EVANS SAGA! Why I Decided To Defend Him - Evans Lawyer, Olukoya Ogungbeje

Date: 02-07-2017 6:47 am (6 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 2-07-2017 06:47 AM (6 years ago)

Lagos-based lawyer, Olukoya Ogungbeje, who has been hired by billionaire kidnapper Chukwudubem Onwuamadike, a.k.a Evans has justified his decision to defend suspected billionaire criminal in court.

The lawyer has come under public bashing for deciding to stand for Evans.

But, speaking with Sun, Ogungbeje, accused a section of the media, as well as many Nigerians of being ignorant of the law.

He noted that it was settled in law that “no matter the bases of the complaints of the cause of your crime, no matter how unpopular is the cause of your crime, no matter how bad is the cause of your crime, the legal practitioner has a duty to take up the cause, if he’s properly briefed and provided that person represents his client within the bounds of law.

“That is my answer to your question. So, no matter the public opinion, I have the responsibility to take up the matter. We were properly briefed. So, our action is based on law.

“And we want to represent our client within the bounds of law, within the confines of law.

“So, if you for instance, you’re a journalist, if you brief me you don’t want me to take up your cause, because people are saying negative things about you, or because people have condemned you and found you guilty before the media, that I should not take up your case?

“Look, let me tell you right away. We were briefed two weeks ago. And I told them to give me two weeks to think, whether I would take up the brief or not. I did my consultations.

“We consulted even journalists, you can go and make enquiries. I consulted my people. I consulted senior lawyers. So, have I done what is wrong by taking the cause of my clients? Forget what people say in the court of public of opinion.”

Posted: at 2-07-2017 06:47 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- starzx at 2-07-2017 06:54 AM (6 years ago)
NT THT U DECIDED LIKE HE DNT HV RIGHT TO LAWER,  WHEN U ARE CAUGHT IN A CRIME THE FIRST TIN THEY READ YR RIGHTS FOR U SIMPLE!! HE IS NT DENIED A LAWER , IS A NORMAL THING IS NW LEFT LATER FOR THE JUDGES TO SENTENCE HIM OR NT.
Posted: at 2-07-2017 06:54 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- DrSoba at 2-07-2017 06:58 AM (6 years ago)
Well no matter a person 's crime, he has right to a lawyer and the person is not quilty or a criminal until proven baby the court of law. As well the lawyer have just sold his profession, he is now a popular lawyer.
Posted: at 2-07-2017 06:58 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 1marviz at 2-07-2017 07:25 AM (6 years ago)
“no matter the bases of the complaints of the cause of your crime, no matter how unpopular is the cause of your crime, no matter how bad is the cause of your crime, the legal practitioner has a duty to take up the cause

I love those lines up there
Posted: at 2-07-2017 07:25 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- victorstic1 at 2-07-2017 07:47 AM (6 years ago)
THE LAWYER IS  WANTS MONEY NOTHING MORE 
Posted: at 2-07-2017 07:47 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Markeve at 2-07-2017 08:23 AM (6 years ago)
lawyer" lawyer"ekunje don enter ur pocket abi.
Posted: at 2-07-2017 08:23 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Zaki68 at 2-07-2017 08:39 AM (6 years ago)
IF ITS IGBO NOW THAT WILL SAY HE IS A SELL OUT LIKE THE WAY THEY ARE CALLING AMEACHI FOR SUPPORTING BUHARI.
Posted: at 2-07-2017 08:39 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- WhaleDog at 2-07-2017 09:08 AM (6 years ago)
Hungry lawyer ! Some of these hungry men parading the streets in regalia should be stripped butt naked and whip for lack of common sense ,well ! We assume is common sense but sense sometime may be uncommon .Oloshi

Posted: at 2-07-2017 09:08 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- euwilliams at 2-07-2017 09:08 AM (6 years ago)
It is his money you want and to get informations from him to write a book
Posted: at 2-07-2017 09:08 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgan1 at 2-07-2017 09:33 AM (6 years ago)
The Lawyer is doing his job,,,,,,
Posted: at 2-07-2017 09:33 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- pricklong at 2-07-2017 10:37 AM (6 years ago)
Set the lawyer free
Posted: at 2-07-2017 10:37 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pricklong at 2-07-2017 10:37 AM (6 years ago)
Set the lawyer free
Posted: at 2-07-2017 10:37 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 2-07-2017 11:37 AM (6 years ago)
even Osama was defended for his crime in curt let alone Evans. wake up Nigerians. we are in 21st century.
Posted: at 2-07-2017 11:37 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 2-07-2017 02:08 PM (6 years ago)
OF COURSE HIM GO GET LAWYER , SO WHY MY GULLIBLE NAIJA PEOPLE COME DEY CRY CRY ON IT
Posted: at 2-07-2017 02:08 PM (6 years ago) | Grande Master
- SOGaiya at 2-07-2017 02:41 PM (6 years ago)
nigerian need serious oreintation on lawyer cause of duty
Posted: at 2-07-2017 02:41 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osayan1 at 2-07-2017 05:20 PM (6 years ago)
oga shut up jare,na bcos of money jor no other story,help u hear if he free,na yur Family he first kindnap
Posted: at 2-07-2017 05:20 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- schmit at 2-07-2017 06:07 PM (6 years ago)
Money talking
Posted: at 2-07-2017 06:07 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- benosky4 at 2-07-2017 06:13 PM (6 years ago)
But is this lawyer defending a crime Evans has confessed or what?

Posted: at 2-07-2017 06:13 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Sniper101 at 2-07-2017 08:53 PM (6 years ago)
Watin concern me for inside watin no concern me Huh?
Posted: at 2-07-2017 08:53 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dereknosh at 2-07-2017 09:41 PM (6 years ago)
Quote from: benosky4 on  2-07-2017 06:13 PM
But is this lawyer defending a crime Evans has confessed or what?
even if you confess to committing a murder,the police will still need to present enough evidence in court before you can  be found guilty. Confession is not enough evidence. What if you were forced into confessing? How would you feel if the police torture and force you  to confess that you are a kidnapper and a murderer? Would you be happy to be condemned to death or you would wish for a fair hearing in the court of law where you can have the opportunity to defend yourself with the help of a lawyer?  That's what Evans is doing.
Hope this makes a bit of sense to you?
Posted: at 2-07-2017 09:41 PM (6 years ago) | Newbie