Anglican Reverend, Nicholas Okoh Clears The Air On Preaching & Collection Of "Tithe" By Pastors

Date: 11-11-2017 1:53 pm (6 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 11-11-2017 01:53 PM (6 years ago)

The Primate, Church of Nigeria, Anglican Communion, His Grace, Nicholas Okoh has spoken on the issue of preaching and collection of tithe by pastors.

The issue of tithing has generated a lot of controversy in recent days, geared by a controversial CoolFM On Air Personality, OAP, Daddy Freeze.
Primate Okoh, who spoke with select journalists in Abuja on the subject, said payment of tithe was not by force, adding failure to pay doesn’t bring about curse.

He explained,
“Tithing is a very ancient tradition, Abraham paid tithe to Melchizedek and people have become transfixed to that idea till today, but in the New Testament, giving modalities have other options.
“One, it says, set aside something every week which you think would be handsome for the glory of God and give that. Whether that is 10 per cent or whatever per cent, I don’t know, but the instruction is, set aside something every week.
“Then, there is the gift required to give by all; the first concept is that your life is a living sacrifice. A sacrifice is something you offer and withdraw your hand, that means the Christian offers his life totally and the totality of his training, his money and everything he has belonged to God.
“Therefore, the question of saying, ‘God take 10 per cent, I would keep 90 per cent’ does not arise. Let me give an example: If you are a tither and you give 10 per cent to the Church, and after giving this percentage, somebody is very sick, and you still have your 90 per cent, will you close your eyes to the person’s need?
“You see, that is one of the weaknesses of tithing if you follow it mechanically. Then furthermore, in John chapter 6, Jesus asked people who had food to bring it, but only one young boy who had a lunch pack–two pieces of fish and five barley loaves, offered his.
“The mother gave him to eat as he was going about with Jesus so he would not be hungry. When Jesus asked for the bread, it was not only that boy that had, many had and did not bring, but the boy brought his own, he did not give Jesus two pieces of fish and keep the rest, he did not give the barley loaves and keep the fish, he gave everything and because he gave everything, the blessing of God multiplied it over and over.
“So the intention of the mother was met, the boy had enough to eat, other people who were there, almost 20,000 had enough to eat and to spare. Now, those who had and did not bring, their own became a waste. So, the point in this matter is that, when God is asking for something, you don’t give him 10 per cent.
“You give him what is worthy of his name: it might be more than 10 per cent, it might be 10 per cent, it might be anything depending on the situation he has placed you bearing in mind that every good and perfect gift comes from above.”
On the stand of some pastors that anyone who refused to pay tithe was under a divine curse, he said, “no , I don’t believe it, I don ’t curse anybody, God does not compel us to go, he only makes us willing to go. If God has given you a gift, he woos your mind, he makes you to see why. Remember that the gift you gave does not promote God.
“He is not a young officer that would be promoted a senior officer or to an executive by your gift. God is full, according to the theology of Colossians, God is full, complete.
“When you give, it is you the giver that is blessed. The person giving is the one lifted up, God is not hungry . According to Psalm 50, he said if I were hungry for meat, I won’t tell you, the whole cattle on a thousand hills belonged to me.”

Posted: at 11-11-2017 01:53 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- firstaustin at 11-11-2017 02:21 PM (6 years ago)
After Abram (Abraham) defeated Chedorlaomer and his confederate kings, the patriarch came to the Low Plain of Shaveh or “the king’s Low Plain.” There Melchizedek “brought out bread and wine” and blessed Abraham, saying: “Blessed be Abram of the Most High God, Producer of heaven and earth; and blessed be the Most High God, who has delivered your oppressors into your hand!” At that Abraham gave the king-priest “a tenth of everything,” that is, of “the chief spoils” he had acquired in his successful warfare against the allied kings.—Ge 14:17-20;

Abraham defeated Chedorlaomer, gave Melchizedek 10p after Melchizedek praised and blessed him. He gave what he took from Chedorlaomer to Melchizedek, he didn't gave what he has to Melchizedek
Posted: at 11-11-2017 02:21 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- firstaustin at 11-11-2017 02:36 PM (6 years ago)
After Abram (Abraham) defeated Chedorlaomer and his confederate kings, the patriarch came to the Low Plain of Shaveh or “the king’s Low Plain.” There Melchizedek “brought out bread and wine” and blessed Abraham, saying: “Blessed be Abram of the Most High God, Producer of heaven and earth; and blessed be the Most High God, who has delivered your oppressors into your hand!” At that Abraham gave the king-priest “a tenth of everything,” that is, of “the chief spoils” he had acquired in his successful warfare against the allied kings.—Ge 14:17-20;

