SAY WHAT? Student Paid N321K For An iPhone X But Found The Box Filled With Concrete (Video)

Date: 30-04-2018 5:00 pm (6 years ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 30-04-2018 05:00 PM (6 years ago)

A student who paid hundreds of pounds for an iPhone box filled with concrete wants to stop others falling victim to the scam.
Newcastle University student Omar thought he had found a bargain when he discovered a new iPhone X for sale online for £650.
Little did he realise that he was about to become the victim of a fraudster who used concrete putty to make the empty box feel heavier.
Using the boot sale app Shpock, Omar arranged for the phone to be brought to his accommodation in central Newcastle on April 3 by a man called “Jamie”.
He handed over the £650 in cash and “Jamie” wrote out a receipt with an address in Sunderland.
Omar said
: “Once I gave him the money he kind of almost ran away.
“It was actually a present for my mum, that’s why I didn’t open it on the spot, I wanted to give it to her sealed.”
Omar, who has asked us not to share his full name, only realised what had happened once the scammer had driven off.
“Once I got back to my room I opened it and I soon realised it was a scam.
“The concrete he used matches the weight of the actual iPhone X.
“I have quite a lot of Apple products and I have held the box, I know what it weighs and it’s very similar.
“I had to pay my rent a week or two later so I struggled with that.
“I was not cautious enough and feel quite stupid about what I did.”
After contacting the police, officers took the box away for analysis but have so far been unable to trace the man responsible.
Omar, who is originally from London, believes the criminal is still operating on Shpock and has warned others to take care buying phones online.
He added: “£650 is quite a lot of money for a student or for anyone.
“I hope the person gets caught.”

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BsU10WZKba0" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BsU10WZKba0</a>

Posted: at 30-04-2018 05:00 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- EDDYPRINCE at 30-04-2018 05:21 PM (6 years ago)
Even in UK we still have Lazy youth. Is alright.
Posted: at 30-04-2018 05:21 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ruthie at 30-04-2018 06:12 PM (6 years ago)
u see yaself....only greedy people get scammed...enjoy ya iphone x
Posted: at 30-04-2018 06:12 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- osarobo62 at 30-04-2018 06:21 PM (6 years ago)
Grin Grin Grin  well, you can sell the concrete on ebay.
Posted: at 30-04-2018 06:21 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- slimber at 30-04-2018 06:41 PM (6 years ago)
Hmmm.mm too bad
Posted: at 30-04-2018 06:41 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- kacylee at 30-04-2018 07:56 PM (6 years ago)
abeg him no open am before him buy am... naija cant falll this kid of mugu

Posted: at 30-04-2018 07:56 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 30-04-2018 08:38 PM (6 years ago)
see show oo
Posted: at 30-04-2018 08:38 PM (6 years ago) | Grande Master
- fineboy77 at 30-04-2018 08:39 PM (6 years ago)
na wa o

Posted: at 30-04-2018 08:39 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- blowout at 30-04-2018 09:21 PM (6 years ago)
them don reach that side?
Posted: at 30-04-2018 09:21 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- james987 at 1-05-2018 01:52 AM (6 years ago)
K
Posted: at 1-05-2018 01:52 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- Upbendel at 1-05-2018 02:57 AM (6 years ago)
He should go for finger print scan, it might take a while but sure.
Posted: at 1-05-2018 02:57 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- celebritygee at 1-05-2018 11:09 AM (6 years ago)
 Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Guy men must chop na
Posted: at 1-05-2018 11:09 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- officynero at 1-05-2018 11:57 AM (6 years ago)
m-mmmh.. owk
Posted: at 1-05-2018 11:57 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac