Will you let a spouse who left you get involved in your child’s marriage?

Date: 23-04-2010 11:06 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 23-04-2010 11:06 PM (14 years ago)
Single parenting is one rough bone nobody will want to chew. Whether one entered into it by way of being widowed or outright abandonment, the truth remains that nobody is in good shape with single parenting. When you are a single parent, raising kids all by yourself can be a very difficult task. Single dads usually face the problem of how to keep in tune with the child’s feelings and emotional needs. It is an entirely different ball game to regular parenting where the household is made up of  father, mother and children.

In cases like this, the men involved tend to suffer more than women. They feel that this is not a very manly job. Unlike women who are known for  their emotional attachment with their children, a single dad will always find it difficult to perform motherly responsibilities.

The question now is, having shouldered this responsibility alone, will you allow the mother or father of your child who abandone you to reap the parental benefit if the child in question is getting married? Read on:

He can take part if …. — Patricia Usman

I’ll allow him to take part because he also played a part in bringing the child into this world. But if my child says no, then my hands are tied. There are cases where both parents attend the wedding of their child and do not to talk to each other. And after that day, everybody goes his own way. Some children just take it that they’ll be mocked if their both parents are not present at their wedding. So, to cover the shame, they manage to get both mother and father to be present.

If he’s prepared to fund the wedding — Adaora Ukoh, Actress

Well, if he’s willing to fund the wedding without anyone else adding a dime, then we can allow him the privilege of being a father once more. Aside that, we can just invite him to come and sit down to watch that child he abandoned as the child gets married. He can come like any other visitor and witness the occasion.
It will be nice to let him see the child he didn’t want to have anything to do with celebrate love and happiness. By so doing, I believe he’ll live to regret his actions everyday of his life.

e can’t reap where he did not sow — Shamara, Musician

I think it’s a two way thing. First, I’ll consider the kind of relationship I’ve had with his family members. If his family had always been in support of their son’s irresponsibility, then there’ll be no need for him to consider himself as a father to my child, not on an event like wedding. But if I was on good terms with  his family and they were able to shoulder some kind of responsibility for  my child, then they deserve to take part. There are situations where the parents of the man may have tried their best to make their son face his responsibility and he failed to listen. Now, he’s prepared to reap where he did not sow.

If he had wanted us to have any form of dialogue, that should have been taken care of before now. I keep asking why a man or woman will bring a child into this world and will not take responsibility for the child’s upbringing and welfare? What other things can one do to show commitment even to himself when he fails to see his own child through life?

Even the man or woman who would have so much guts to come and take part in the child’s wedding after abandoning this same child all these years is shameless. If you were not able to sow a seed in the life of this child, why do you think you deserve to reap from the harvest? Except my child insists that he should be allowed to take part, then I’ll leave her to have her way because I equally want her happiness.
Permit me to say that if I’m the child in question, I won’t let him take part in anyway. What if I died all these years? What if I had gone into prostitution or any kind of hard life because my mother was not able to meet my needs? I’ll be happier if he never showed up again.

It depends on how we broke up — Gbenga Saluu, Video director

I will not allow her if the conditions that led to our break up is irredeemable. But if it’s otherwise, then there’ll be no big deal  if she decides to take part, after all we had this child together. Besides, the child in question may also request the presence of her mother if they’ve been on good terms, which I won’t disagree with.

The child decides — Godwin Okechukwu

I’ll give my child the liberty to make the choice. If I say no and my child insists that the mother  take part, it will be  unfair for me to refuse that child the joy of having the mother around. I have an experience where the child who was abandoned actually came looking for his mother and she was called upon to perform her responsibilities on the wedding day. In fact, he built a house and welcomed his mother to come and live with him. When a child becomes an adult, I believe he should be allowed to take his destiny into his hands.

