I Lost 20 Vehicles In FESTAC Tanker Fire Outbreak - Car Shop Owner Cries Out

Date: 14-12-2017 2:56 pm (6 years ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 14-12-2017 02:56 PM (6 years ago)

Fire yesterday consumed at least 23 vehicles – three buses, 16 cars and four jeeps – at Festac-Amuwo link bridge when a tanker carrying Automotive Gas Oil (AGO) otherwise called diesel fell and burst into flame.

The truck crashed about 11a.m. while ascending the bridge. About 20 vehicles were burnt at a nearby car mart selling imported used vehicles otherwise called Tokunbo cars.

A furniture and another box shop were left in ruins with the business owners lamenting around the scene of the inferno. When New Telegraph got to the scene, the area was in ruins. The furniture shop next to the bridge was consumed by fire likewise the expensive box shop. A commercial motorcycle, popularly called Okada, was burnt too.

The owner of the car mart, where a number of Tokunbo cars and jeeps were destroyed, Mr. Chinedu Nwogbo, who was taking stock of his burnt vehicles with his lawyer at the time of the visit, said the owner of the tanker was yet to be identified.

Speaking on the value of the vehicles damaged, he said: “We have not known the cost of the damage but by tomorrow, we should be able to come up with the cost of the vehicles. We don’t want to do it in a rush.

"We don’t know the owner of the vehicle yet but it belongs to one of the fuel stations after the bridge. “We are not bothered because the owner of the tanker will pay. We also didn’t see the number plate with which to find out who owns it.”

The owner of the box shop, identified as Jeoff, was too shock to say anything meaningful. He was only saying: “I’m finished in this season. Where will I start from? I’m finished.” The Okada owner, Asuquo Okon, said: “I don’t know what to do now. I needed to save my life first. Nobody has spoken to me and I don’t know who will pay for my motorcycle.”

The Festac Divisional Police Officer, SP Obong Okoh, who was on the ground to ensure that miscreants did not seize the opportunity to cart away people’s valuables, said the owner of the tanker had not been identified as the truck burnt beyond recognition. He, however, said investigation was ongoing to identify the owner of the vehicle.

Posted: at 14-12-2017 02:56 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- victorstic1 at 14-12-2017 04:35 PM (6 years ago)
WHAT A LOSS !!! HOPE  YOU WILL BE COMPENSATED
Posted: at 14-12-2017 04:35 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Haso112 at 14-12-2017 04:41 PM (6 years ago)
NA WA OOOO, WHAT A SAD THING TO HAPPEN AT THE VERY END OF THE YEAR.......!!! A GREAT LOSS, SERIOUS GBESE...!!!
Posted: at 14-12-2017 04:41 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruthie at 14-12-2017 05:00 PM (6 years ago)
these one na one chance for the company if them no get insurance o!
Posted: at 14-12-2017 05:00 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- BournIdentity at 26-12-2017 06:42 AM (6 years ago)
Posted: at 26-12-2017 06:42 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Disturbing Video Shows Handcuffed Black Man's Last Words As Police Knelt On Him Before He Died

2. BREAKING: President Tinubu Appoints Jim Ovia Chairman Of Nigerian Education Loan Fund

3. ‘My Values, Not Dad’s Money’ – Davido Opens Up On Secret Of His Success

4. Two Siblings, Motorcyclist Allegedly Crushes To Death By Speeding Student Driver In Ondo

5. PICS; Police Arrest 8 Suspected Kidnappers, Rescue Four Kidnapped Victims In Delta

6. How DSS Rescues Seven Kidnapped Victims In Sokoto

7. P-Square Ordered To Pay N25m Over Breach Of Contract After Being Defeated By Music Promoter

8. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

9. Benue Gov. Alia Set To Demolish Property Housing Kidnappers, Yahoo Boys

1. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

2. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

3. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

4. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

5. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

6. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

7. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

8. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

9. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu