SAY WHAT? Cameroon Students Face 10 Years In Jail For Making Boko Haram joke In The Class (Photo)

Date: 21-09-2017 4:55 pm (6 years ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 21-09-2017 04:55 PM (6 years ago)

Rights groups demand release of three students whose jovial text message exchange turned sour when teacher confiscated phone and contacted police
 Fomusoh Ivo Feh, one of three students found guilty of ‘non-denunciation of terrorism acts’ and sentenced to 10 years in prison. Photograph: Vincent Tremeau/Amnesty International
Global development is supported by
Bill and Melinda Gates FoundationAbout this content
Thursday 21 September 2017 16.28 BST Last modified on Thursday 21 September 2017 16.29 BST
Human rights groups are calling for the immediate release of three students given 10-year jail sentences in Cameroon for sharing a joke via text about Boko Haram.
An appeal hearing was due to begin on Thursday in the capital, Yaoundé, but has been postponed until 19 October. The students were found guilty of “non-denunciation of terrorism acts” by a military court on 2 November last year.
They were arrested in December 2014, after one student, Fomusoh Ivo Feh, forwarded a text message he received to his friend, Afuh Nivelle Nfor. The message said: “Boko Haram recruits young people from 14 years old and above. Conditions for recruitment: 4 subjects at GCE, including religion.”
Nfor, in turn, sent the message to a third student, Azah Levis Gob. A teacher, who confiscated the phone, saw the text and contacted police who arrested them. The trio were transferred to a prison in Yaoundé, in January 2015, with their legs chained at the ankles, Amnesty International said.
The text was intended as a comment on the difficulty of finding a good job without being highly qualified, the joke being that even Boko Haram won’t recruit without good exam results.
The Islamist group has been blamed for a series of suicide attacks near Cameroon’s border with Nigeria in recent years, and has killed more than 20,000 people in the region since the insurgency began.
Rights groups have criticised anti-terror laws in Cameroon as overly broad, with the potential for abuse. A report published on Wednesday by the Committee to Protect Journalists said anti-terror legislation, introduced in the country in 2014, was being used to silence critics and suppress dissent.
These students should not have been languishing in prison simply for exercising their right to freedom of expression
Ilaria Allegrozzi, Amnesty International
Amnesty International, backed by two local human rights organisations, called on the Cameroonian authorities to release the students, who they say were exercising their right to freedom of expression.
Ilaria Allegrozzi, Lake Chad researcher for Amnesty, said:
“Today’s appeal is an opportunity for the authorities to show the world their commitment to righting this injustice by immediately and unconditionally releasing these three students.
“Rather than languishing in prison simply for exercising their right to freedom of expression, these three students should have been playing a valuable role in Cameroonian society.”
Cyrille Rolande Bechon, executive director of Nouveaux Droits de l’Homme-Cameroun, said that a sarcastic SMS could not possibly constitute grounds for imprisonment. “These students do not belong behind bars and must be allowed to continue their lives without further delay.”
Maximilienne Ngo Mbe, executive director of Réseau des Défenseurs des Droits Humains en Afrique Centrale, said: “These three students should never have been arrested in the first instance as they have only exercised their right to freedom of expression.”

The three were charged under the Cameroonian penal code and Cameroonian military code on 3 March 2015.
The organisations also called on Cameroonian authorities to release other individuals detained on charges related to national security. They include Ahmed Abba, a journalist for Radio France Internationale’s Hausa service, who is serving a 10-year sentence, Aboubakar Siddiki, leader of the political party Mouvement Patriotique du Salut Camerounais, and Abdoulaye Harissou, a well-known notary, who have been in detention for more than three years.
Cameroon’s President Paul Biya, who took office in 1982, is one of the world’s longest-serving leaders. Critics say he is becoming increasingly authoritarian since presidential term limits were removed in 2008.
Since you’re here …
… we have a small favour to ask. More people are reading the Guardian than ever but advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. And unlike many news organisations, we haven’t put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as open as we can. So you can see why we need to ask for your help. The Guardian’s independent, investigative journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce. But we do it because we believe our perspective matters – because it might well be your perspective, too.
I appreciate there not being a paywall: it is more democratic for the media to be available for all and not a commodity to be purchased by a few. I’m happy to make a contribution so others with less means still have access to information.
Thomasine F-R.
If everyone who reads our reporting, who likes it, helps to support it, our future would be much more secure.

Posted: at 21-09-2017 04:55 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ruthie at 21-09-2017 05:16 PM (6 years ago)
THIS IS A GOOD DEVELOPMENT BY THEIR GOVT PROVIDED IT IS NOT USED FOR MINORS....PEOPLE LIKE FREETHINKER &FINEBOY (UGLY ) WOULD BE IN JAIL BY NOW!
Posted: at 21-09-2017 05:16 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- follyflex at 21-09-2017 05:46 PM (6 years ago)
NEXT!.

