TDT introduces new car navigation system in Nigeria

Date: 09-09-2008 8:53 pm (15 years ago) | Author: Peter Brodaly
- at 9-09-2008 08:53 PM (15 years ago)
Source
Third Dimension Technologies - a Lagos, London and New York based Geo - Informatics consulting company introduced an integrated suite of GPS mapping services for geographically navigating through roads and finding places of interest in Nigeria.

Nigeria is no more amongst the list of nations with a poor Geo Spatial data gathering and visualization record. This is brought about by the booming business of Vehicle Tracking, Facilities Management, In Car Navigation Systems and online Interactive Mapping. This is further enhanced with the launch of the two Nigerian Satellites which easily generate data for use within these applications.

SERVICES OFFERED

One of the forerunners - and indeed the only company in Africa who has implemented such a solution - recently launched their online mapping service. On the website, you can search for addresses, find information and location of services like restaurants, petrol station, banks, hotels etc. You can also do a "find my nearest search", this allows you to search services closer to your street address. Innovatively, they also have a nationwide route planning module, here you can plan your route nationwide before setting out on a journey, you will be able to print turn by turn directions, check total length of route and print these maps to guide on your journey. This is indeed innovative. You can also search for maps of any place nationwide, this is absolutely ground breaking.

OTHER PRODUCTS AVAILABLE

The company also distributes a GARMIN product called CEASER CITY NAVIGATOR, these are mapping software that is installable on GARMIN GPS devices, both voice prompted and non voice promted, you simply search and input your destination and then the device navigates you all the way to where you are travelling to. The navigator series can be purchased for N/S/W/E of Nigeria, or for the entire country or for individual cities.

This is a genuine effort by an indigenous company to make the use of spatial data known and encouraged in Nigeria, hence they are offering these services free for now, so next time, before you travel, log online, plan your route so that you wont waste precious time finding the route to your destination.

For more information, visit the website at: www.ceaser-web.com.

Posted: at 9-09-2008 08:53 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- naijainct at 18-09-2008 01:50 PM (15 years ago)
Its kinda nice but personally I don't need GPS to maneuver the streets of Lagos. If I can't find my way I ride okada. who wants to be held up in lagos traffic anyway.
Posted: at 18-09-2008 01:50 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- PoliticxGuru at 21-08-2015 11:42 AM (8 years ago)
Good news
Posted: at 21-08-2015 11:42 AM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. Watch Moment Students Arrive For Prom In Helicopter And Expensive Cars

2. Toyin Lawani Writes Open Letter To Asake Over New Hairstyle

3. How British Charity Employed Nigerian Man, Peter Omoruy Convicted For Sex Trafficking In France

4. Nigerian Govt Cuts Electricity Supplies To Benin Republic, Togo, Niger To Boost Domestic Supply

5. VIDEO: Skitmaker, Erekere Shows Off His Newly Acquired Benz GLE

6. BREAKING: Vice President Shettima Cancels Summit Trip To US Over Faulty Aircraft

7. ‘I Appreciate Wike But I Can’t Worship Him’ – Rivers Gov, Fubara Opens Up

8. Suspected One-Chance Armed Robber Arrested With Pistol In Suleja

9. 'You Can Be Poor And Still Be Happier Than The So Called Rich' - World Bank Staff Says

10. Ekiti Court Sentences 3 Persons To Death By Hanging For Robbery

11. Suspected Ritualists Kidnap 4 Month Old Boy In Akwa Ibom

12. Actress, Etinosa Idemudia Calls Out BBNaija Star Over Unpaid Debt, Name Still Withheld

13. Gunmen Kill One, Abduct Seven Along Sagamu-Ijebu-Ode Expressway

1. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

2. Moment Canadian Mayor Praises Tinubu For Work Done in Lagos While Honouring Peter Obi at Event

3. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

4. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

5. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

6. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

7. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

8. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

9. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years

10. Northern Leaders Kick Against The Relocation of US, France Military Base to Nigeria