, stating that Nigeria is not a Sharia country and as such our constitution should not be guided by the Quran.

Posted: at 28-12-2016 02:29 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 28-12-2016 02:33 PM (7 years ago)
Yes and even in Bible self na same thing! no woman should speak in church... listen to your husband it says abi i lie Roll Eyes
Posted: at 28-12-2016 02:33 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- treasurelamp at 28-12-2016 02:50 PM (7 years ago)
I oppose too.. Forget about western life and civilization
Posted: at 28-12-2016 02:50 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- concentrate at 28-12-2016 02:51 PM (7 years ago)
what is wrong in a woman having a share of her father's wealth?
Posted: at 28-12-2016 02:51 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- blowout at 28-12-2016 03:50 PM (7 years ago)
Oga come out of that your cave. We are no longer in the d stone age.
Posted: at 28-12-2016 03:50 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kison at 28-12-2016 03:58 PM (7 years ago)
 Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad
Posted: at 28-12-2016 03:58 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- chukkychukky at 28-12-2016 04:27 PM (7 years ago)
we are in 21st century sir

Posted: at 28-12-2016 04:27 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- firstaustin at 28-12-2016 05:25 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: gogoman on 28-12-2016 02:33 PM
Yes and even in Bible self na same thing! no woman should speak in church... listen to your husband it says abi i lie Roll Eyes

Some people go kill you for saying what's in the Bible, Even clergymen and women will tell you that's not what the Bible says.
Posted: at 28-12-2016 05:25 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- diutopep at 28-12-2016 05:32 PM (7 years ago)
What Do You Know??? Abegi go sit don!
Posted: at 28-12-2016 05:32 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mykie010 at 28-12-2016 06:16 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: treasurelamp on 28-12-2016 02:50 PM
I oppose too.. Forget about western life and civilization
you should be ashamed of urself
Posted: at 28-12-2016 06:16 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Raphkomo at 28-12-2016 07:08 PM (7 years ago)
the world is changing,  so changing is coming
Posted: at 28-12-2016 07:08 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- crocatum at 28-12-2016 08:13 PM (7 years ago)
it is their law, it is not wrong, but if you analyse it, obviously a woman is equal to a man, after death, i think the bible says they both become something like angels, and they do not marry, hence  either they were equal before death  or after death they became equal, but since heavens status is greater than earthly status, then are women not truly equal unless we are scared of free women, which is obvious, have free women become intolerable? and hence the need to set things in order, like it is suppose to be.

Posted: at 28-12-2016 08:13 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- crocatum at 28-12-2016 08:40 PM (7 years ago)
so depends on who is who, either you choose a free woman watch it go either way, or you choose a woman, who under your watch must go in a certain way at least the weapons to enforce this are there right.

so would you choose a partner to admire you because of who you are or a partner that is to admire you because she is suppose to do so.
Posted: at 28-12-2016 08:40 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kacylee at 28-12-2016 08:41 PM (7 years ago)
this gender equality thng should not be an issue, if a woman and a man agrees to be equal in their home fine let them rule their home that way, let focus on more benefiting issues

Posted: at 28-12-2016 08:41 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- BournIdentity at 29-12-2016 06:21 AM (7 years ago)
Knack mi tori.....,,,
I just dey observe! Dey pass jejeli as in,, maka, make jelorsi no kill u o
Posted: at 29-12-2016 06:21 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- DAMILARE100 at 29-12-2016 07:16 AM (7 years ago)
Women aren't even allowed to drive cars in Saudi Arabia............. Abeg, let Nigeria split...... Biafra, Oduduwa States and make this yeye aboki call themselves whatever they like.
   This Nation can't progress with these animals in human skin
Posted: at 29-12-2016 07:16 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Novic at 29-12-2016 05:02 PM (7 years ago)
this is crazy..... people with madness sha, nothing person eyes no go see

just dey waka pass jarem will comment later
Posted: at 29-12-2016 05:02 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Ademife at 29-12-2016 08:44 PM (7 years ago)
biblically a woman shld submit to her husband but DAT husband shld also honour his wife not turning her to a slave....NOW guys don't read d part honour ur wife only saying dey r d head n dis is causing problem in our society...to me passing d bill is nothing we shld all follow Gods order to av a lovely n peaceful environment..
Posted: at 29-12-2016 08:44 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- CHRISETTE at 29-12-2016 09:18 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: gogoman on 28-12-2016 02:33 PM
You don't know the Bible stop saying shit
Posted: at 29-12-2016 09:18 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- tommy70 at 29-12-2016 10:11 PM (7 years ago)
CORRECT
Posted: at 29-12-2016 10:11 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. APC Youths Besiege APC Secretariat, Demand Fresh Primary Election In Ondo

2. Korra Obidi’s Ex, Justin Dean Laments As His 4Yr Old Daughter Twerks Like Mother

3. Come Out And Confess Why You Kill Mohbad - Ghanaian Prophet Who Prophesied JP’s Death Calls Sam

4. My Mother, Enemy Of Progres!Man Reveals How His Mother Ended His Plans To Travel Out Of Nigeria

5. I Never Wanted Him to Play Chess - Record Breaker, Tunde Onakoya's Dad Breaks Silence (Video)

6. One Dead, Three Injured, N8.7m Recovered On Kaduna Road Crash

7. Court Strikes Out Suit Seeking Ro Remove Hannatu Musawa As Minister As She's A Serving NYSC Mem

8. "Davido Was The First Big Artiste Who Supported My Career" - Skitmaker, Sabinus

9. "End This Hiding, Submit Yourself To The Law" - Ologbondiyan To Yahaya Bello

10. Despite Devilish Conspiration, Air Peace To Begin Abuja-London Flights

11. Police Inspector Sunday Baba Shot Dead By Gunmen In Rivers

12. I'm Yet To Be Contacted By NFF – Peseiro Breaks Silence On Super Eagles' Return

13. Two Chinese Men, Company Docked By EFCC Over Illegal Mining Activities

14. My Father Raised Me To Be A Modern Day Man – DJ Cuppy Praises Billionaire Father, Otedola

15. UPDATE: Security Operatives Launch Manhunt For 109 Fleeing Inmates Of Suleja Prison

4. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

5. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

7. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

8. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor