Nigerian Businessman, Obioha Sentenced to life In Prison In U.S For Killing A Lady He Was Owing $1k

Date: 08-06-2017 4:45 pm (6 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 8-06-2017 04:45 PM (6 years ago)

A Nigerian businessman was sentenced to life in prison in America without the possibility of parole during an emotional court hearing on Monday for the 2015 murder of a woman.
Ezeoma Chigozie Obioha, right, at his sentencing. In 2015, he fired a shotgun at Carrie Melvin, 30, as she walked to a restaurant with her boyfriend. A California-based Nigerian businessman, Ezeoma Chigozie Obioha, was on Monday, sentenced to life in prison for fatally shooting a woman in the face with a shotgun two years ago. The Los Angeles Times reported that the 32-year-old Nigerian reportedly approached the 30-year-old woman identified as Carrie Jean Melvin, with a Mossberg 12-gauge while she walked with her boyfriend to a restaurant in Hollywood on July 5, 2015. Obioha had romantic feelings for Melvin, which she didn’t return, and it was after she filed a complaint that the businessman owed her a little more than $1,700 for social media marketing she’d done on behalf of his clothing company that he decided to confront her, according to prosecutors.     

The morning after the shooting, a young boy found the murder weapon on the beach in Malibu under a rock. Obioha was arrested 18 days later. His defense attorney during the trial said the weapon was planted and that Obioha tried paying Melvin a portion of what he owed her, but the $1,620 check bounced.  Ezeoma sat showing no emotion as Carrie Jean Melvin’s relatives told the court that her killing had upended their lives.
“I have tried to answer my family’s questions, but how do you explain a completely senseless act? We cry every day,” said her father, Bernard Melvin. “I had to hear and see things in the trial that no parent should have to hear.”

The victim’s older brother, Ryan, said Obioha’s insistence that he is innocent compounded the family’s grief. He said he experiences recurring nightmares about his sister’s murder.
In phone calls from jail, Obioha gave his family different explanations about what happened to his gun. First, he said that it had been stolen. Then, that Melvin’s boyfriend had taken it to set him up.

Lastly, he said it had been planted by an ocean photographer who wanted his Instagram and Facebook accounts featured on the news, the prosecutor said. . In court, the victim’s father said that after sitting through the trial and hearing the evidence, he’s convinced that Obioha was the person who killed his daughter. He urged Obioha to accept the sentence.

Last year, a jury found Obioha guilty of first-degree murder with the special circumstance of lying in wait and murder for financial gain, which tacked additional penalty onto his sentence and removed the possibility of parole, according to the Los Angeles District Attorney’s Office.

Posted: at 8-06-2017 04:45 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- angesco at 8-06-2017 04:49 PM (6 years ago)
Typical.

People LOVE to borrow from your hard earned money - BUT find it DIFFICULT to pay back!!!!
Posted: at 8-06-2017 04:49 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruthie at 8-06-2017 05:32 PM (6 years ago)
see him head... abeg he for face electroction ASAP.. devils on the loose
Posted: at 8-06-2017 05:32 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- victorstic1 at 8-06-2017 05:52 PM (6 years ago)
BETTER FOR U ATLEAST THEIR PRISON IS BETTER THAN NIGERIA`S PRISON
Posted: at 8-06-2017 05:52 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chukkychukky at 8-06-2017 06:07 PM (6 years ago)
nawaoo

Posted: at 8-06-2017 06:07 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ikpotokin at 8-06-2017 06:17 PM (6 years ago)
IGBO WITH MONEY. THEY ARE THE SAME EVERYWHERE
Posted: at 8-06-2017 06:17 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Haso112 at 8-06-2017 06:20 PM (6 years ago)
Just 1k dolapo.... In fact, you dey crase... See him head like APOTI...
Posted: at 8-06-2017 06:20 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- crocatum at 8-06-2017 08:00 PM (6 years ago)
dont waste time, i see two horns on his head, pls remove this mistake from earth
Posted: at 8-06-2017 08:00 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Sparky12 at 8-06-2017 08:04 PM (6 years ago)
Quote from: ikpotokin on  8-06-2017 06:17 PM
IGBO WITH MONEY. THEY ARE THE SAME EVERYWHERE
Your Father There.Bastard Roll Eyes
Posted: at 8-06-2017 08:04 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 8-06-2017 08:25 PM (6 years ago)
Chhaaaiiiiiiii christianity but why.. ..., onye nzuzu must you zuzu ur mumu sef everywhere ugo?
Biafrat oponu
Posted: at 8-06-2017 08:25 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- BournIdentity at 8-06-2017 08:32 PM (6 years ago)
@Sparky12..., if I samma you one hot slap na your papa 4 eyes ugo use till u pemme..., why it is hard for you chronic moronic brainless brainwashed morons to appreciate d truth? You better apologize b4 I give u gutter water drink
Posted: at 8-06-2017 08:32 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Haso112 at 8-06-2017 10:13 PM (6 years ago)
Quote from: BournIdentity on  8-06-2017 08:25 PM
Chhaaaiiiiiiii christianity but why.. ..., onye nzuzu must you zuzu ur mumu sef everywhere ugo?
Biafrat oponu
Posted: at 8-06-2017 10:13 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 12-06-2017 08:12 AM (6 years ago)
Shocked Grin                                                                          
Posted: at 12-06-2017 08:12 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- osayan1 at 26-06-2017 07:40 PM (6 years ago)
 Cry
Posted: at 26-06-2017 07:40 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. 74Yr Old Woman Robs Bank At Gunpoint After Losing Her Life Savings To Online Scammers

2. We Find Love in Unexpected Places – Bimbo Ademoye Writes As She Shares Loved-up Photo With Timi

3. Ex-runs Girl Lands Herself In Trouble After Finding Out Her Former Client Is Her Brother-in-Law

4. How Abusive Nigerian Man, Beat Wife To Death Months After Relocating To The UK

5. Late Mohbad’s Toxicology Result Ready As Pathologist Begins Evaluation

6. Actress, Stella Udeze Reveals Why Actresses Have Unhappy Relationships

7. Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo To Relocate Suleja Correctional Centres To Avoid Inmate Escape

8. 'Avoid Panic Buying, Petrol Prices Not Changing' — NNPC To Nigerians

3. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

4. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

5. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

6. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

7. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

8. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

9. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

10. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria