Ladies, Where You At? These Are The Dangers Of Fixing Artificial Eyelashes

Date: 28-05-2018 6:55 am (5 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 28-05-2018 06:55 AM (5 years ago)

A medical practitioner, Dr Ayopo Adeyemi, on Sunday warned women against the use of artificial eyelashes, commonly used to enhance beauty, in view of its grievous consequences.

Adeyemi told the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in Lagos that the health implications of fixing false eyelashes included corneal abrasions or ulcers, damage of the natural eyelashes, eye sensitivity, amongst others.

She said fixing of artificial eyelashes had become an increasingly popular trend in the fashion world as most ladies, regardless of the health implications, seek perfection and glamour.

According to her, natural eyelashes had its natural way of preventing dirt, sweat, bacteria and other foreign materials from entering into the eye by trapping and keeping out anything that comes near.

Adeyemi, a practitioner at Mushin General Hospital, Lagos, said false eyelashes would accommodate the dirt, thereby causing different forms of allergy and infections.

“The use of harmful chemicals on the eyelashes can cause them to fall out quicker than they naturally would and it is also dangerous when tools to be used come in close proximity to the eye.

“Artificial eyelashes can cause trauma to the eye either through the glue and other materials used or unprofessional operators; there could be introduction of microbes into the eye causing conjunctivitis of all types.

“The lashes themselves can cause allergic conjunctivitis trapping and retaining dirt around the eye,” she said.

Adeyemi advised ladies to minimise the rate at which they fix false eyelashes if they must retain healthy natural ones.

Posted: at 28-05-2018 06:55 AM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- nature7888 at 28-05-2018 09:19 AM (5 years ago)
Serious case
Posted: at 28-05-2018 09:19 AM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- angesco at 28-05-2018 10:06 AM (5 years ago)
Too much ARTIFICIALLY kills.

From FALSE EYELASHES to WEAVE-ON to FALSE B.U.M.S

Be HAPPY and GRATEFUL for the NATURAL things God has given you.
Posted: at 28-05-2018 10:06 AM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- slimber at 28-05-2018 12:42 PM (5 years ago)
To those that love fake eyelashes me am out
Posted: at 28-05-2018 12:42 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- Ultimer at 20-07-2021 12:24 PM (2 years ago)
I agree with the doctor, but as a makeup artist, I disagree on two things, first, the doctor is generalizing the use of all eyelash extensions when he should know that there are natural and treated eyelashes so that when they reach the client's eye they have no problem and the other is that the type of glue influences a lot, on the other hand, there are already more natural procedures such as natural eyelash extensions that with this type of eyelashes you do not run the risk of damaging your client.
Posted: at 20-07-2021 12:24 PM (2 years ago) | Newbie

1. Celebrity Bar Man, Cubana Chief Priest in Messy Land Tussle With Imo State Government

2. Owners of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Where Nigerians Are Barred Respond to FCCPC‘s Summons

3. I Brought Afrobeat to America, Even Before Wizkid & Drake's Collabo - Singer, Rotimi (VID)

4. Tanzania Shuts Down 5 Hydroelectric Stations to Reduce Excess Electricity in The National Grid

5. PHOTOS: 8 Years Old Girl Severely Assaulted and Left Almost Blinded by Her Aunt in Lagos

6. VIDEO: Davido Lists Artistes He Loves To Collaborate With

7. 'God Won't Forgive Me If I Forget Leaders Who Put Me In Office When...' - APC Gov. Aspirant,

8. ‘I Stopped Going To Gym Because Of Heaven’ – Actor Williams Uchemba

9. Israel DMW Reacts As Doctor Lists Benefits Of Marrying A Virgin

10. Teenager, Abiodun Adewuyi Sentence To Three Years In Jail For Stealing Water Taps In Edo

11. "I’ll Have 11 Children Until My Late Son, Kambili Returns" – Actor, Yul Edochie Vows

12. Police Arrest Two Suspects Over killing Of Okada Rider In Niger State

13. Actress, Uche Ogbodo Advices Single Colleagues To Marry Themselves

14. Daughter Of 14th Emir Of Kano Replies X User Who Described Her Husband As A ''Yoruba Man''

15. BREAKING: 119 Inmates Escape As Heavy Rains Destroy Suleja Prisons

16. "APC Is The Answer To Nigeria’s Problems" - Ganduje Claims

17. "I’ve Been Married for 20 Years But Never Cooked" – Mojisola Hunponu-Wusu

18. Igbos Contributed To The Development Of Lagos, Abuja, Other States -Enugu Ex Gov, Nwodo