Abraham defeated Chedorlaomer, gave Melchizedek 10p after Melchizedek praised and blessed him. He gave what he took from Chedorlaomer to Melchizedek, he didn't gave what he has to Melchizedek
Posted: at 11-11-2017 02:36 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- Afriqueenn at 11-11-2017 03:16 PM (6 years ago)
Let's face the truth and reality and stop remaining brainwashed. For how long do we continue this foolishness?
Let churches turn to humanitarian organisations and NGOs where humanity is helped and saved and people willingly make donations for its operations,  and let's see how many people will rise up and say they're pastors ; God called them. Greedy people! Why is tithe that has to do with money,  the only "thing" in the Bible that Christians become accursed because of? Why not sin? Do you think God is more interested in your tithes than your soul?
Do you think He sent His precious Son to the world to die to enable us pay our tithes or to enable us be saved?
I am an extremely committed and dedicated Christian and spirit filled; you can't be more Catholic than the Pope.
African Christians,  borrow yourselves brain, ok? African churches have failed us and have failed to show us Christian love, let's begin to show it to one another.
Use that money you wanna pay tithe with to take care of that poor, hungry, naked, jobless, hopeless, homeless, forlorn and frustrated cousin, brother, neighbour, sister, mother, father or employee of yours first.
Do you think by doing so the Church will "starve?" No, the Church built on the Rock, Jesus, will flourish and prosper without your direct financial input!
But love your neighbour as yourself.
Posted: at 11-11-2017 03:16 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 11-11-2017 04:07 PM (6 years ago)
TITHE MONEY SWEET
Posted: at 11-11-2017 04:07 PM (6 years ago) | Grande Master
- ItaloBigBoSs at 11-11-2017 04:20 PM (6 years ago)
@Rev. Nicholas, you have some points there.... 
@Afriqueen,  you nailed it on the head and i totally agree with u.....  But as for me and my family, we will serve the lord of hosts with what we have....     Helping humanity is how i choose to pay my tithes and that doesn't in any way obstruct me from contributing to the church...    God blesses a man to bless his fellow man; cos One man is his fellow man's God....... Based-on-Statistics.
ItaloBigg
Posted: at 11-11-2017 04:20 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- firstaustin at 11-11-2017 04:23 PM (6 years ago)
See me see English ooo "HE didn't gave". Lol
Posted: at 11-11-2017 04:23 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- benosky4 at 11-11-2017 04:26 PM (6 years ago)
Quote from: Afriqueenn on 11-11-2017 03:16 PM
Let's face the truth and reality and stop remaining brainwashed. For how long do we continue this foolishness?
Let churches turn to humanitarian organisations and NGOs where humanity is helped and saved and people willingly make donations for its operations,  and let's see how many people will rise up and say they're pastors ; God called them. Greedy people! Why is tithe that has to do with money,  the only "thing" in the Bible that Christians become accursed because of? Why not sin? Do you think God is more interested in your tithes than your soul?
Do you think He sent His precious Son to the world to die to enable us pay our tithes or to enable us be saved?
I am an extremely committed and dedicated Christian and spirit filled; you can't be more Catholic than the Pope.
African Christians,  borrow yourselves brain, ok? African churches have failed us and have failed to show us Christian love, let's begin to show it to one another.
Use that money you wanna pay tithe with to take care of that poor, hungry, naked, jobless, hopeless, homeless, forlorn and frustrated cousin, brother, neighbour, sister, mother, father or employee of yours first.
Do you think by doing so the Church will "starve?" No, the Church built on the Rock, Jesus, will flourish and prosper without your direct financial input!

YES
PASTORS NOWADAYS DONT CARE ABOUT OUR SALVATION BUT LAY MORE EMPHASIS ON TITHES AND OFFERINGS.

Posted: at 11-11-2017 04:26 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- james987 at 11-11-2017 06:02 PM (6 years ago)

makes sense.. na wa with this tithe na by fire by force..
Posted: at 11-11-2017 06:02 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- james987 at 11-11-2017 06:08 PM (6 years ago)
These Freemasons pastors are milking the nation dry just as their freemasons and occultic politicians brothers are doing to the nation. It would be nice and nicer if people and other pastors keep deliberating on this issue..  it's too much na haba!!
Posted: at 11-11-2017 06:08 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- chizzyG at 11-11-2017 10:01 PM (6 years ago)
Yeye people...i dey blame the dumb ass fellows who carry their hard earned money dey give una dey think say them dey give am god,which god?person go hustle finish send money give him family,they go just divide am carry half go give another man think say na god.if you talk say the money quick finish them go say things too hard for naija as if you no know how things dey again for naija
Posted: at 11-11-2017 10:01 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- Asterimou at 12-11-2017 02:23 AM (6 years ago)

Well said dear. I keep asking myself, why these church goers don't have this reasoning ability. It beats me. Satan is powerful
Posted: at 12-11-2017 02:23 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Asterimou at 12-11-2017 02:45 AM (6 years ago)
1.     2 Corinthians 9:6-7
The point is this: whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows bountifully will also reap bountifully. Each one must give as he has decided in his heart, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver. (Tithe is a compulsory thing and here says we are not under compulsion, but what we have.)

2.     Acts 20:35
I have shown you all things, how that by so laboring ye ought to support the weak and to remember the words of the Lord Jesus, how He said, ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’” (Its clear that supporting the weak and poor by giving is what brings blessings and happiness. But Nigerian pastors chose to ignore the poor and weak, by RECEIVING rather than GIVING.

3. Galatians 3:13

Christ redeemed us from the curse of the law by becoming a curse for us, for it is written: “Cursed is everyone who is hung on a pole. (The law that involves compulsory tithing, animal sacrifices to clean sin and many other laws are all abolished with Christ death for us. If Nigerian pastors claim tithing still in place, why are they not also practicing the other laws of animal sacrifices to forgive sins?
THE GREATEST CRIMINALS ARE MODERN DAY PASTORS. THE WORD CHRISTIAN COMES FROM CHRIST-LIKE..DID JESUS PAY TITHES? RATHER HE PAID HIS TAXES.
Posted: at 12-11-2017 02:45 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- abati666 at 12-11-2017 05:34 PM (6 years ago)
My Fellow Nigerians

Wakeup and smell the coffee. Tithes are to make the Pastor or preacher rich. You are a fool to engage in such activities. You all have been fooled and brainwashed for centuries.
Posted: at 12-11-2017 05:34 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 13-11-2017 03:35 AM (6 years ago)
Posted: at 13-11-2017 03:35 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Maxtone at 13-11-2017 10:29 AM (6 years ago)
Tithing or not, let's all do our part in the betterment of mankind. We all have ways by which we can touch lives positively without arguing on social media
Posted: at 13-11-2017 10:29 AM (6 years ago) | Newbie