PDP Presidential Candidate, Atiku Abubakar Picks Peter Obi As Running Mate, Nigerians React

Date: 12-10-2018 6:51 pm (5 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 12-10-2018 06:51 PM (5 years ago)

Former vice president, Atiku Abubakar, has selected ex-Governor of Anambra State, Peter Obi as his running mate.

This was the outcome of a meeting held in Abuja on Friday.

Atiku polled 1,532 votes in the Peoples Democratic Party [PDP] presidential primaries in Port-Harcourt, Rivers State, ahead of Sokoto State governor, Aminu Waziri Tambuwwal who polled 693 votes.

Insiders say Atiku made wide consultations before the decision.

An official announcement is being prepared by the Atiku campaign.

Obi had declared that the emergence of Atiku was a good sign for the country ahead of the 2019 general election.
Obi noted that although all the aspirants were qualified, the victory of Atiku showed that he was widely accepted.

He commended other contestants for putting up a brave contest and conducting themselves in a way befitting of true leaders.

Lamenting that Nigeria had derailed off the paths of development, Obi said that going by “Atiku’s wealth of experience, track record of wealth-creation, knack for identifying excellence among excellent people, detribalised nature and perfect understanding of the ills of the country”, the former VP had all it takes to restore the nation’s glory.

“Having personally followed him in the past six months, listened and interacted with him on a number of issues negatively affecting our society, I observe in him a person who has the burning desire to leave a footprint in the sands of time”, he added.

Meanwhile, Nigerians have reacted to the news. See some reactions below:

There have been mixed reactions on Twitter, with the news that Atiku Abubakar, the presidential candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), has picked the former Governor of Anambra State, Peter Obi, as his running mate ahead of the 2019 elections.

This was confirmed after both men met at Atiku’s home in Abuja on Friday to hold talks.

Obi arrived at Atiku’s residence in Asokoro neighbourhood around 3pm.

Atiku was considering at least five names, ahead of the Monday deadline imposed by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The former vice-president has now settled for Obi.

Here are some reactions:

@iam_angelraf: My real VIP is a running mate of our next president in 2019. Congratulation Mr “Peter Obi”

@jasonnneji: #2019#, nice move Atiku, Peter Obi will deliver the east for u

@Judeanikx:Today @atiku has shown that he means business in changing lives in Nigeria. “Peter Obi” and Atiku the best tag-team partners we need now. This is the best news I’ve heard since 2015. Nigeria will be great. @APCNigeria you can’t dig crap about “Peter Obi”

@MrAyeDee: No problem, if @atiku likes, he can have Peter Obi as his running, walking or even flying mate. Obiano is SOLIDLY on the ground in Anambra, and all back of the envelope calculations being equal, very strong certainty Anambra shall go with @OfficialAPCNg come 2019.

@PrinceOlanrew12:Picking Peter Obi is an error

@Iddybrown001: Yes, Peter Obi as Atiku’s running mate is a great deal. But, Atiku’s team needs to do lots of work by making sure the entire Igbo community in Yoruba land are solidly behind Atiku and would cast their vote in favour of PDP. Lots of work to do. Izz not social media som’tin!

@creativerealens: I just wish the presidential race is between Peter Obi and Osibanjo. I don’t like Atiku and Buhari

Posted: at 12-10-2018 06:51 PM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- smart61 at 12-10-2018 07:50 PM (5 years ago)
they are all brainless monkeys. It will end up as the same old story which is a common practice of all Nigerian politicians with empty promises. Old wine in new bottles.
Posted: at 12-10-2018 07:50 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tegonwa at 12-10-2018 08:05 PM (5 years ago)
Quote from: smart61 on 12-10-2018 07:50 PM
they are all brainless monkeys
I Wonder Why I Live In A Country With An Idiot As You,very Hopeless!These Are Two Successful Men,two Great Employers Of Labour,two Detribalized Men,two Men Who Are Respected Everywhere.Please Try To Catch This Wave Of Celebration And Get Ready To Welcome A New Dawn In Our Nigeria.
Posted: at 12-10-2018 08:05 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tegonwa at 12-10-2018 08:13 PM (5 years ago)
A Pastor With No Track Of Leadership Vs A Successful Entrepreneur Cum Best Governor Ever Known. A Killerman Soldier Cum Cow Rearer Vs A Successful Entrepreneur Cum Proven Leader.Nigeria Will Be Great Again!
Posted: at 12-10-2018 08:13 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 12-10-2018 08:30 PM (5 years ago)
Do I unity undivided
Posted: at 12-10-2018 08:30 PM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- maxzy277 at 13-10-2018 12:49 AM (5 years ago)
You will soon begin to see some useless and jobless youths supporting all this old lads to continue ruling them as ever
Posted: at 13-10-2018 12:49 AM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- midehcreeb at 13-10-2018 12:57 AM (5 years ago)
Quote from: maxzy277 on 13-10-2018 12:49 AM
You will soon begin to see some useless and jobless youths supporting all this old lads to continue ruling them as ever
abi ooo

