Touching Story Of How Nigerian Migrants Are Sold For $400 In North African 'Slave Market' (VIDEO)

Date: 15-11-2017 11:50 am (6 years ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 15-11-2017 11:50 AM (6 years ago)

In Libya, a “slave market” is in operation, where “big strong boys for farm work” are being auctioned for $400, CNN reports.
The report corroborates an earlier statement released by International Organisation for Migration (IOM) in April this year. The IOM statement said that “IOM staff in Niger and Libya documented shocking events on North African migrant routes, which they have described as ‘slave markets’ tormenting hundreds of young African men bound for Libya.”
“The situation is dire,” Mohammed Abdiker, the director of operation and emergencies for IOM said, adding that “some reports are truly horrifying and the latest reports of ‘slave markets’ for migrants can be added to a long list of outrages.”
The statement added that “IOM Libya learned of other kidnapping cases, like those IOM Niger has knowledge of.”
Carrying concealed cameras, CNN’s reporters in Tripoli, the capital city of Libya, revealed that about “a dozen people” were auctioned “in the space of six or seven minutes”.
One of the traders, dressed in a camouflage gear and holding a man, said, “Does anybody need a digger? This is a digger, a big strong man, he’ll dig. What am I bid, what am I bid?”

Buyers raised their hands as the price rose, “500, 550, 600, 650 ….” Within minutes it is all over and the men, utterly resigned to their fate, are being handed over to their new “masters,”
CNN adds.
The video evidence has been handed over to Libyan authorities who are currently carrying out a clampdown on smugglers.
An official with Libya’s Anti-Illegal Immigration Agency First Lieutenant Naser Hazam, told CNN that he has not witnessed a slave auction, but acknowledged that organized gangs are operating smuggling rings in the country.
Hazam said: “They fill a boat with 100 people, those people may or may not make it. (The smuggler) does not care as long as he gets the money, and the migrant may get to Europe or die at sea.”
As the crackdown on smugglers continue, it becomes more difficult for them to transfer the migrants to Europe, leaving them with thousands of persons who ultimately become slaves.
“The auctions take place in a seemingly normal town in Libya filled with people leading regular lives. Children play in the street; people go to work, talk to friends and cook dinners for their families,” CNN reports.

The migrants, when intercepted, are taking to detention camps, from where they would be deported to their various their countries.
Victory, 21, one of the migrants in the detention camps, who left his hometown in Edo state, Nigeria and spent more than N1 million and 16 months trying to reach Europe, said he was sold at a slave auction.
He could only get to Libya, he said, adding that him and other migrants were deprived of food, abused and mistreated by their captors.
“If you look at most of the people here, if you check your bodies, you see the marks. They are beaten, mutilated,” he said.
When his money rant out, his smugglers sold him as a day labourer, saying that the profit made from the transactions would serve to reduce his debt.
This didn’t happen, and after being forced to work for weeks, Victory was told the money he’d been bought for wasn’t enough. He was returned to his smugglers, who then sold him to more buyers.
The smugglers, he said, also demanded money from his family in Nigeria before they eventually released him. “My mother even went to a couple villages, borrowing money from different couriers to save my life,” Victory said.
“I could not make it (to Europe), but I thank God for the life of those that make it. I’m not happy. I go back and start back from square one. It’s very painful. Very painful,” Victory said.

Watch the documentary below;
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2S2qtGisT34" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2S2qtGisT34</a>

Posted: at 15-11-2017 11:50 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kixme at 15-11-2017 12:08 PM (6 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes ::)this is serious and we have a foreign affair minister
Posted: at 15-11-2017 12:08 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ladyhap at 15-11-2017 03:05 PM (6 years ago)
If they remain in their home/country will this happen? Anyway, I pity them and I pray for their safeness.
Posted: at 15-11-2017 03:05 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- osarobo62 at 15-11-2017 03:33 PM (6 years ago)
Quote from: kixme on 15-11-2017 12:08 PM
Roll Eyes Roll Eyes ::)this is serious and we have a foreign affair minister
if you are the foreign minister, tell us what you would do.
Posted: at 15-11-2017 03:33 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- benosky4 at 15-11-2017 03:40 PM (6 years ago)
it's a big shame to Nigeria .

Posted: at 15-11-2017 03:40 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Flowpajun at 15-11-2017 04:30 PM (6 years ago)
 Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry
Posted: at 15-11-2017 04:30 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 15-11-2017 04:43 PM (6 years ago)
WHY UNA GO THERE WHY WHY WHY
Posted: at 15-11-2017 04:43 PM (6 years ago) | Grande Master
- Zaki68 at 15-11-2017 06:11 PM (6 years ago)
WHEN YOU TELL THEM DONT GO THEY DONT LISTEN 90% THEIR FAULT.
Posted: at 15-11-2017 06:11 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- proly at 15-11-2017 11:33 PM (6 years ago)
Imagine 1m that you can use start up a buisness in nija...if you even reach the Europe na another suffer
Posted: at 15-11-2017 11:33 PM (6 years ago) | Hero

1. Family of Late Sound Engineer Have Refused to Exhume His Body From Riverside Despite Donations

2. How Yahaya Bello Moved $720k From Govt Account to a BDC - EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Narrates (VID)

3. Another Nollywood Legend, Mr Zulu Adigwe Passes On

4. Our Teachers Are Aware - Students of Lead British School Speak About Bully!ing at The School

5. Ondo Police Arrests Man Who Said He Saw Fetish Items in Car of 'Yahoo Boy' & Was Lynched by Mob

6. EFCC Uncovers How Emefiele Printed ₦684.5 Million With ₦18.9 Billion

7. I've Paid IT Experts To Pull Down My S3x Tape Off Internet And Mobile Devices -Tiwa Savage Says

8. Naira Slumps Against Dollar To N1,300 In Official Market

9. Suspended UNN Lecturer Caught Sexual Assaulting His Married Female Student Arrested

10. 'Kidnappers, Terrorists Don’t Deserve Mercy'- Murdered Professor Says In Last Interview

11. Men No Longer Lose Weight In The Gym - Lady Reveals Reasons In A Video

12. Kanye West Reportedly Planning To Launch Porn Studio

13. Photos Of Kogi University Lecturer, Sarinus Kano Killed By Suspected Armed Robbers

14. Alleged N8bn Nigeria Air Fraud: EFCC Arrests Ex-Aviation Minister, Sirika

15. Actor, Femi Adebayo's Wife Calls Out Online Aunties Who Come To Her DM With 'Dumb Advice'

16. Despite Men’s Craziness, Women Can’t Do Without Them Says Singer, Tiwa Savage

17. BBN Venita Called A ‘Bully’ After Neo Shares Family Ordeal With One

18. Victim Of Police Shooting Not Our Student – LAUTECH Denies Report

19. Heartbreaking; Man Losses Wife And Baby After 14 Years Of Barrenness

20. Follow Due Process In Prosecuting Yahaya Bello, Group Tells EFCC

7. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

8. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office