All Federal Universities In Nigeria Are Now Free, Buhari Abolishes Tuition Fees

Date: 09-05-2018 6:19 pm (5 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 9-05-2018 06:19 PM (5 years ago)

While briefing State House correspondents after the Federal Executive Council  meeting held at Aso Rock Villa on Wednesday, the Minister of State for Education, Anthony Anwuka, stated stated that no federal university should charge tuition fees, saying the law does not allow it.

According to DailyTrust, the minister who made the disclosure after the cabinet meeting presided over by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, said the council discussed the school fees being charged by various universities “and noted that as of law, no federal university should charge tuition fees.”

He also stated that the council understood that some federal universities charged fees per course unit, adding that the President Muhamamdu Buhari-led government would investigate and stop this.

Anwuka said the National Universities Commission had been directed to clarify and update the council on the matter.

He said: “We understand some universities now charge fees per course unit and we are going to make sure that we investigate that properly and make it stop.

“Students can pay other auxiliary fees, but not in excess. Various university councils and management should be able to fix what fees students should pay that is affordable and acceptable to the students. That is the position.

“The federal government does not determine fees for private and state universities. It only takes responsibility for fees paid in the federal universities.”

The minister also disclosed that the council approved the insurance of provisional licence for the the establishment of Skyline University in Kano.

Stay updated with the latest Nigerian news from Information Nigeria

Posted: at 9-05-2018 06:19 PM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- DrSoba at 9-05-2018 06:29 PM (5 years ago)
2019 winning formula.
Posted: at 9-05-2018 06:29 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- angesco at 9-05-2018 06:30 PM (5 years ago)
ELECTION FEVER AFRICA STYLE!!!!!!!
Posted: at 9-05-2018 06:30 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mykie010 at 9-05-2018 06:53 PM (5 years ago)
Hypocrite, after insulting youths that they want everything free of charge including education, u are now making  a u turn quickly... Buhari, u have failed
Posted: at 9-05-2018 06:53 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- waffibabe at 9-05-2018 07:11 PM (5 years ago)
Watch out after election if he will not impose tuition  feed.election  bribe
Posted: at 9-05-2018 07:11 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dopygenius at 9-05-2018 07:15 PM (5 years ago)
Mr president,there is no need for this ,did we tell you we are complaining? You are a complete failure to the whole nation,common electricity you can not solve,poverty everywhere, abeg go sit down one corner, we still we not vote for u 2019.....nonsense.
Posted: at 9-05-2018 07:15 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- slimber at 9-05-2018 07:19 PM (5 years ago)
Hmmmm lies
Posted: at 9-05-2018 07:19 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- kacylee at 9-05-2018 07:50 PM (5 years ago)
election don dey come.... thieves in coat and agbada

Posted: at 9-05-2018 07:50 PM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kaposky at 9-05-2018 07:54 PM (5 years ago)
STUPID LIARS. DECEIVERS OF THE HIGHEST OTHER
Posted: at 9-05-2018 07:54 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 9-05-2018 08:37 PM (5 years ago)
Medicine after death. Campaign strategy.  Look at him like vulture.
Posted: at 9-05-2018 08:37 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- Soloyankee at 9-05-2018 08:53 PM (5 years ago)
See wayo APC don't come again oh. After they have use CHANGE to deceive people to vote for them, now they want to use FREE TUITIONS FEES to deceive people in 2019. Nigerians should wise up,  this is a tricks to deceive people to vote for them. After Election they will pose tuition fees on students again. Plz my people don't listen to them. This is a big SCAM
Posted: at 9-05-2018 08:53 PM (5 years ago) | Newbie
- crocatum at 9-05-2018 10:30 PM (5 years ago)
so glad people are aware of the evil tactics of evil leaders, keep it up, with time, we will have complete discretion to caution these wayward leaders, who suppose to seek ways to help and uplift the people and look out for their interest with concern about where we are going to and the generations.
People should learn about our history and should know the profile and history of every future presidential candidate.
Who is worthy to be the next president.
Posted: at 9-05-2018 10:30 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- crocatum at 9-05-2018 10:38 PM (5 years ago)
The system needs a fixing, and the ways to fix it will be created in the brains of the generation, the solutions will form in your brains,   and it will come to fruition Smiley Smiley Smiley.
Posted: at 9-05-2018 10:38 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Abogado at 10-05-2018 12:02 AM (5 years ago)
CAMPAIGN LOADING,YOU CAN FOOL SOME PEOPLE SOME TIME,BUT YOU CANNOT FOOL ALL THE PEOPLE ALL THE TIME.IDIOT
Posted: at 10-05-2018 12:02 AM (5 years ago) | Upcoming
- james987 at 10-05-2018 08:58 AM (5 years ago)
OGA Bubu abeg free things,make another hand run the nation small make we see as e go be. We need change. Keep your fake promises naija no need am.
Posted: at 10-05-2018 08:58 AM (5 years ago) | Hero
- nature7888 at 10-05-2018 09:25 AM (5 years ago)
See Lies
Posted: at 10-05-2018 09:25 AM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruthie at 10-05-2018 10:09 AM (5 years ago)
get your facts rights...it has always been like that, but people dont know....montula
Quote from: Mykie010 on  9-05-2018 06:53 PM
Hypocrite, after insulting youths that they want everything free of charge including education, u are now making  a u turn quickly... Buhari, u have failed
Posted: at 10-05-2018 10:09 AM (5 years ago) | Hero
- ruthie at 10-05-2018 10:14 AM (5 years ago)
these bloggers with wrong caption...this law has been there since and isnt new o....read well
Posted: at 10-05-2018 10:14 AM (5 years ago) | Hero
- pitav at 10-05-2018 11:11 AM (5 years ago)
Quote from: ruthie on 10-05-2018 10:14 AM
these bloggers with wrong caption...this law has been there since and isnt new o....read well