Posted: at 21-09-2017 05:46 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- tegonwa at 21-09-2017 06:06 PM (6 years ago)
Why Joke With Such A Thing?Something That Has Claimed Thousands Of Lives?Too Flippant!Flippantly Hopeless!Nawaa O!
Posted: at 21-09-2017 06:06 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 21-09-2017 06:30 PM (6 years ago)
when you play with fire, you get burnt
Posted: at 21-09-2017 06:30 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- fineboy77 at 21-09-2017 06:41 PM (6 years ago)
Quote from: ruthie on 21-09-2017 05:16 PM
THIS IS A GOOD DEVELOPMENT BY THEIR GOVT PROVIDED IT IS NOT USED FOR MINORS....PEOPLE LIKE FREETHINKER &FINEBOY (UGLY ) WOULD BE IN JAIL BY NOW!
This is a Boko Haram post,should have nothing to do with me and as a matter of fact,you know that if i were in the position,i will kill them all,but nice try though,you gat me laughing!

Posted: at 21-09-2017 06:41 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- OkeEyitayo at 21-09-2017 06:56 PM (6 years ago)
costly joke but tamper justice with mercy
Posted: at 21-09-2017 06:56 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- Oworen25 at 21-09-2017 07:10 PM (6 years ago)
Na wow oh person no dey play with una again?
Posted: at 21-09-2017 07:10 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- officynero at 21-09-2017 07:11 PM (6 years ago)
lmao
Posted: at 21-09-2017 07:11 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 21-09-2017 08:35 PM (6 years ago)
na play e dey start...  very good
Posted: at 21-09-2017 08:35 PM (6 years ago) | Grande Master
- odegbalegu at 21-09-2017 09:58 PM (6 years ago)
if you jail a joker of bk what would you do to a recruit?
Posted: at 21-09-2017 09:58 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ejikeiyo at 22-09-2017 07:53 AM (6 years ago)
WASTED GENERATION
Posted: at 22-09-2017 07:53 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Floyd29 at 23-09-2017 06:59 AM (6 years ago)
Ok na
Posted: at 23-09-2017 06:59 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 25-09-2017 07:15 AM (6 years ago)
Posted: at 25-09-2017 07:15 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- BournIdentity at 28-09-2017 07:32 AM (6 years ago)
Posted: at 28-09-2017 07:32 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Singer Portable Slams His Wife, Bewaji, For Excluding Him From Her Birthday Message To Herself

2. Man Arrested By Police For Allegedly Slaughtering 80Yr Old Boss, Wife In Their Abuja Home

3. Lawyer With BSc Drops A Memo For EFCC & Nigerian Lawmakers Over Naira Abuse Brouhaha

4. Nigerian Man Who Hates Cake, Celebrates Birthday With Bread, Butter, And Akara

5. '4 Holy Spirits Came Down From Heaven To Rescue Me' -Tiktoker Who Accused Skibii Of Ritual Says

6. BBN Neo Cries Out Over Accusations Of His Having Affair With AY Makun's Estranged Wife, Mabel

7. Nina Ivy Recounts Her Delivery Journey as She Celebrates Her Son’s 4th Birthday (Video)

8. VID: “I’m Scared, EFCC Are Planning To Arrest Me Because Of VeryDarkMan”– Portable

9. VIDEO: Lady Cries Profusely After Boyfriend Of 6 Years Impregnated Her Best Friend

10. Davido Collaborates With UnitedMasters To Launch New Music Label

11. VIDEO: "I Am A Late Bloomer" - Lady Says As She Acquires Her First Car At 32

12. Burna Boy Receives Accolade From Canadian Senate Over ‘Sold Out’ Concert

13. Lagos Driver Nabbed For Cramming 11 Children Into His Car Meant For Transporting 5 People

14. Comedian Sydney Talker Calls For Prayers For Ailing Singer Khaid

15. New Super Eagles Head Coach Will Be Announced in Two Weeks - Sports Minister Reveals

16. JNR POPE: AGN President, Emeka Rollas Speaks on Dragging Adanma Luke to Court

1. Body of Makeup Artiste, Abigail Frederick, Who D!ed in Boat Mishap With Jnr Pope Exhumed

2. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

3. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

4. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

5. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

6. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

7. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

8. Embarrassing Moment Lady Was Busted For Lying During Her Testimony in Church (Video)

9. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model

10. VIDEO: Five Cars And BRT Bus Collide in Multiple Crash Along Lagos-Ibadan Expressway