JUST IN! Libya Returnees Disrupt Govt. Organised Empowerment Programme In Edo

Date: 12-03-2018 3:16 pm (6 years ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 12-03-2018 03:16 PM (6 years ago)

Some Libya returnees in Edo, on Monday, disrupted the town hall meeting organised by the State Task Force on Human Trafficking and Illegal Migration for alleged discrimination in selecting victims participating in the empowerment programme
The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the protesting returnees in large numbers stormed the venue of the empowerment programme destroying some items, including the tent, chairs and six ceiling fans.
The protesting returnees accused the task force of alleged discrimination in its selective method of victims’ participating in the rehabilitation and reintegration programme organised for the victims of human trafficking and illegal migration by the state government.
NAN reports that it took the intervention of the men and officers of the Edo Police Command to calm the protesting returnees.
Jude Ikuenobe, who spoke on behalf of the protesting returnees, told News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) that new returnees were being selected ahead of those who had returned much earlier to participate in the programme.
“They have given some of those that just returned N1 million while those of us that came before them have are yet to get anything from the government.
“We know Gov. Godwin Obaseki is trying; but we are sorry to say that members of the task force are busy enjoyment themselves with what is meant to be for us (returnees).
“To make things worse, they have resulted to treating us selectively, depending on who you know.
“I am aware that even those who have been trained on various aspects of agriculture are yet to get the promised grant and land by the governor.
“With this in mind, how then do you rationalize the method of selecting and giving those who only arrived in December N1 million as empowerment, leaving those of us who had returned months back stranded.
“While we remain grateful to the governor, however, we want the task force to be upright in its duty by doing the right thing,
” he said.
Reacting to the incident, Mr Solomon Okoduwa, Senior Special Assistant (SSA) to the Governor, Human Trafficking and Illegal Migration, who condemned the protest, denied the allegation.
Okoduwa, who said there were civilized ways to ventilate ones disagreement, noted that every of the returnee, already screened, had been listed into various empowerment programmes.
He explained that the empowerment programmes were in phases, noting that those yet to benefit in the ongoing phase, would obviously benefit later.
“There is no delay in the empowerment programme; the state government did not envisage the large number of returnees.
“And that is why the governor has accepted it as a challenge but requires the support and collaboration of all stakeholders,”
he said.

Posted: at 12-03-2018 03:16 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ruthie at 12-03-2018 03:19 PM (6 years ago)
could they have tried this in Libya?..ungrateful, lazy idiots....
Posted: at 12-03-2018 03:19 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- fineboy77 at 12-03-2018 03:52 PM (6 years ago)
Nobody told you guys to go to Libya in the first place,so know exactly where to direct your frustrations,and that should be on yourselves

Posted: at 12-03-2018 03:52 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- blowout at 12-03-2018 04:16 PM (6 years ago)
Quote from: fineboy77 on 12-03-2018 03:52 PM
Nobody told you guys to go to Libya in the first place,so know exactly where to direct your frustrations,and that should be on yourselves
u dey mind them, they should be happy the govt even paid to fly them back from that hellhole called Libya.
Posted: at 12-03-2018 04:16 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- james987 at 12-03-2018 04:28 PM (6 years ago)
Na this administration fight corruption pass yet corruption na normal thing Grin Grin
Posted: at 12-03-2018 04:28 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- slimber at 12-03-2018 04:59 PM (6 years ago)
Look at them you guys should go back nah
Posted: at 12-03-2018 04:59 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- osarobo62 at 12-03-2018 05:06 PM (6 years ago)
why is the govt funding this so called empowerment programme. What happens to the youths at home who never left for Libya Huh?
Posted: at 12-03-2018 05:06 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 12-03-2018 09:54 PM (6 years ago)
they should go back to Libya
Posted: at 12-03-2018 09:54 PM (6 years ago) | Grande Master
- nature7888 at 13-03-2018 10:05 AM (6 years ago)
they back home nw and wants to cause wahala..
Posted: at 13-03-2018 10:05 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- SOGaiya at 13-03-2018 12:18 PM (6 years ago)
finished wat you started
Posted: at 13-03-2018 12:18 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac