How Having Yoruba First Name Turned This Lady’s Passport Application Into A Nightmare

Date: 13-07-2017 7:34 pm (6 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 13-07-2017 07:34 PM (6 years ago)

These total strangers accused my mother of brainwashing 'their son' to give his child Yoruba names.
You guys know I am half Igbo right? A friend of mine would read this and say, you always know when to claim your Igbo roots, very convenient.

I am Delta Igbo and my people do NOT like being called Igbo, goodness knows why. My cousins would proudly proclaim that they are not Igbo; my uncles would give you a good side eye if you ever dared call yourself Igbo. ‘We are Delta Igbo you hear?!’ Biko, what is the difference?

I think the need to experiment with food from different parts of Nigeria must be due to my family heritage. My taste buds have developed from lots of places. That heritage is quite conflicting because my first name is Yoruba; middle name, Yoruba; surname you can’t place where it is from- and just assume, Yoruba.

Funny story: to apply for a passport, you need a letter from your state of origin. At the Delta State liaison office in Abuja, I confidently walked up to the desk and submitted the form. The look on the woman’s face across the desk was priceless. ‘Young lady, did you miss your way? Ogun and Ondo State liaison offices are across the road.’ I replied ‘No ma, I am from Delta State.’

She looked at the form, looked at me and said ‘You must be joking.’ She called out her colleagues to come and see this ‘Oladunni’ claiming Delta. Then it became a circus.

It was funny at first, because I get such comments all the time; then they became rude and annoying which made me ask if the Delta State governor issued a cheque for every Deltan and they think I am fraudulently claiming their state for monetary reasons.

Oh dear, wrong move. They were seriously offended and called more people to come and hear this ‘small girl’ insulting them.

Gesticulating and talking at the top of their voices, foaming at the mouth: ‘You are not our daughter… We know our children!’ Such inane comments. I was told to call my mum which I refused initially but gave in eventually. Another wrong move.

Dunnni Obata runs Dooney’s Kitchen, a Nigerian food blog.

These total strangers accused my mother of brainwashing ‘their son’ to give his child Yoruba names. ‘How can her Igbo name be her third name’ and so much more. At that point, I was close to walking out.

Next call, I put Daddy on the phone, and the ‘Chief accuser’ spoke to my dad in Igbo, which he barely speaks. That compounded the matter. I was hearing words like ‘outrageous, abomination, lost generation, send her to the village, it is not too late to learn Igbo, she must marry a Delta man…’ For heavens sake, on top of a stupid letter! I was their entertainment for the day.

My saviour in the form a much older man, came in and must have taken pity on me because he told them to take a good look at me, I look like a Delta-Igbo girl (whatever that means).

Huh?! Where? How? When I am the splitting image of my mother.

Of course, woe betide me to deny his claim. He must have spoken magical words because they suddenly stopped, looked at me as if they had never seen me before and started nodding their heads in agreement. ‘Yes, my eyes, my forehead, my skin, my hairline, I must be Delta Igbo.’ I had to lock my jaw in place, to stop my mouth from opening in amazement.

That was how hours later, this Delta girl with Yoruba names got a confirmation of State of Origin letter issued. Phew!!!!

Posted: at 13-07-2017 07:34 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Afriqueenn at 13-07-2017 08:23 PM (6 years ago)
Only in Nigeria...
Lady, you should have asked those of them who bear "foreign" (English, American, Jewish, etc) names what they are doing in our Naija.
Daft people...
Posted: at 13-07-2017 08:23 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- euwilliams at 13-07-2017 08:42 PM (6 years ago)
My sister is only in Nigeria
Posted: at 13-07-2017 08:42 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tegonwa at 13-07-2017 11:10 PM (6 years ago)
Just Because She Used A Yoruba First Name;her Life Became A Nightmare?Oouah My Word!E Don Happen;the Wind Has Blown And pesin Nyansh Don Burst Pooom!End Of Discussion.End Of The Road.Let Me Come And Be Going.What A Tribal Disaster.A Tribal Dome Of Cataclysm Doom,a Sombre And Gargantuan Melancholic Obsfuscation Of A Putrid Cadavarous Bastion Of Oodua, An Odoriferous Shame...So Hopeless.Odoriferously Hopeless!
Posted: at 13-07-2017 11:10 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- akinmanchy at 13-07-2017 11:23 PM (6 years ago)
Quote from: tegonwa on 13-07-2017 11:10 PM
Just Because She Used A Yoruba First Name;her Life Became A Nightmare?Oouah My Word!E Don Happen;the Wind Has Blown And pesin Nyansh Don Burst Pooom!End Of Discussion.End Of The Road.Let Me Come And Be Going.What A Tribal Disaster.A Tribal Dome Of Cataclysm Doom,a Sombre And Gargantuan Melancholic Obsfuscation Of A Putrid Cadavarous Bastion Of Oodua, An Odoriferous Shame...So Hopeless.Odoriferously Hopeless!
Hopeless fellow

Posted: at 13-07-2017 11:23 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- Solidstonez at 13-07-2017 11:31 PM (6 years ago)
Hmmm waka pass

Posted: at 13-07-2017 11:31 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- benosky4 at 14-07-2017 12:02 AM (6 years ago)
If she like let her use Hausa name all through, I don't care.

