Meet Bola, Former Pepper Seller Now The First Black To Receive Ph.D In A Canadian University -Photos

Date: 08-06-2017 7:47 pm (6 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 8-06-2017 07:47 PM (6 years ago)

Former Nigerian pepper hawker, Bola, defied all odds to become the first black to receive a Phd in Biomed. Engr, from the University of Saskatchewan, Canada.. Her chilling story left hearts melted online..Read below;

‘As the 5th child of 5, I always had to wait for my turn. I was the last, a girl child and raised by a mother who is farmer and a father who has little, I hawked pepper on the streets of Ibadan as early as age 10 to help my mum. Went to public primary and secondary school in Ibadan.
Attended OOU and studied Physics. Because I had a 2.1, it opened the door for me to proceed to Finland for a Masters Degree in Biomedical Engineering. During this masters degree, I worked part-time as a cleaner and did this after my Masters as well. Out of determination, I applied to over 100 schools for my PhD and finally got a full 3 year scholarship (later extended to 4 years scholarship) at University of Saskatchewan, Canada to pursue a PhD in Biomedical Engineering.
While in that PhD program, I worked part-time as a makeup artist, teaching assistant, braided hair and fix weaves to make extra money.
Today I walked the stage as the first black person to bag a PhD in Biomedical Engineering from University of Saskatchewan, Canada!!! I walked this stage for you Mama Africa and for my Motherland Nigeria!!! I walked the stage for all of you black women disrespected and looked down on!!!! I walked for all of you from my ghetto hood “Mokola”, Ibadan.
I walked for all OSU students and ex-students that got that look from people who think we are not brilliant!! I walked for all of you Africans in Finland wondering what is next for you!!
Specially, I walked for you my parents. siblings and extended family in fulfillment of your dreams! Specially, I walked the stage for you my late sister Omoleye Olubamiji and my late mentor Ayodele Olatunbosun.
Today I walked for my future husband and my unborn children who patiently waited for me to fulfill my dreams so that he can have a wife he will be proud of and they can have a role model to look up to. I walked for all immigrants and all young adults who strived everyday chasing their dreams!!! I walked in celebration of the unfailing love of my first and one truly true love Jesus Christ (in you I walk in you I live and in you I have had and will continue to have my being)!!!
Be bold, be innovative, be different, be you, be everything you want to be but remember to put God first!!! Let no man, upbringing, money, circumstance, colorism, past mistakes, institution, company, partner, background, let nothing tell you you can’t do it. Go smart! Go hard!! Go for Gold!!! Go with God!!! Just Get Going!!!!! #Grad2017 #PhDConvocation #UofS

Posted: at 8-06-2017 07:47 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- pricklong at 8-06-2017 09:07 PM (6 years ago)
Congrats you made it through
Posted: at 8-06-2017 09:07 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dubemchris27 at 8-06-2017 09:23 PM (6 years ago)
Awesome dear, congratulations.
Posted: at 8-06-2017 09:23 PM (6 years ago) | Newbie
- slimmygal at 8-06-2017 10:29 PM (6 years ago)
that's one of my finsters, so proud of u sis.
Posted: at 8-06-2017 10:29 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 8-06-2017 10:37 PM (6 years ago)
@slimmygal..., chhaaaiiiiiiii you just leave us waka just like that..., e good?
Posted: at 8-06-2017 10:37 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dareper at 8-06-2017 11:00 PM (6 years ago)
oh tears of joy flowing down my cheek. congratulations.
Posted: at 8-06-2017 11:00 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- don247 at 8-06-2017 11:03 PM (6 years ago)
that is a big fat lie.. you are never the 1st black laday to graduate with PHD from canada. poster use ur head.
Posted: at 8-06-2017 11:03 PM (6 years ago) | Newbie
- chukkychukky at 8-06-2017 11:13 PM (6 years ago)
great daughter of biafra

Posted: at 8-06-2017 11:13 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 9-06-2017 12:01 AM (6 years ago)
@chukkychukky.., I beg no vez.., na one problem u get.. U got to locate that idiotic bastard hegoat wey nod ur head wen u small., cos you sound like a heated mess.., wey dem ban from d surface of the earth to discharge ur waste.., ur brain dey loose, ego need rewiring.. Great daughter of nibo, as in,, nnebe? Uwa mmebi., nsogbu dikwa
Posted: at 9-06-2017 12:01 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- BournIdentity at 9-06-2017 12:23 AM (6 years ago)
And mind you sey biafrats no be all Igbos. Ndi kolomental craze na dem dey wear that name wey dey only paper
Posted: at 9-06-2017 12:23 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- emmans647 at 9-06-2017 02:51 AM (6 years ago)
Quote from: chukkychukky on  8-06-2017 11:13 PM
great daughter of biafra
lol.Bola na biafra now.
Posted: at 9-06-2017 02:51 AM (6 years ago) | Newbie
- Naijasharon at 9-06-2017 03:28 AM (6 years ago)
Nice.
Posted: at 9-06-2017 03:28 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- slimmygal at 9-06-2017 05:36 AM (6 years ago)
Quote from: BournIdentity on  8-06-2017 10:37 PM
@slimmygal..., chhaaaiiiiiiii you just leave us waka just like that..., e good?
my bro, no mind me jare. Been quite busy for some time ni jare, so i decided to stay behind d camera for a while to see as things dey go.
Posted: at 9-06-2017 05:36 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- palmeridus1 at 9-06-2017 06:52 AM (6 years ago)
Does it really  matter if  she  is  the  first  back  lady  to  graduate  from  that school. Why  are  you  talking  it  so  personal .after all  she  indeed  make  us proud  she  deserves  complement. She  never  contributed to  you, droping  out  of  secondary  school.or  does  anyone  offend  you  before  you  respond  to  this  good  news ? Go  and  take  4 hours  sleep  again  so  you  can  reason  so  well
Posted: at 9-06-2017 06:52 AM (6 years ago) | Newbie
- palmeridus1 at 9-06-2017 06:54 AM (6 years ago)
Quote from: don247 on  8-06-2017 11:03 PM
that is a big fat lie.. you are never the 1st black laday to graduate with PHD from canada. poster use ur head.
Does it really  matter if  she  is  the  first  back  lady  to  graduate  from  the  school. Why  are  you  talking  it  so  personal .after all  she  indeed  make  us proud  she  deserves  complement. She  never  contributed to  you, droping  out  of  secondary  school .
Posted: at 9-06-2017 06:54 AM (6 years ago) | Newbie
- ruthie at 9-06-2017 08:50 AM (6 years ago)
CONGRATS .. BUT WAIT O! UNA SEE THAT ASIAN FELLA WEARING FLIP FLOPS
Posted: at 9-06-2017 08:50 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- proly at 9-06-2017 04:01 PM (6 years ago)
congrats...hardwork pays not all those lazy fowls
Posted: at 9-06-2017 04:01 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- BournIdentity at 12-06-2017 08:22 AM (6 years ago)
Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes                                                                       
Posted: at 12-06-2017 08:22 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- osayan1 at 26-06-2017 07:19 PM (6 years ago)
congrat madam,God is Good
Posted: at 26-06-2017 07:19 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac