nigerian faces death for 86 wives

Date: 26-08-2008 6:05 pm (15 years ago) | Author: shessy dell
[1] 2 3 4
- at 26-08-2008 06:05 PM (15 years ago)
DGuy, I have just read it now from bbc news the shocking response of the islamic comunity over the man with 86 wives, below is the excerpt:    

naijapals ladies and gentlemen what is our response now to this:-

Nigeria's Islamic authority has told the man who has 86 wives to choose only four and repent within three days or else he will be sentenced to death.

The Jamatu Nasril Islam (JNI) passed their verdict on Mohammed Bello Abubakar, 84, according to Sharia law.

This comes two weeks after the Nigerian press and the BBC reported on the case.

Talking to the media then, Mr Abubakar challenged Muslim scholars, saying there is no punishment stated in the Koran for having more than four wives.

However, Mr Abubakar advised other men not to follow his example and marry 86 women.

No limit

The former teacher and Muslim preacher lives in Niger State with his wives and at least 170 children, and says he is able to cope only with the help of God.

"A man with 10 wives would collapse and die, but my own power is given by Allah. That is why I have been able to control 86 of them," he told the BBC.

Most Muslim scholars agree that a man is allowed to have four wives, as long as he can treat them equally.

But Mr Bello Abubakar told the BBC: "To my understanding the Koran does not place a limit and it is up to what your own power, your own endowment and ability allows.

"God did not say what the punishment should be for a man who has more than four wives, but he was specific about the punishment for fornication and adultery."

Niger is one of the Muslim majority states to have reintroduced Sharia punishments since 2000.

Several people have been sentenced to death for adultery by Sharia courts but none of these sentences have been carried out.

Story from BBC NEWS:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/go/pr/fr/-/1/hi/world/africa/7574757.stm

Published: 2008/08/21 13:58:54 GMT

© BBC MMVIII
[/b][/color][/b][/color]

Posted: at 26-08-2008 06:05 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- solazed at 27-08-2008 06:37 PM (15 years ago)
86 wives??? ..........that on its own is a death sentence

Posted: at 27-08-2008 06:37 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dguy at 28-08-2008 02:57 AM (15 years ago)
hy thanks for the updates - heres the man's story:  //www.gistmania.com/talk/topic,2866.0-.html

Posted: at 28-08-2008 02:57 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chiomsx at 28-08-2008 05:07 AM (15 years ago)
cant comment..i no be 9ja .... Lips Sealed
Posted: at 28-08-2008 05:07 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- babieada at 28-08-2008 06:59 AM (15 years ago)
 at chiomsx u said dat u can't comment..i no be 9ja. No wahala. but come to tink of it, if u no b 9ja-- na watin make u reply 4 pigin language. c say u dey lie.
Posted: at 28-08-2008 06:59 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- izzuddeen at 28-08-2008 10:39 AM (15 years ago)
good for him.he din't just violate the islamic law but also insulted islam by claiming to be receiving revelations directly from God,by making such pronouncement,he is claiming to be a prophet.[God forbid]
Posted: at 28-08-2008 10:39 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- bertona12 at 28-08-2008 10:47 AM (15 years ago)
Where dem dey all dis time wen he dey dem abi na today dey wakeup?Dem dey craze
Posted: at 28-08-2008 10:47 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bertona12 at 28-08-2008 10:52 AM (15 years ago)
Anyway, he dont need death sentence bc he is already near his grave Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 28-08-2008 10:52 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Gentility at 28-08-2008 04:13 PM (15 years ago)
Gaskiya, i dont know what to say about this. its just extraordinary
Posted: at 28-08-2008 04:13 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- luvpet at 28-08-2008 06:08 PM (15 years ago)
They should all go n fork shit i mean y sentence a guy who has dug his own grave already  to death.plsssssssssssss  Angry
Posted: at 28-08-2008 06:08 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- macgreat at 28-08-2008 07:41 PM (15 years ago)
Oooo... skip

Posted: at 28-08-2008 07:41 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- aish at 28-08-2008 08:32 PM (15 years ago)
walahi, dat man tried, he shld be given an award for having dat much wives, come to think of it, r u lots not interested on how he was hammering them? poster pls give me this private gist. lol
Posted: at 28-08-2008 08:32 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- macduff at 28-08-2008 09:23 PM (15 years ago)
Shocked Men....that man's name should be in the guinness world book of record
Posted: at 28-08-2008 09:23 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- samdee at 28-08-2008 09:51 PM (15 years ago)
The life's span of a human is 70 and by extra force 80, the man in question is 84 years, is not necessary to add to sins on the basis of sharia law, he knew something is wrong somehow by himself, but yet up till now none of his wives has come out to say he is not taking care of them, i think the muslim has no specific amount of wife that may be married unlike christian that was stipulated one man one wife, what they have claimed is as long as he can take equally care of the wives that were married, (though i strongly condemn his decision to have pursued making history in the guinness book of record at the expense of these pitiful women as i commented when Dguy brought the issue up)  we shouldn't demoralised the innocent children he brought to the world (do i hear you say 170, i believed they will pass that number soon) by killing the man afterall he is doing overtime already, what is the criteria according to the islamic teaching they gave him to choose the so-called four of the 86 wives?, dai non siamo scherziando,(we are not joking) its time naija stop making unnecessary disheartening embarrasing news in international world, they dont have to act or react so worse to a spoilt personal situations on basis of religion............. i think Quran does not contradict itself, God forbid now!!! Let the man liveth and carry his funeral go jare.............. Sad Shocked Embarrassed
Posted: at 28-08-2008 09:51 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- mrsafrica at 28-08-2008 11:36 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: solazed on 27-08-2008 06:37 PM
86 wives??? ..........that on its own is a death sentence
I agree, and 170 kids wow i bet he does not watch tv much?  lol
Posted: at 28-08-2008 11:36 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Stalion at 29-08-2008 08:47 AM (15 years ago)
This guy should be a walking billboard for Dbanj's hit song, ''Booty Call''....lol...
''You know say Don Jazzy got the booty community''
''ur booty is a gift to humanity..''
''dats why u got the booty immunity...'''.....
''I LOVE DAT OVERLOADDDD OOOOO....

Maybe our poor bloke has his own burantashi laboratory that manufactures elixirs and brews for sex. Or he's just a simple sex addict...An average of 2 wives a day with a strict roster regimen for the month..with a menage trois thrown in for good luck..

http://news.yahoo.com/s/eonline/20080828/en_celeb_eo/26532;_ylt=An8SjGa1VczmH1GHm6RY2NcnHL8C

Posted: at 29-08-2008 08:47 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- HIGHCHIEF at 29-08-2008 08:59 AM (15 years ago)
Who can in the first instance love four wives equally?
The gentle Mallam Bello should be allowed to live his life as he does. The constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria allows him to marry as many wives as he so wishes. As long as he never forced any of the wives into matrimony, he can go ahead and even marry more. However, let us remember his cavet: do not follow my example and marry 86 wives.
Posted: at 29-08-2008 08:59 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- hamy4real at 29-08-2008 09:23 AM (15 years ago)
what the man did is what we call man inhumanity to his fellow human being.i don,t no why they should let this public hearing.put that man in the jail.let him die on his own.
Posted: at 29-08-2008 09:23 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- bertona12 at 29-08-2008 10:00 AM (15 years ago)
Putting him to jaill will not solve the issue.Allow him to go his normal biz and die systematically or better still slowly
Posted: at 29-08-2008 10:00 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tosinbest at 29-08-2008 10:37 AM (15 years ago)
the man should be leave alone since he is near to his grave. Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley
Posted: at 29-08-2008 10:37 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4