But why is it now that he just understood or come to realize, that it is in the law after 3 years of leadership. I think it's just another campaign strategy. ASU strike and upheaval in the university system LOADING. Has there been free education in this country as far as we can remember even when the so call law was enacted? Please Presido, leave the tuition fee, because you, your relative and politicians will not feel the bite if thing go HEYWIRE. We are not complaining sir. Tuition fee is not the problem with priority to be fixed for now.
Posted: at 10-05-2018 11:11 AM (5 years ago) | Upcoming
- ruthie at 10-05-2018 11:31 AM (5 years ago)
that is besides the point. the issue here is what they are doing is illegal and people are now aware of this. so, its now up to you what you do with the information.
Quote from: pitav on 10-05-2018 11:11 AM
But why is it now that he just understood or come to realize, that it is in the law after 3 years of leadership. I think it's just another campaign strategy. ASU strike and upheaval in the university system LOADING. Has there been free education in this country as far as we can remember even when the so call law was enacted? Please Presido, leave the tuition fee, because you, your relative and politicians will not feel the bite if thing go HEYWIRE. We are not complaining sir. Tuition fee is not the problem with priority to be fixed for now.
Posted: at 10-05-2018 11:31 AM (5 years ago) | Hero

1. Nigerian Man Who Hates Cake, Celebrates Birthday With Bread, Butter, And Akara

2. Man Arrested By Police For Allegedly Slaughtering 80Yr Old Boss, Wife In Their Abuja Home

3. Singer Portable Slams His Wife, Bewaji, For Excluding Him From Her Birthday Message To Herself

4. '4 Holy Spirits Came Down From Heaven To Rescue Me' -Tiktoker Who Accused Skibii Of Ritual Says

5. BBN Neo Cries Out Over Accusations Of His Having Affair With AY Makun's Estranged Wife, Mabel

6. Lawyer With BSc Drops A Memo For EFCC & Nigerian Lawmakers Over Naira Abuse Brouhaha

7. VIDEO: "I Am A Late Bloomer" - Lady Says As She Acquires Her First Car At 32

8. VID: “I’m Scared, EFCC Are Planning To Arrest Me Because Of VeryDarkMan”– Portable

9. VIDEO: Lady Cries Profusely After Boyfriend Of 6 Years Impregnated Her Best Friend

10. Nina Ivy Recounts Her Delivery Journey as She Celebrates Her Son’s 4th Birthday (Video)

11. Burna Boy Receives Accolade From Canadian Senate Over ‘Sold Out’ Concert

12. Lagos Driver Nabbed For Cramming 11 Children Into His Car Meant For Transporting 5 People

13. Davido Collaborates With UnitedMasters To Launch New Music Label

14. New Super Eagles Head Coach Will Be Announced in Two Weeks - Sports Minister Reveals

1. Body of Makeup Artiste, Abigail Frederick, Who D!ed in Boat Mishap With Jnr Pope Exhumed

2. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

3. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

4. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

5. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

6. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

7. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

8. Embarrassing Moment Lady Was Busted For Lying During Her Testimony in Church (Video)

9. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model

10. VIDEO: Five Cars And BRT Bus Collide in Multiple Crash Along Lagos-Ibadan Expressway