SHOCKING: 5 Confirmed Dead As Perennial Akwa Ibom, Cross River Community War Escalates

Date: 18-01-2017 9:07 am (7 years ago) | Author: success Xenab
- at 18-01-2017 09:07 AM (7 years ago)

The age-long boundary dispute between two communities, Ikot Offiong, in Odukpani Local Government Area of Cross River State and Oku Iboku in Itu Local Government Area of Akwa Ibom State has reportedly claimed five lives as hostilities resumed.

It was gathered that few private and commercial vehicles plied the Uyo-Calabar route, yesterday, for fear of the unknown as some vehicles, including a trailer passing the area, were reportedly burnt, Monday, when the fight resumed.

A youth from Oku Iboku, who simply identified himself as Ifiok, said: “I was still in Uyo about 6p.m., Monday, when I got a call. I was told that four persons were killed. This morning I heard that one Victor was also killed, making it five persons that have been killed in the crisis.

“In fact, I have a friend from Oku Iboku, who said he received a call last night and was told that his brother has been killed. It is so sad.

“For now, I do not know the families that lost their people in the crisis. This lingering communal war has led to the displacement of many of our people. Some refused to come back to the community because it is escalating. This crisis has been there even before I was born.”

Also a civil servant, who did not want his name mentioned, said though he observed on his way from Calabar to Uyo yesterday morning that police and the Army have been drafted to the affected areas, he would not advise anybody to go close to the area at the moment. You remember that the communities fought before the end of 2016, and we were told people lost their lives too. Something needs to be done to address this immediately.”

Contacted, the Police Public Relations Officer, Cordelia Nwawe, said she has not been informed that anybody died in the crisis, adding that police have been deployed to the area.

Posted: at 18-01-2017 09:07 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Durelo79 at 18-01-2017 09:14 AM (7 years ago)
Nija wan turn too Irak.. Everyday, the must b news of either riot, ritual, kidnapping or any sort of illicit casualty. God help them
Posted: at 18-01-2017 09:14 AM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- gogoman at 18-01-2017 10:27 AM (7 years ago)
na wa oooooooooooo
Posted: at 18-01-2017 10:27 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- chukkychukky at 18-01-2017 10:29 AM (7 years ago)
mbok why na?

Posted: at 18-01-2017 10:29 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- james987 at 18-01-2017 11:11 AM (7 years ago)
Na wa ooooo. all this killings e no dey end?
Posted: at 18-01-2017 11:11 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- akinmanchy at 18-01-2017 01:06 PM (7 years ago)
Killings everywhere, na wa oooo

Posted: at 18-01-2017 01:06 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kacylee at 18-01-2017 07:20 PM (7 years ago)
wht do they fighting and killing?Huh?

Posted: at 18-01-2017 07:20 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- BournIdentity at 19-01-2017 08:49 PM (7 years ago)
Chhaaaiiiii chhaaaiiiii wetin dey happen...,

Lyf na phase to face..,,,...,,.......
Posted: at 19-01-2017 08:49 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- cocoeni at 19-01-2017 11:49 PM (7 years ago)
 Huh?   Huh? every where killing
Posted: at 19-01-2017 11:49 PM (7 years ago) | Hero