Posted: at 23-04-2010 11:06 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- BECAREFUL at 24-04-2010 01:59 AM (14 years ago)
WELL I DON THINK SO BUT YOU CAN TELL US?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?
Posted: at 24-04-2010 01:59 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- oceannaija at 24-04-2010 10:10 AM (14 years ago)
No koment, just waka pass
Posted: at 24-04-2010 10:10 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- sabiti at 24-04-2010 05:31 PM (14 years ago)
hmmm
Posted: at 24-04-2010 05:31 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- spicygal08 at 24-04-2010 09:07 PM (14 years ago)
Later
Posted: at 24-04-2010 09:07 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- ebony_cutie at 25-04-2010 01:13 AM (14 years ago)
didnt read but YES....he/she is still the parent of that child and shld have a say except they disowned the child from birth
Posted: at 25-04-2010 01:13 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sa-fire at 25-04-2010 01:19 AM (14 years ago)
if he is d childs father then i have no choice d child needs both parents

Posted: at 25-04-2010 01:19 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Tuks at 25-04-2010 01:23 AM (14 years ago)
It wud definitely be a tin of joy 4d child 2c both parents present,n i fink d child deserves it...Cuz its one of d most important dayz of d child's life...
Posted: at 25-04-2010 01:23 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ksurrina at 25-04-2010 02:16 AM (14 years ago)
Yes I will allow him to see the child I brought up with the Grace and Love of God. Then his heart will be prickled and shame will over take him so much that he will start doing all what he never did before. If I have forgiven my ex why wouldn't I forgive something like this. It all based on forgiveness and so allowing him to will show that you have a heart of love.

Posted: at 25-04-2010 02:16 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- OB3ICE at 25-04-2010 05:35 AM (14 years ago)
Its the kid's decision

Posted: at 25-04-2010 05:35 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- black_samurai at 25-04-2010 01:30 PM (13 years ago)
Why not? The child belongs to both and if we are not in good terms, we'll just pretend every thing if fine, for the good of the child at least for that day!

Posted: at 25-04-2010 01:30 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- myragonza at 25-04-2010 02:13 PM (13 years ago)
not with a child yet....so don't know....lmao

Posted: at 25-04-2010 02:13 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bomsiluv at 27-04-2010 08:37 AM (13 years ago)
I will get him involve if our child agrees.
Posted: at 27-04-2010 08:37 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onchedu at 27-04-2010 08:48 AM (13 years ago)
If she's the child's mother, why not. She has her place in his life and that has little or nothing to do with me and her.
Posted: at 27-04-2010 08:48 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- roselyn1 at 27-04-2010 06:15 PM (13 years ago)
if me i will love to see my father but will not inherit any thing from my hand since he abandon me 4 my mum, good my mum will enjoy me in all things
Posted: at 27-04-2010 06:15 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- prettyange at 27-04-2010 10:13 PM (13 years ago)
So long as i shouldered d responsibilities alone, i wont dare let him go close 2 my child.
Posted: at 27-04-2010 10:13 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- onchedu at 27-04-2010 10:19 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: roselyn1 on 27-04-2010 06:15 PM
if me i will love to see my father but will not inherit any thing from my hand since he abandon me 4 my mum, good my mum will enjoy me in all things

Posted: at 27-04-2010 10:19 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- sesgylove at 28-04-2010 11:18 AM (13 years ago)
am still single but no matter what he/she is still alive i will allow him/her to attend my weeding but is just for that day and if they ask for forgivnes frm each other na dem sabi, just for the family of my husband to know that am frm good home and i will not let them kno wat is going on in my family but my husband to be will be aware.
Posted: at 28-04-2010 11:18 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- prince316 at 8-05-2010 08:31 PM (13 years ago)
i don go abeg
Posted: at 8-05-2010 08:31 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- docreala at 9-05-2010 06:50 PM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 9-05-2010 06:50 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Celebrity Bar Man, Cubana Chief Priest in Messy Land Tussle With Imo State Government

2. Owners of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Where Nigerians Are Barred Respond to FCCPC‘s Summons

3. I Brought Afrobeat to America, Even Before Wizkid & Drake's Collabo - Singer, Rotimi (VID)

4. PHOTOS: 8 Years Old Girl Severely Assaulted and Left Almost Blinded by Her Aunt in Lagos

5. Tanzania Shuts Down 5 Hydroelectric Stations to Reduce Excess Electricity in The National Grid

6. 'God Won't Forgive Me If I Forget Leaders Who Put Me In Office When...' - APC Gov. Aspirant,

7. Teenager, Abiodun Adewuyi Sentence To Three Years In Jail For Stealing Water Taps In Edo

8. VIDEO: Davido Lists Artistes He Loves To Collaborate With

9. "I’ll Have 11 Children Until My Late Son, Kambili Returns" – Actor, Yul Edochie Vows

10. Actress, Uche Ogbodo Advices Single Colleagues To Marry Themselves

11. Police Arrest Two Suspects Over killing Of Okada Rider In Niger State