Nkechi Blessing Say Actresses who Live Beyond their Means Do Dirty Things
https://www.creebhills.com/2018/10/nkechi-blessing-say-actresses.html
Posted: at 13-10-2018 12:57 AM (5 years ago) | Newbie
- Wazubia at 13-10-2018 05:00 AM (5 years ago)
NGOZI OKONJI IWEALA...WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER RUNNING MATE.
Posted: at 13-10-2018 05:00 AM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sandra78 at 13-10-2018 05:06 AM (5 years ago)
they are all brainless monkeys

This Chicken ass........... Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 13-10-2018 05:06 AM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- smart61 at 13-10-2018 06:31 AM (5 years ago)
Quote from: tegonwa on 12-10-2018 08:05 PM
I Wonder Why I Live In A Country With An Idiot As You,very Hopeless!These Are Two Successful Men,two Great Employers Of Labour,two Detribalized Men,two Men Who Are Respected Everywhere.Please Try To Catch This Wave Of Celebration And Get Ready To Welcome A New Dawn In Our Nigeria.
I wonder then why you are still living in that country if there are people you hate to live with. Libya will welcome you from zoo to jungle.
Posted: at 13-10-2018 06:31 AM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- smart61 at 13-10-2018 06:47 AM (5 years ago)
Quote from: sandra78 on 13-10-2018 05:06 AM
This Chicken ass........... Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
You are the chicken ass.  because you are allowing them to fool you. They are old wine in new bottles. What did Atiku do for Nigerians as vice president? You vote them into power, few months later you realise that you made a mistake voting for them. No Nigerian politicians that is trustworthy.
Posted: at 13-10-2018 06:47 AM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- crocatum at 13-10-2018 07:40 AM (5 years ago)
they are all brainless monkeys. It will end up as the same old story which is a common practice of all Nigerian politicians with empty promises. Old wine in new bottles.

Thank you jare.
Lets see, While Atiku nothing to recommend, but I heard Peter Obi did well in his state, I don't know how true is that.
Posted: at 13-10-2018 07:40 AM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kingcalors at 13-10-2018 07:40 AM (5 years ago)
No matter how BAD Atiku is, he is one million times better than Buhari. Both health, intelligence,  experience. How can we start comparing someone who WORKS with someone who WALKS?
Posted: at 13-10-2018 07:40 AM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- crocatum at 13-10-2018 08:12 AM (5 years ago)
At least he is better than Lifeless, walking dead, hmm, this Nigeria is funny, Atiku was accused of laundering money to Dubai, buying a mansion in the USA and other allegations when he was in customs, he was accused of stealing massively, it's on Wikipedia.
AAC, take it back.
Posted: at 13-10-2018 08:12 AM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- crocatum at 13-10-2018 08:14 AM (5 years ago)
But now people are praising him, haha, we would see the long-term effect of people acting based on sentiments, tribalism, and emotions, instead of objectivity.
Posted: at 13-10-2018 08:14 AM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- andyjames at 13-10-2018 10:37 AM (5 years ago)
Our mumu don do. Still same old CRIMINALS. And people are rejoicing.
Posted: at 13-10-2018 10:37 AM (5 years ago) | Upcoming
- eussiff at 13-10-2018 07:39 PM (5 years ago)
these ppl have nothing for the poor, they rule us and making ways for their generation to rule. they use everything for politics ppls life's not important as far as they achieve their aim. God help us
Posted: at 13-10-2018 07:39 PM (5 years ago) | Newbie