MONEY FIGHT! Conor Mcgregor Could Have Suffered Brain Damage Had Fight Continued – Ringside Doctor

Date: 03-09-2017 7:45 am (6 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 3-09-2017 07:45 AM (6 years ago)

A former ringside doctor Darragh O’Carroll has said referee Robert Byrd, who has come under fire recently for what some have described as prematurely ending the Mayweather/McGregor fight, was right to do so, as McGregor could have suffered brain damage had the fight continued.

Conor McGregor had complained about Hall of Fame referee Robert Byrd ending his match against Floyd Mayweather too soon, as he hadn’t gone down. He said:

I would have liked to see the end of the 10th… I have this patch where I must overcome, I get a little wobbly, but it’s more fatigue. If you look at the Diaz 2 fight, I came through that.

It’s not damage, there’s always a patch in my fights where I go through this fatigue stage… but I wasn’t rocked.

But O’Carroll, in Tonic, said any ringside doctor would agree that Byrd was right to end the match, as McGregor was showing signs of mild brain damage. He said:

Byrd’s calculation to call a stoppage was likely not based on signs of fatigue, but rather signs of traumatic brain injury.

Ataxia, or dizziness and loss of balance, is one of the hallmarks of concussion, a type of mild traumatic brain injury.

Fatigue may cause sluggish and slow movements, but does not cause the imbalance and poor coordination exhibited by McGregor in the 10th round.

Being wobbly, in the setting of pugilistic trauma, will always be treated as the result of head trauma and not as fatigue.

To let a fighter continue on would be grossly negligent.

He added that the referee did an excellent job stopping the match when he did, saying:

Continuing the fight would have put McGregor at risk for continued head trauma, risking a future of chronic traumatic encephalopathy, or at worst, repetitive damage leading to a severe traumatic brain injury such as a brain bleed.

It wouldn’t be the first time a boxer experienced this, as was tragically the case just this year to young Daniel Franco, who required emergency neurosurgery to save his life.

Posted: at 3-09-2017 07:45 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Patrioti at 3-09-2017 08:58 AM (6 years ago)
Conor can call Anthony Joshua for a fight if he is not ok for the beating.
Posted: at 3-09-2017 08:58 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- dareper at 3-09-2017 12:18 PM (6 years ago)
hmmm
Posted: at 3-09-2017 12:18 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- crocatum at 3-09-2017 02:03 PM (6 years ago)
they can fight next time and the referee should not be allowed to stop them.
Posted: at 3-09-2017 02:03 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- victorstic1 at 3-09-2017 03:25 PM (6 years ago)
i pity u , next time u won´t live to tell the story
Posted: at 3-09-2017 03:25 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- james987 at 3-09-2017 03:42 PM (6 years ago)
Quote from: Patrioti on  3-09-2017 08:58 AM
Conor can call Anthony Joshua for a fight if he is not ok for the beating.
chaiii.. you dun buy em coffin?
Posted: at 3-09-2017 03:42 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- chizzyG at 3-09-2017 09:34 PM (6 years ago)
That mcgregor of a guy sabi make mouth no be small,people like him can only stop bla bla when they're dead
Posted: at 3-09-2017 09:34 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- ruthie at 5-09-2017 12:05 PM (6 years ago)
so mayweather for kill am abi...
Posted: at 5-09-2017 12:05 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 8-09-2017 11:25 PM (6 years ago)
With those blows from waywhether
Posted: at 8-09-2017 11:25 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- Floyd29 at 12-09-2017 10:05 AM (6 years ago)
He get luck
Posted: at 12-09-2017 10:05 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oworen25 at 12-09-2017 09:16 PM (6 years ago)
This na old news na
Posted: at 12-09-2017 09:16 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- tegonwa at 13-09-2017 12:47 AM (6 years ago)
Horrible!I Hate Boxing.Nawaa O!
Posted: at 13-09-2017 12:47 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Floyd29 at 14-09-2017 03:04 AM (6 years ago)
Just passing again
Posted: at 14-09-2017 03:04 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- yawa_don_gas at 16-09-2017 02:25 AM (6 years ago)
Please please hold on, why e be say everywhere I take even when I wan hide yawa dey there?
Why why?
Na yawa life, yawa goes on
Posted: at 16-09-2017 02:25 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Novic at 18-09-2017 03:49 PM (6 years ago)
This one pass my me oo... I dont think i cant stand it,make i just dey waka pass. i just need to waka pass.
Posted: at 18-09-2017 03:49 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 25-09-2017 10:25 PM (6 years ago)
This is serious ooooo..... make I just dey waka pass..... abeg I dey waka pass, I will come and comment later.
This one weak me ooooo, well life must goes on.
I dey waka come bare
Posted: at 25-09-2017 10:25 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- BournIdentity at 26-09-2017 05:40 AM (6 years ago)
Posted: at 26-09-2017 05:40 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero