Yellow Buses (Danfo) Will No Longer Ply Lagos Roads – Gov. Ambode

Date: 06-02-2017 9:43 pm (7 years ago) | Author: success Xenab
- at 6-02-2017 09:43 PM (7 years ago)

Lagos State Governor, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode  has said plans are afoot to remove yellow buses popularly known as Danfo from Lagos roads for a world class mass transportation system that would facilitate ease of movement within the city.

Speaking at the 14th Annual Lecture of the Centre for Values in Leadership (CVL) held at Muson Centre in Onikan with the theme: “Living Well Together, Tomorrow: The Challenge Of Africa’s Future Cities,” Governor Ambode admitted that the present connectivity mode in Lagos was not acceptable and befitting for a mega city, and as such a well-structured transportation mode would soon be put in place to address the challenge.

“When I wake up in the morning and see all these yellow buses and see Okada and all kinds of tricycles and then we claim we are a mega city, that is not true and we must first acknowledge that that is a faulty connectivity that we are running.

“Having accepted that, we have to look for the solution and that is why we want to banish yellow buses this year. We must address the issue of connectivity that makes people to move around with ease and that is where we are going.

“For instance, people going from Ikorodu to CMS have started leaving their cars at home because the buses are very convenient and so why can’t we do that for other places? Yes, we don’t have the money to do that but we can go to the capital market and then improve on the technology of collection of fares and that will encourage investors and then the city will change,” Governor Ambode said.

Posted: at 6-02-2017 09:43 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- tommy70 at 6-02-2017 09:47 PM (7 years ago)
NICE MOVE
Posted: at 6-02-2017 09:47 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mensch at 6-02-2017 09:54 PM (7 years ago)
Fatal mistake !

Unless you will employ those that will lose their jobs
Posted: at 6-02-2017 09:54 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 6-02-2017 10:09 PM (7 years ago)
Them dey cry say job no dey  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 6-02-2017 10:09 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zoe61 at 6-02-2017 10:35 PM (7 years ago)
not bad at all
Posted: at 6-02-2017 10:35 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- akinmanchy at 6-02-2017 11:03 PM (7 years ago)
Ok na, but to eradicate the all time popular danfo comot for Lagos go hard

Posted: at 6-02-2017 11:03 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- james987 at 7-02-2017 12:21 AM (7 years ago)
Alright Grin Cheesy Grin Grin
Posted: at 7-02-2017 12:21 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- dleg at 7-02-2017 05:25 AM (7 years ago)
Good move BUT also consider those who dont have the money to go into the capital market to invest.
A lot of people depends on this mean of revenue to feed their family including graduates.

IT CAN BE REDUCE BUT TOTAL ERADICATION IS NOT THE BEST OPTION CONSIDERING THE LEVEL OF UNEMPLOYMENT.
Posted: at 7-02-2017 05:25 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DrSoba at 7-02-2017 05:49 AM (7 years ago)
Make this swegbe no try am o. You want to stop yellow buses, then be ready to improve your security base by about 200%. Nonsense
Posted: at 7-02-2017 05:49 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dramaking at 7-02-2017 06:26 AM (7 years ago)
Smh... The gov. is jus tryin 2 start controllin the returns like wht they do wit the BRT, wht then will be the poor drivers fate who make returns 4 their families Huh?
Posted: at 7-02-2017 06:26 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- saintony at 7-02-2017 08:18 AM (7 years ago)
If you take it away from them make sure you give them something to hold onto , please .
Posted: at 7-02-2017 08:18 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- christianity at 7-02-2017 09:36 AM (7 years ago)
OK,also be prepared to budget for the (CEA)=Cheif executive agbero, Tinubu and his gangs of agberos for their own returns.
Posted: at 7-02-2017 09:36 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Larry28 at 7-02-2017 09:41 AM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 7-02-2017 09:41 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- DarkCoco at 7-02-2017 10:07 AM (7 years ago)
Nice move! Clean the roads

Posted: at 7-02-2017 10:07 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bruther at 7-02-2017 10:19 AM (7 years ago)
Your Excellency, that is welcome idea, but l want encourage that those Buses must be ready to work till late in the night and reduce the fare of all these buses if you want most people to leave their vehicles at home. God will help you out.
Posted: at 7-02-2017 10:19 AM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- OLOWOBABA10 at 7-02-2017 10:41 AM (7 years ago)
WHAT'S THE GOVERNMENT'S OFFER THEN ?
Posted: at 7-02-2017 10:41 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- BournIdentity at 7-02-2017 11:59 AM (7 years ago)
How e wan take concern me...?

Posted: at 7-02-2017 11:59 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- diezo at 7-02-2017 06:20 PM (7 years ago)
THEN PUT PEOPLE BACK ON THE STREET, AND I HOPE  SAY HIM GO ENTER THIS SO CLASS WORLD TRANSPORT SYSTEM BECAUSE NA SO ONE TIME FORMER GOVERNOR BUILD WORLD CLASS HOSPITAL FOR HIM STATE THE NEXT THING NA WE HEAR SAY HIM TRAVEL OUT D COUNTRY GO FOR TREATMENT, AND I WAN BEG DIS OUR LEADERS IS IT THEY DON'T KNOW WAT NIGERIANS NEED OR IS IT BECAUSE OF ALL DIS SYSTEM THAT WILL NOT WORK THEY TRAVEL OUT THIS COUNTRY TO GO AND COPY? BECAUSE I JUST CAN'T UNDERSTAND U BRING UP A PROJECT YET U DON'T CREATE ROOM FOR MAINTENANCE AND MONITORING BECAUSE THAT WOULD ATLEAST CREATE JOBS FOR PEOPLE BUT NO THEY JUST COPY AND PASTE WITHOUT LEARNING ALL D RUDIMENTS OF D ORIGINALS ANYWAYS I DEY TALK MY MIND BUT WHEN DEM DEY DO SO MAKE DEM NO FORGET SAY  PERSON NO WELL ANOTHER PERSON WEY WELL COME DEY  TAKE TABLET FOR PERSON WEY NO WELL NA WHO NO COME WELL? 
Posted: at 7-02-2017 06:20 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac