Why I Built Zinc Floating Toilet In My Constituency – Lawmaker Kate Owoko Explains

Date: 27-07-2017 9:16 am (6 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 27-07-2017 09:16 AM (6 years ago)

Floating Toilet Initiator has explained why she did it...
Bayelsa state House of Assembly member, Kate Owoko, two days ago, came under heavy criticism after photos of a zinc floating toilet which she built and commissioned, for members of her constituency in Okori Ama and Oweidei Ama community in Amassoma LGA, Southern Ijaw constituency of the state, surfaced online.
Some cross sections of Nigerians felt that this isn’t the kind of project lawmakers should be commissioning for members of their constituency in 2017. She was blasted and dragged on social media.

Kate has, however, come out to defend her project. In a statement she released via her social media handle, Kate said the women in her community demanded for the floating toilet, saying that it was their most pressing need.

The statement released by her media team reads,
“In line with widespread rumors on the ‘floating toilets’ provided for the women of Okori-Ama and Oweidei-Ama of Amassoma. These were the pressing (immediate) need from these women at the time. Due to the terrain of these said compounds, they were in grave need for such toilets to answer to the ‘call-of-nature’.

Prior to today these women hard to expose themselves to unsanitary conditions. Hence, requested particularly for such toilets from their representative. Hon Kate Owoko ‘personally’ saw to the actualization of this pressing demands from her constituents. This should be in no way mistaken for a constituency project which is her primary duty to her people. We are all aware that Her constituency project is on Education and it is ongoing”.

Posted: at 27-07-2017 09:16 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- alexy2012 at 27-07-2017 09:35 AM (6 years ago)
If the need is toilet, her level of education and exposure ought to move her to provide a befitting toilet system to the community and not "floating toilet". That she even put on photo ops is very demeaning.
Posted: at 27-07-2017 09:35 AM (6 years ago) | Newbie
- angesco at 27-07-2017 09:39 AM (6 years ago)
21st century Nigeria!!!!!

I am SURE that the PROMISES and DELIVERY of SACKS of RICE from Kate Owoko are the REAL REASON these women are DANCING!

GET READY

GET SET

DANCE.

Flashing cameras.
Posted: at 27-07-2017 09:39 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tegonwa at 27-07-2017 09:54 AM (6 years ago)
Sorry Ma.People That Voted You Did Not Vote You From Toilets.They Need Jobs And Food Security.It's Only When They Are Sure Of Three Square Meals That The Need To Defecate Comes, Hence The Need For Toilets.Quite Hopeless.
Posted: at 27-07-2017 09:54 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 27-07-2017 10:41 AM (6 years ago)
YOU SPEND JUST 15K NAIRA AND YOU DEY TALK
Posted: at 27-07-2017 10:41 AM (6 years ago) | Grande Master
- tunlade70 at 27-07-2017 11:34 AM (6 years ago)
Ruthie, come and see your people o Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 27-07-2017 11:34 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- tunlade70 at 27-07-2017 03:54 PM (6 years ago)
These people have been enslaved perpetually. 
Posted: at 27-07-2017 03:54 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- maizaxx at 27-07-2017 07:01 PM (6 years ago)
Madam your remark holds no water.
Madam are you telling me if your son or daughter ask for that will you grant him this request considering your level of exposure and understanding?
Posted: at 27-07-2017 07:01 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruthie at 28-07-2017 12:31 PM (6 years ago)
 Grin Grin Grin Grin NA YA VILLAGE!
Quote from: tunlade70 on 27-07-2017 11:34 AM
Ruthie, come and see your people o Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 28-07-2017 12:31 PM (6 years ago) | Hero