About 2.1 million Nigerians Lost Their Jobs In 2016 – NBS Reveals

Date: 07-06-2017 9:05 am (6 years ago) | Author: success Xenab
- at 7-06-2017 09:05 AM (6 years ago)

The National Bureau of Statistics has said that the number of Nigerians who became unemployed rose by 2.1 million to 11.55 million at the end of 2016 from 9.48 million at the beginning of the year. .

The NBS stated this in its unemployment report, which was released on Monday night. The NBS report stated that the unemployment rate was highest for persons in the labour force between the ages of 15-24 and 25-34, which represents the youth population in Nigeria. .

For instance, it stated that the unemployment rate was highest for those within the age bracket of 15 to 24, rising from 25 per cent to 25.2 per cent. For the 25 to 34 age group, the unemployment rate, according to the report increased from 15 per cent to 15.4 per cent. .

It noted that unemployment and underemployment were higher for women than men in the fourth quarter of 2016. For instance, 16.3 per cent of women in the labour force were unemployed as of the end of the fourth quarter of 2016, according to the report. .

On the other hand, it added that 12. 3 per cent of males were unemployed in the fourth quarter of last year. .

The report stated, “The economically active population increased from 108.03 million to 108.59 million; this represents a 0.5 per cent increase over the previous quarter and a 3.4 per cent increase when compared to fourth quarter 2015.

In the fourth quarter of 2016, the labour force population increased to 81.15 million from 80.67 million in the third quarter of 2016, representing an increase of 0.6 per cent in the labour force during the quarter.

This means about 482,689 persons from the economically active population entered the labour force during the quarter, that is individuals that were able, willing and actively looking for work.”
load more comments

blingsofficial1 Na the work wey una dey do..

official_shotee Continue

bimobalogun Far more than that

chizzyeze517Mxm imagine

stephenbid APC change

chizzlianofficial Lol shit was 19.1℅ when I wrote my project . 4.58million now 11million which way naija

ozorchristian I don't really believe this report, it could be more than this.. And yet APC is yet to create any job
muhd_galadima@__el_marzuq Buhari is working

anietie.henry@obiagu_comedy_portal in my opinion I think the stats for unemployment is way more than that

capitaloneofficial Yeah that's the dude you goons voted for. Buhari never wrote any book after his first presidency, had only 30 cows for more than 30 years, never upgraded his CV, wasn't successful in business. That's who Nigerians voted for to manage 21st century economy? Smh Welcome to your change.

erneh_cosmetics So after all the the equation what is the way out??

zaarrah Do y'll have Jobseekers allowance also know as Wellfare or universal Credit allowances. Unemployment no income how will people survive

polished_boss Nah the change be this

tola_tolah Who's counting?

longmon3y And u expect the masses not to indulge in crime. Messed up system

nne4real 112.1 million people only? You guys are not telling the truth

iykeemma24 Change

sayo__xo So 11.5 million people lost their jobs and only 482k got employed. This numbers are very disappointing

freshprince_rcc Change is here... CHANGE...

chiskyetc The worst government of all time.

Posted: at 7-06-2017 09:05 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- ruthie at 7-06-2017 09:19 AM (6 years ago)
is this is real ? if yes, many one man businesses go spring up!
Posted: at 7-06-2017 09:19 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- chukkychukky at 7-06-2017 09:22 AM (6 years ago)
omo dat is d population of one state, u for jst say bayelsa state is jobless

Posted: at 7-06-2017 09:22 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- HUMANresurce at 7-06-2017 10:20 AM (6 years ago)
sai baba.. buhari is trying
Posted: at 7-06-2017 10:20 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- freethinker at 7-06-2017 10:23 AM (6 years ago)
WHERE IS THAT PIG BY NAME GOGOMAN THAT ALWAYS SAY BUHARI RULESSSSSSSSSS
Posted: at 7-06-2017 10:23 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- starzx at 7-06-2017 10:25 AM (6 years ago)
WIT 11 TRILLIONS DEBT UNDER 2   YEARS
Posted: at 7-06-2017 10:25 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- Blessed75 at 7-06-2017 02:31 PM (6 years ago)
Wicked Government
Posted: at 7-06-2017 02:31 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgan1 at 7-06-2017 03:38 PM (6 years ago)
Posted: at 7-06-2017 03:38 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- Larry28 at 7-06-2017 04:44 PM (6 years ago)
Nawa ooo
Posted: at 7-06-2017 04:44 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- BournIdentity at 8-06-2017 04:18 AM (6 years ago)
Posted: at 8-06-2017 04:18 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- BournIdentity at 8-06-2017 04:21 AM (6 years ago)
@nyashthinker u are too dumb not to no d handwork of GEJ.., and yes cos u are blind Buhari rules.......
Posted: at 8-06-2017 04:21 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- osayan1 at 27-06-2017 02:42 AM (6 years ago)
Baba God help us all
Posted: at 27-06-2017 02:42 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Celebrity Bar Man, Cubana Chief Priest in Messy Land Tussle With Imo State Government

2. Owners of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Where Nigerians Are Barred Respond to FCCPC‘s Summons

3. I Brought Afrobeat to America, Even Before Wizkid & Drake's Collabo - Singer, Rotimi (VID)

4. PHOTOS: 8 Years Old Girl Severely Assaulted and Left Almost Blinded by Her Aunt in Lagos

5. Tanzania Shuts Down 5 Hydroelectric Stations to Reduce Excess Electricity in The National Grid

6. 'God Won't Forgive Me If I Forget Leaders Who Put Me In Office When...' - APC Gov. Aspirant,

7. VIDEO: Davido Lists Artistes He Loves To Collaborate With

8. Teenager, Abiodun Adewuyi Sentence To Three Years In Jail For Stealing Water Taps In Edo

9. "I’ll Have 11 Children Until My Late Son, Kambili Returns" – Actor, Yul Edochie Vows

10. Actress, Uche Ogbodo Advices Single Colleagues To Marry Themselves

11. Police Arrest Two Suspects Over killing Of Okada Rider In Niger State

12. Israel DMW Reacts As Doctor Lists Benefits Of Marrying A Virgin

13. ‘I Stopped Going To Gym Because Of Heaven’ – Actor Williams Uchemba

14. "APC Is The Answer To Nigeria’s Problems" - Ganduje Claims