Posted: at 14-07-2017 12:02 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tegonwa at 14-07-2017 12:39 AM (6 years ago)
Just Because She Used A Yoruba First Name;her Life Became A Nightmare?Oouah My Word!E Don Happen.End Of Discussion.End Of The Road.Let Me Come And Be Going.What A Tribal Disaster.A Tribal Dome Of Cataclysm Doom,a Sombre And Gargantuan Melancholic Obsfuscation Of A Putrid Cadavarous Bastion Of Oodua, An Odoriferous Shame...So Hopeless.Odoriferously Hopeless!
Posted: at 14-07-2017 12:39 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tegonwa at 14-07-2017 01:50 AM (6 years ago)
Just Because She Used A Yoruba First Name;her Life Became A Nightmare?Oouah My Word!E Don Happen.End Of Discussion.End Of The Road.Let Me Come And Be Going.What A Tribal Disaster.A Tribal Dome Of Cataclysm Doom,a Sombre And Gargantuan Melancholic Obsfuscation Of A Putrid Cadavarous Bastion Of Oodua, An Odoriferous Shame...So Hopeless.Odoriferously Hopeless!
Posted: at 14-07-2017 01:50 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Upbendel at 14-07-2017 03:51 AM (6 years ago)
Pretty baby..........Up Bendel
Posted: at 14-07-2017 03:51 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- ruthie at 14-07-2017 08:56 AM (6 years ago)
FOR BE ONLY YOU....I SUFFERED SAME IN THE HANDS OF THOSE BASTARDS.
Posted: at 14-07-2017 08:56 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- Ladyhap at 14-07-2017 10:33 AM (6 years ago)
pere
Posted: at 14-07-2017 10:33 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- chizzyG at 14-07-2017 08:25 PM (6 years ago)
But why bearing a yoruba name when you know you're not from that side,of course it's very confusing in a situation like this.we all kn that Nigeria is a multi-ethnic nation and would have been better to change your name to a neutral name that doesn't depict which part of the country you're from,ONCE YOU'RE IN NIGERIA.can you imagine someone bearing chidi Okonkwo or chidinma okafor going to Ondo,Ogun or Ekiti state liason office to demand for something done on his state of origin,they will respectfully walk such person out in belief that he/she might be insane and has lost his/her way
Posted: at 14-07-2017 08:25 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- osayan1 at 15-07-2017 01:23 AM (6 years ago)
chaill my sister u 4 do change if name naw
Posted: at 15-07-2017 01:23 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tegonwa at 15-07-2017 01:28 AM (6 years ago)
When Sunny Okosun Sang 'which Way Nigeria?' I Bet No One Knew That A Time Would Come When Bearing Nigerian Names Would Be So Disastrous To Non Nigerians.Too Hopeless.
Posted: at 15-07-2017 01:28 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 26-07-2017 08:08 AM (6 years ago)
Posted: at 26-07-2017 08:08 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Betty Akeredolu Called Out By Aide, Folasade For Abandoning Her After Serving Her For 7Yrs

2. Former ECOWAS Court VP Berates EFCC Chairman Over Press Briefing On Yahaya Bello

3. Nigerian Man Allegedly Stabs Roommate To Death During Argument In Portugal

4. Pandemonium As Bandits Strike Again, Kill Four, Abduct Six In Zamfara

5. Drama Looms As Accountant Accuses Ex-Employer, Police Of Harassment In Lagos

6. Residents Flee As Soldiers Leave Niger Community After Deadly Ambush

7. VIDEO: Warri Pikin Hails Veteran Actor, RMD As He Visits Her Family

8. Reactions As 23Yr Old Man Flaunts Wealth Online, Shows Off Expensive House He Newly-Built

9. Rising Singer, Shine TTW Lament On How Policemen Damaged His Car, Harassed Him After Tagging

10. How Police Nabbed Kidnappers Who Killed Victim After Collecting N3m Ransom In Jigawa

11. Eight Mobile Suspected Phone Snatchers Arrested In Kano

12. VIDEO: Abroad-Based Nigerian Cries Profusely Over Failure To Make It In The UK

13. Man Sentenced To Physical Castration And 50 Years In Jail For Raping 14 Year Old Girl

2. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

3. Abia Police Parade Suspected Criminals, Including ABSU Student Involved In Fatal Shooting

9. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

10. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper