CNN Anchor, Bourdain Praises Nigerians Hustle As He Visits Lagos and Other Cities In Nigeria

Date: 17-10-2017 1:48 pm (6 years ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 17-10-2017 01:48 PM (6 years ago)

Bourdain, the anchor of CNN’s “Explore Parts Unknown” travels to Lagos to meet the haves and have-nots of the deeply fragmented city that makes up Africa’s fourth-largest economy.
In what he calls a “Wild West free-for-all of enterprise,” he sees a free-market economy at its purest. In the neighborhood of Makoko, a shantytown partially situated on a lagoon, workers string together various hustles, literally to stay afloat.
Across town, on Victoria Island, are the city’s millionaires and billionaires—some of the richest people in Africa. The struggle is alive in Nigeria’s capital. Despite problems of infrastructure and government accountability, hope for a better country, continent, and world abounds.
Anthony Bourdain visits Nigeria
On Nigeria’s freewheeling free market:
“Buy, sell, trade, hustle, and claw. Make your own way, any way you can.”
“Lagos, Nigeria’s megacity: one of the most dynamic, unrestrained, and energetic expressions of free-market capitalism and do-it-yourself entrepreneurship on the planet.”
“They say you have to have three hustles.”
“Victoria Island, the garden of dreams. Where the winners work and play. There’s money in Nigeria—lots of it—mostly from oil, agriculture, and services like banking.”
“Lagos alone is the fourth-largest economy in Africa. Nine thousand millionaires and billionaires—many of Africa’s richest people—live here.”
“I’ve never been in a country where everybody has been working so hard at something.”
On corruption and the struggle for accountable government:
“Public money is generated in Lagos, not so much by oil but by the free market: a Wild West free-for-all of private enterprise.”
“With a ridiculously overburdened infrastructure [and] a history of egregiously bent leadership, [Nigerians] long ago learned that ain’t nobody gonna help you in this world. Pick up a broom, a hammer, buy a taxi, a truck, build a bank, a billion-dollar company, and get to work.”
“Who really runs the streets? The de facto frontline of law and order are ‘area boys.’ An area boy’s crew levies street taxes on, well, everything, reporting to their regional boss, a king of boys. Taxis, buses—any target of opportunity pays.”
“This is a big, oil-rich country. Why doesn’t it look like Dubai?”

Posted: at 17-10-2017 01:48 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ruthie at 17-10-2017 02:17 PM (6 years ago)
THIS GUY IN A SHORT PERIOD HAVE BEEN ABLE TO SEE LAGOS FOR WHAT IT IS.... HUSTLE CITY RIDDLED WITH CRIME AND POOR FACILITIES
Posted: at 17-10-2017 02:17 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- kixme at 17-10-2017 02:34 PM (6 years ago)
You never see anything you don the praise NAIJA when it comes to hustling...tam Happy you didn't get to me dirty Pig like Bournthroway...the name alone na convulsion
Posted: at 17-10-2017 02:34 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 17-10-2017 02:46 PM (6 years ago)
kixMome,, I’m sorry, was I meant to be offended? The only thing offending me is your froggy f*ugly moronic face Shocked Grin
Posted: at 17-10-2017 02:46 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- BournIdentity at 17-10-2017 02:47 PM (6 years ago)
Ok.... Observation kwontinue..,,,                         
Posted: at 17-10-2017 02:47 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Davido Trolled As His Sidechick Calls Him 2 Minutes Man With Tiny Manhood

2. VIDEO: Singer, Wizkid Gushes Over Prophet Odumeje, Shares Plan For Him

3. We Don’t Have a Choice - Indomie Reveals Why Costs Of Its Noodles Was Reduces

4. Fans Dig Out Evidence To Prove Wizkid’s Claim About Don Jazzy Being An Influencer

5. Tunde Ednut Slams Wizkid For Disrespecting Davido And Don Jazzy

6. Don Jazzy Unfollows Wizkid After He Mocked Him Online

7. Missing 400-Level UniAbuja Student, Murjanatu Zubairu Found Dead

8. Edo Governor Obaseki Announces N70, 000 New Minimum Wage For Civil Servants

9. Actor, Adeniyi Johnson Shares Epic Throwback Photo With Wife, Seyi Edun On Movie Set

10. Nigerian Woman Urges Married Women To Stop Wasting Their Prayers On Cheating Husband

11. 15Yr Old Secondary School Student, Ebube Offo Commits Suicide Over Expulsion In Enugu

12. 56Yr Old Nigerian Woman Celebrates After Giving Birth To Twins After 26Yrs Of Waiting

13. Keep Watching Over Me - Actress Nancy Isime Sends Message To Late Mother Who Died 28Yrs Ago

14. Nigerian Court Orders Police To Pay N300M Fine For Killing 3 Shiite Members In Zaria

1. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

2. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

3. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

4. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

5. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

6. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

7. Drama As Actress, Toyin Abraham Ajeyemi Clashes With Area Boys On Movie Set (Video)

8. VIDEO: Singer, Davido Becomes First to Own The $500,000 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre

9. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)

10. "Polygamy Is Allowed In Celestial Church, Our Prophets Can Marry Many Wives" — Oshoffa's Son