I Did Not Snub Ooni Of Ife, I Was Greeting With Symbol - Oba Rilwan Akiolu Of Lagos Speaks

Date: 27-04-2017 11:09 pm (6 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 27-04-2017 11:09 PM (6 years ago)

OBA of Lagos Rilwan Akiolu yesterday cleared the air on the video in the social media being misconstrued for the monarch’s snubbing the Ooni of Ife Oba Adeyeye Ogunwusi at a public function in Lagos.

One of the white cap chiefs, Lateef Aderibigbe Ajose, Opeluwa Onido of Lagos, said the Lagos Monarch did not ignore Ooni of Ife at the public function as being misconceived by people.

The video in which Oba Akiolu allegedly refused to return the greetings of the Ooni at a function went viral on Wednesday, drawing outrage in the social media.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sV42xFPy6lw" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sV42xFPy6lw</a>

But chief Ajose said noting of such happened According to him, what the people misconstrued as snubbing is the culturally acclaimed way of greeting by a monarch in Lagos.

He said the Lagos monarch has been trying to revive the culture and tradition of ancient Lagos, which is peculiar to the state.

The Opeluwa Onidi said: “Other tribes also have their peculiar ways of greeting. The sign by Oba Akiolu signifies, ‘inu mi, inu e’, the culture of greeting in Lagos. If Oba Akiolu wanted to ignore, he would have turned his face away from Ooni. There is no misunderstanding between both highly revered Monarchs in Yoruba Land”.

According to him, the relationship between both Yoruba kings is peaceful and mutual.

He said: “Oba Akiolu was well represented at the coronation of Ooni of Ife, which attested to the fact that he does not disregard the office of Ooni Adeyeye.

Chief Ajose said Oba Akiolu had waited till this time to react to the issue because he had to meet with other chiefs in the palace and meet minds before addressing the public on the matter.

“There is no sentiment in the culture of Lagos. As we met it that is the way we are doing it. Kabiyesi Oba Akiolu is trying to bring back the old pattern, the old culture we have left behind.

“What happened that day was wrongly speculated by the social media to disrupt peace and order and misinterpret Oba Akiolu’s action.

“We just want to appeal to the social media to stop spreading wrong information. They should try and understand the reason behind every action carried out most especially by traditional rulers. Yoruba has a very rich culture. There is no quarrel between the Oba of Lagos and Ooni of Ife.”

A spokesman at the Ooni’s palace in Ile-Ife, Osun State, said that Oba Ogunwusi will never be disrespect to the Oba Akiolu.

The statement restated Oba Ogunwusi’s commitment to unity among royal fathers in Yorubaland.

Also yesterday, the Obi of Onitsha, Alfred Nnaemeka Achebe took exception to a request for his comment on what transpired between the two foremost roray fathers.

He urged reporters against dabbling into issues involving the royalty.

“You are very rude to ask me such a question.” the Igwe told The Nation reporter on the sideline of an event in Lagos yesterday.

Posted: at 27-04-2017 11:09 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bohlah at 27-04-2017 11:13 PM (6 years ago)
One thing I like about Oba Akiolu is dat...... He lies a lot Roll Eyes

Posted: at 27-04-2017 11:13 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Goodluck-just at 27-04-2017 11:18 PM (6 years ago)
Hmmmmmmmm,,,, Wat a symbolic greeting,,,,,

yeye pple,,,.......
Posted: at 27-04-2017 11:18 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Goodluck-just at 27-04-2017 11:19 PM (6 years ago)
Y na?Huh?Huh? Poster,, wats d reason behind d metamorphorsis?Huh?Huh?
Posted: at 27-04-2017 11:19 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Goodluck-just at 27-04-2017 11:20 PM (6 years ago)
Oboy dis one is serious oooo......
Posted: at 27-04-2017 11:20 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Goodluck-just at 27-04-2017 11:21 PM (6 years ago)
I tink Dis is wat buhari wil get as a leader wen kison decides to slap beneno and gogoman.
Posted: at 27-04-2017 11:21 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Goodluck-just at 27-04-2017 11:21 PM (6 years ago)
But ,,,See wat is hapenin here,,,,,,, while som scrupulous mistificated politicians are busy looting and embezzling the people's money and hiding it in their farms...............

We shall see their end.....
Posted: at 27-04-2017 11:21 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Goodluck-just at 27-04-2017 11:22 PM (6 years ago)
And kison, beneno, gogoman, buncho, morgan1, will still say i shud nt blame this on buhari?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?
Just look at d situation first...........chai?Huh?Huh?Huh? Buhari.... See wat u hav caused now?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh???
Posted: at 27-04-2017 11:22 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgan1 at 27-04-2017 11:23 PM (6 years ago)
Akiolu, no call dog,,,monkey for me jooor!!! u don phyuk up,,,period so make u park well,,,
Posted: at 27-04-2017 11:23 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- Goodluck-just at 27-04-2017 11:23 PM (6 years ago)
See dsam pple dat refused to sleep in deir houses just bcus dey want to vote for apc last two years,..........see wat dey ar doin now....
Posted: at 27-04-2017 11:23 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Goodluck-just at 27-04-2017 11:24 PM (6 years ago)
But i tink we need to ask buhari for mor info on dis oo
Posted: at 27-04-2017 11:24 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Linconblack at 27-04-2017 11:30 PM (6 years ago)
This is wot happened wen agbero man b oba of Lagos. Useless man see him face like anini
Posted: at 27-04-2017 11:30 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- yomiaba at 28-04-2017 12:26 AM (6 years ago)
Is this lagos chief stupid, did he see the video. please tell this fool of a chief to stop lying.
Posted: at 28-04-2017 12:26 AM (6 years ago) | Newbie
- Bebold at 28-04-2017 04:50 AM (6 years ago)
Useless chief or stupidity did you even watch the video
Posted: at 28-04-2017 04:50 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onyenmeme at 28-04-2017 05:44 AM (6 years ago)
i give this pants on fire
Posted: at 28-04-2017 05:44 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- Haso112 at 28-04-2017 07:43 AM (6 years ago)
CHOI...!!! SEE LIE....!!!  Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 28-04-2017 07:43 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bensow at 28-04-2017 09:12 AM (6 years ago)
Na police way saluting when roger don finish.That chief or spokeman na idiot were dey suppose to  collect
"settlement" for Idumota.He think say na Agbero dey Naijapals?He fit fool all those alaye them but for this forum he na small boy.
Posted: at 28-04-2017 09:12 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- Larry28 at 28-04-2017 09:48 AM (6 years ago)
Nah una sabi
Posted: at 28-04-2017 09:48 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- livinus5 at 28-04-2017 12:36 PM (6 years ago)
Stop all this madness,the handwriting is very clear on the wall and he did actually turn his  face away and showing anger
Posted: at 28-04-2017 12:36 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- omoog4real at 30-04-2017 10:53 AM (6 years ago)
I THINK EVERY ONE WHO LIVES IN LAGOS CAN GREET OBA AKINOLU OF LAGOS THE SAME WAY HE GREETED ONI OF IFE IFE IF AKINOLU JUSTIFIES HIS STYLE OF GREETING AS LAGOS CULTURE
Posted: at 30-04-2017 10:53 AM (6 years ago) | Newbie