5 Left Dead After Plane Crashes Into Shopping Mall In Melbourne, Australia

Date: 21-02-2017 9:42 am (7 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 21-02-2017 09:42 AM (7 years ago)

Five persons died today when a small plane crashed into a shopping mall in Melbourne, Australia. Four of the dead were United States citizens, the U.S. State Department said. Emergency officials in Melbourne said  engine failure brought down the Beechcraft King Air plane, which witnesses said caused a fireball to rise from the DFO Center, near Essendon Airport. Both the mall and airport were closed as officials conducted an investigation.
“At this stage, the advice we have is that there are no fatalities other than on the aircraft itself,” said Craig Lapsley, Victorian Fire Services Commissioner. Aside from some staff, the mall was mostly empty and not yet open, officials said. Witnesses said the plane appeared to be coming in low and fast before they saw an explosion at the mall, which the plane hit the back of, sending parts of the plane landed as far as the Tullamarine Freeway, on the opposite side of the shopping center.
said Michael Henry, who saw the crash. “That doesn’t happen every day. It was crazy, like something from a movie.” The plane was piloted by its owner, Max Quartermain, who had four U.S. citizens on the flight heading to King Island in the Bass Strait off the southern coast of Australia. The U.S. citizens were not identified however officials said they were in the process of contacting their families.
“We extend our deepest condolences to the families and loved ones of all those who died in today’s tragic crash,” a U.S. State Department official told NBC News. “The U.S. Embassy and Consulate in Melbourne are working closely with local authorities. We stand ready to provide all appropriate consular assistance to the families of the victims.”

Posted: at 21-02-2017 09:42 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- winace at 21-02-2017 10:03 AM (7 years ago)
May their souls rest in peace. Amen
Posted: at 21-02-2017 10:03 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- akinmanchy at 21-02-2017 11:53 AM (7 years ago)
Chai na wa ooo. RIP

Posted: at 21-02-2017 11:53 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- james987 at 21-02-2017 03:57 PM (7 years ago)
RIP
Posted: at 21-02-2017 03:57 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- deboalabi262 at 21-02-2017 04:35 PM (7 years ago)
RIP

Posted: at 21-02-2017 04:35 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- BournIdentity at 24-02-2017 09:14 AM (7 years ago)
RIP

Posted: at 24-02-2017 09:14 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero