Beating Up And Assaulting Gay People Should Be A Crime Says Homosegxwal Activist Bisi Alimi

Date: 19-09-2017 10:44 am (6 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 19-09-2017 10:44 AM (6 years ago)

On Saturday, September 16, 2017, Bisi Alimi held an event at the  German Consulate. It was titled 'Bisi Alimi in Conversation with Gbenga Aborowo', and it was a Q&A session. Throughout the revealing session, Bisi Alimi spoke about his experience of being a public gay Nigerian man. The tales weren't pretty. Of course, Bisi Alimi spoke about how his parents reacted when they found out that he was gay. One of the most moving moments of the night was when Bisi Alimi narrated how a gang of guys attacked him at night at the University of Lagos. If not for a woman who came out to save him, he would have probably died.
Bisi Alimi spoke about how he faced a lot of discrimination at the University of Lagos. He also revealed how he nearly lost his life on one fateful night when he was attacked by anonymous men who broke into his apartment.
He escaped within an inch of his life. The next day Bisi Alimi was on a flight to the United Kingdom. Bisi Alimi has more tales like these where he faced a lot of attacks for his segxwal orientation.
As it stands, homosegxwality is illegal in the country. Everyone is free to state his or her opinion on homosegxwality. You might be against it or support it- there is no problem in that. After all, we are free moral agents.
The problem here is not about accepting or not accepting homosegxwality but our tolerance level. Because someone is gay or suspected to be gay, it doesn't give anyone the right to physically assault the person. It doesn't give anyone the right to verbally assault the person.
You can be against homosegxwality without attacking a gay person. It is possible. You shouldn't beat a person because he or she is gay.
During the session, Bisi Alimi stated that the first six months after the Same-Sex Prohibition Act was the darkest for gay people in Nigeria. Many of them were assaulted during this period. Surely everyone deserves some form of dignity even if they are gay.
No one should be beaten, slapped, trampled upon because of his segxwal orientation. Even if you do not support homosegxwality, at least be decent in your opposition to it.

Posted: at 19-09-2017 10:44 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Oworen25 at 19-09-2017 10:51 AM (6 years ago)
Make we no carry eye see you oh
Posted: at 19-09-2017 10:51 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- ruthie at 19-09-2017 11:00 AM (6 years ago)
Only God can judge him! dont throw stones because the stone you throw at others will get back to you some day...God loves all sinners and this man can change his ways...so no to killing people
Posted: at 19-09-2017 11:00 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- christianity at 19-09-2017 11:37 AM (6 years ago)
next pls
Posted: at 19-09-2017 11:37 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Floyd29 at 19-09-2017 11:58 AM (6 years ago)
You are in relevant
Posted: at 19-09-2017 11:58 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- OkeEyitayo at 19-09-2017 12:40 PM (6 years ago)
Alimi Bisi, when will u think right? U are against your creator, doing what caused him to destroy Sodom and Gomorrah. repent and stop misleading people. no sense in what u are saying
Posted: at 19-09-2017 12:40 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- SweetDaddy1 at 19-09-2017 01:19 PM (6 years ago)
Beating up someone with Bulala to bring him or her to their senses should not be a crime... Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 19-09-2017 01:19 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pricklong at 19-09-2017 04:08 PM (6 years ago)
YOU HAVE GOT MARRY  TO A WHITE MALE WHAT IS YOUR PROBLEM
Posted: at 19-09-2017 04:08 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- CHRISETTE at 19-09-2017 04:47 PM (6 years ago)
Who cares anything goes in this country
Posted: at 19-09-2017 04:47 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- benosky4 at 19-09-2017 05:49 PM (6 years ago)
Come Naija and see if Peper

Posted: at 19-09-2017 05:49 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- benosky4 at 19-09-2017 05:51 PM (6 years ago)
Come Naija come talk this shit... Twisted fagg

Posted: at 19-09-2017 05:51 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Floyd29 at 24-09-2017 12:51 AM (6 years ago)
Licking ashole
Posted: at 24-09-2017 12:51 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- james987 at 24-09-2017 02:19 PM (6 years ago)
Gays are sick and always sick.. A fact they refuse to accept...
Posted: at 24-09-2017 02:19 PM (6 years ago) | Hero