Onaiyekan, Oyedepo, 2 others meet Yar’Adua

Date: 06-04-2010 6:32 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 6
- at 6-04-2010 06:32 PM (13 years ago)
*Shake hands and pray for him

*I have no comment for the Press — Onaiyekan

By Sam Eyoboka

ABUJA—ONE week after the visit of some Muslim clerics to the ailing President Umaru Yar’Adua, Christian leaders, yesterday, visited the Aso Rock to pray with the president.

Reports reaching our newsroom last night said the Christian Association of Nigeria, CAN, President and Catholic Archbishop of Abuja, Most Rev. John Onaiyakan, Presiding Bishop of Living Faith Church, Bishop David Oyedepo, Rev. Emmanuel Kure from Southern Kaduna and the erstwhile Aso Rock Chaplain, Prof Yusuf Obaje were the visitors to the president.

According to the report, they arrived Aso Rck at about 4.30 p.m. and as it happened during the Muslim clerics’ visit, they prayed with the President for quick recovery.

Our source said the visitors shook hands with the president who was said to be sitting besides his wife at the time of the visit and after the prayers they again shook hands with him before leaving.

It was not immediately clear if there was any exchange of words between the visitors and the President but our source said the man was in high spirit and made efforts to thank his visitors for their continued prayers for him and the nation.

Earlier in the day there were speculations that efforts to get the General Overseer of the Redeemed Christian Church of God, Pastor Enoch Adeboye and the PFN President, Pastor Ayo Oritsejafor to be part of the visit flopped because of some logistic problems.

The development led to an alternative arrangement by the Yar’Adua group to arrange for another batch of clerics to visit Aso Rock.

When Vanguard yesterday contacted  the Christian Association of Nigeria, CAN, President and Catholic Archbishop of Abuja, Most Rev. John Onaiyakan, on the reported visit to the ailing President , the clergyman said he had no comment for the press.

The president has not been seen in public since November 23 last year.

The nation was jolted last week with the reports that four Muslim clerics including the Chief Imam of Abuja, visited the President and prayed with him.

Ustaz Mohammed’s BBC interview

It will be recalled that three Islamic clerics led by the Chief Imam of the National Mosque in Abuja, Ustaz Musa Mohammed, visited President Umaru Yar’Adua last week and in an interview with BBC said the man could not speak coherently.

Ustaz Mohammed, however, expressed optimism that Yar’Adua may resume duties soon, as “he has improved remarkably.”

He said the Pesident sat down when they were with him and was dressed in jumper and trousers with a cap to match. Besides, the Islamic leader who said that he was on the visit together with Dr. Datti Ibrahim Ahmad, President of the Supreme Council of Sharia in Nigeria and one Sheik Musa Pantami, explained that they sought permission from the President’s family to see the ailing President and not that they were invited to see him.

He said: “We met him sitting down with his wife while his ADC stood behind him. Although we could not hear what he said, from where we sat, we could see his mouth saying Amen, together with us when we prayed for him. In fact, contrary to rumours that he was seriously ill, we saw that he had improved tremendously and we believe he would be able to resume work any moment from now.”

Another of the clerics, Dr. Ibrahim Datti Ahmad told newspapers that though Yar’Adua shook hands with them and prayed together with them, he didn’t talk to them.

Dr. Ahmad, who is the President of the Supreme Council of Sharia in Nigeria, SCSN, warned that Yar’Adua’s powers must not be taken away from him.

He told newsmen: “We met the President around 5.00 p.m. late in the afternoon. Contrary to what some people have been saying, the President is not in a situation where he is almost dead; he is only sick.

“He was sitting on a dinning chair when we came in and met him. He was not being supported by anybody but himself, he was sitting down calmly. He did not look like someone who is almost dead.

“When we entered, we were not sure of what we were going to meet. So we entered and stood at a respectable distance and greeted him. He extended his hand to us and we shook it one by one. This is contrary to the views of those who keep saying he doesn’t know where he is.

“After that, we prayed for his health. He joined us in the prayers, raising his hands the way we raised our own; his lips were moving. When we finished, we told him we only came to greet him. He shook hands with us.”

Source: vanguardng

Posted: at 6-04-2010 06:32 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- megafather1 at 6-04-2010 06:38 PM (13 years ago)
nawa oo, i will soon visit him too Cool
Posted: at 6-04-2010 06:38 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- herdeysohjy at 6-04-2010 09:58 PM (13 years ago)
good job hear
Posted: at 6-04-2010 09:58 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 6-04-2010 10:07 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: megafather1 on  6-04-2010 06:38 PM
nawa oo, i will soon visit him too Cool

thats even more apropriates than those of recents
Posted: at 6-04-2010 10:07 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- Flexyswaga at 6-04-2010 10:36 PM (13 years ago)
What an interestin story.
Posted: at 6-04-2010 10:36 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ojoson at 6-04-2010 11:14 PM (13 years ago)
I pray he returns to the office on time,so that nigeria can break another record...TWO REIGNING PRESIDENTS IN ASO ROCK AT THE SAME TIME.
Posted: at 6-04-2010 11:14 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Mba5 at 6-04-2010 11:51 PM (13 years ago)
Serious???
Posted: at 6-04-2010 11:51 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 6-04-2010 11:58 PM (13 years ago)
there could be no reigning to president at a time , is never done any where and it can,t be here as well , just as you don,t have two king in a palace at one time , umar musa yar adua is the president in nigeria and will remains so even if he decides not to show up in public till end of his tenures --- period
Posted: at 6-04-2010 11:58 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- Mba5 at 7-04-2010 12:48 AM (13 years ago)
Abi???
Posted: at 7-04-2010 12:48 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- smog200 at 7-04-2010 01:40 AM (13 years ago)
Hmmmmm........He needs prayers of great men of God.Abeg he deserves it may be it will gear up his spirit,body and soul
Posted: at 7-04-2010 01:40 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- VicDenor at 7-04-2010 01:54 AM (13 years ago)
I am not sure what some of my home boys have been smoking...... All I know is that Nigeria cannot be on hold because the President is sick. One person who was ELECTED by the people to serve must reliquist power if he couldn't act in that capacity. Anything that partains to Nigeria is always different. It will never happen in the country (US) I reside. WAKE up guys......
Posted: at 7-04-2010 01:54 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- uploader at 7-04-2010 02:05 AM (13 years ago)
Naija hmmm
Posted: at 7-04-2010 02:05 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ify4life at 7-04-2010 08:31 AM (13 years ago)
that is  good i wish in quick recovery.

Posted: at 7-04-2010 08:31 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Pepesy at 7-04-2010 08:44 AM (13 years ago)
Our prayer is dat he recovers quick but 4get about power coz it does not do him any gud rather would encroach on his infirmity again...
Posted: at 7-04-2010 08:44 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chigozieubah234 at 7-04-2010 08:48 AM (13 years ago)
IS HE AFRAID OF DEATH THAT WILL SURELY COME. IF GOD SAYS HE NOT GONNA MAKE IT, THEN HE WONT, BUT IF GOD SAYS HE IS GONNA MAKE IT SO WHATS THE BIG DEAL.
Posted: at 7-04-2010 08:48 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- rasky47 at 7-04-2010 09:54 AM (13 years ago)
quick recovery to the president
Posted: at 7-04-2010 09:54 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Genty at 7-04-2010 09:54 AM (13 years ago)
i want to meet him too,quike so that i can lay my hands on him for quick recovery.
Posted: at 7-04-2010 09:54 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Zubi22 at 7-04-2010 10:34 AM (13 years ago)
i wish he could make up his mind n 4get everytin dat has to do wit leadership (presidency)... more ova,, he's a wealthy man..... any how, i wish am quick recoverin...
Posted: at 7-04-2010 10:34 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Idinma at 7-04-2010 10:56 AM (13 years ago)
This one na real nawo, our Naija can never stop been filled with wonder.
Posted: at 7-04-2010 10:56 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- solid_solid at 7-04-2010 12:23 PM (13 years ago)
EVEN DUO HE RETURN TO OFFICE......... NAIJA WILL STILL REMAIN THE SAME ........ HIGH RATE OF CORRUPTION, UNEMPLOYMENT, BRIBERY AND CORRUPTION, NO SOCIAL AMENITIES,

MY MAN IS BETTER THEY MADE ME THE PRESIDENT MAKE I TURN NAIJA AROUND

PLS MOVE THIS MOTION WITH ME   
Posted: at 7-04-2010 12:23 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 ... 6

1. Time To Tell The World - Primeboy Files Petition Against Mohbad's Widow, Wunmi Over Allegations

2. VIDEO: AY Makun Shares Video Of Renovated Mansion Months After Fire Accident

3. Peter Obi Meets Labour Party's Edo State Governorship Candidate, Olumide Akpata (Photos)

4. American Rapper, 50 Cent Faces Rap3 Accusations By Ex-girlfriend, Daphne Joy

5. Gospel Artist, Chinyere Udoma Mourns Loss as Fire Destroys Lagos Music Studio (Video)

6. "I’ve Not Touched My N120M" - Ilebaye Odiniya Debunks Financial Struggles Rumors On Snapchat

7. “You No Go Pay”: Drama As Old Video Of Basketmouth Begging Wizkid For Free Promo Surfaces Onlin

8. Former BBNaija Contestant, Deji Morafa Attains Pharmaceutical License In The U.S.

9. After Spending Two Years In Prison, Court Acquits 23-year-old Accused Of R*ping Girlfriend

10. Pregnant Woman, Mmesoma Odili Loses Baby During Detention Over Land Dispute In Anambra

11. 'It Was All A Stunt' -Eniola Ajao Pleads Again, Begs Nigerians To Watch Her N200m Movie

12. Oxlade Raises Concerns About Treatment In Nigerian Music Industry

13. 'You’re The Prettiest Woman In The World' - BBNaija's Angel Celebrates Mom On Her Birthday

14. Kano Police Apprehend 22 Suspected Hoodlums, Declare 30 Others Wanted (Photos)

15. Saudi Arabia Set To Make Debut In Miss Universe Pageant; To Be Represented By Rumy Alqahtani

16. Veteran Actor, Zack Orji Heads To UK For Post-Surgery Evaluation (Photos)

17. Movie Star, Funke Akindele & Her Twin Kids In Dubai On Short Vacation

2. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

3. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

4. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

5. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

6. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

7. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

8. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

9. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)

10. VID: 44yr Old Senegalese President-Elect Melts Hearts As He Flaunts His 2wives