IPOB Set Feb. 16 As Date For Independence Referendum, Same Date As #2019Elections

Date: 29-01-2019 10:35 am (5 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 29-01-2019 10:35 AM (5 years ago)

The Indigenous People of Biafra (IPOB) has announced it will hold Biafra referendum shortly to usher in full restoration of the Biafra nation.

According to The SUN, IPOB said that its leader, Nnamdi Kanu, has relocated to the United Kingdom from his base in Israel, to perfect arrangements on Biafra referendum, scheduled to hold February 16.

The group said the referendum would ascertain the number of those who want Nigeria’s politics and those who want Biafra freedom, through a peaceful and democratic process for the sovereignty of the Biafra nation.

A statement by the Media and Publicity Secretary of IPOB, Emma Powerful, yesterday, said Kanu is currently meeting with IPOB high command in Europe to perfect plans for the referendum, which would go side by side with the February 16 presidential poll.

He also said, recently, Kanu had been holding “useful talks” with a number of diplomats on a successful referendum bids for Biafra, on February 16, 2019.

Powerful said: “We can assure you that majority of them have given their assurances and the proposal has received a tremendous support from many key allies, who see self-determination for Biafra as the best solution to the present Nigeria problem.

“We are sure of peaceful and rancour free referendum because international observers and media platforms will be on ground to monitor the exercise on that day. It is important we remind Nigerians, once again, that the ongoing political developments in the country only confirms that Nigeria cannot work together as one country, and Biafra must be a sovereign nation.

“We, the global family of IPOB, ably led by Nnamdi Kanu, wish to announce officially to the people of Biafra, both home and in the diaspora, friends of Biafra and lovers of freedom that our leader, Kanu is currently in London, to join his family and see his new born child he hadn’t seen because of his illegal incarceration and detention since 2015.

“He will also discuss with IPOB top family members in London, to finalise the way forward for Biafra referendum that will hold on February 16, 2019, alongside Nigeria’s presidential poll.

“On Friday last week, Kanu arrived Leeds Airport in England, where our deputy leader, Uche Mefor and other top IPOB members based in the UK received him. Kanu and other top IPOB high command are expected to meet with European Union ( EU) officials to gather more international support for the Biafra proposal.”

As President Muhammadu Buhari’s gear up to visit the business community of Aba, Abia State, today,  the Indigenous People of Biafra, IPOB, has ordered residents of the city to sit at home during the visit.

Buhari who is scheduled to visit the city would  commission the 9.5 Megawatts Independent Power Plant, at Ariaria Market in Osisioma Ngwa council area before going on to attend the rally of his party, the All Progressives Congress, APC, at the Enyimba stadium.

The directives of IPOB to the resident of the city has sparked reactions from Nigerians with many calling such move as ‘unneccesary’.

What they are saying:

IPOB seems to be wasting their time and deceiving themselves.
— #Geologist (@sambless_78) January 29, 2019

And I'm pitying you ni sha
The person directing you dey London dey flex… you dey here dey para for #biafra #ipob
If everything burst now where you wan run go!
Abunu omo!
— Baba Ijesha (@Cappy_01) January 29, 2019

Are u not tired of insult #ipob member oya you have win
— Abodunrin Lukman (@rajeem007) January 29, 2019

If you think I am lying, just confirm…. All IPOB agitators are all jobless. IPOB can't save you from joblessness, Change you approach to things. The approach of IPOB to things just shows lack of thinking and a show of selfishness…. Stop IPOB Kalu.

— Ifeanyi Kachikwu (@IfeanyiKachikwu) January 29, 2019

Posted: at 29-01-2019 10:35 AM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Mashbol at 29-01-2019 10:51 AM (5 years ago)
This jobless man has lost touch with reality, he's just an empty drum... Only a foolish fly follows a corpse into the grave   
Posted: at 29-01-2019 10:51 AM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- smart61 at 29-01-2019 01:02 PM (5 years ago)
 a complete dreamer. his refugee status in israel has expired hence he disappeared from there.
Posted: at 29-01-2019 01:02 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- crocatum at 29-01-2019 02:21 PM (5 years ago)
I just dey look una.
Posted: at 29-01-2019 02:21 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ttuswale at 29-01-2019 03:39 PM (5 years ago)
Smart guy the mumu in Nigeria will start to kill themselves
Posted: at 29-01-2019 03:39 PM (5 years ago) | Upcoming
- Doyourworst at 29-01-2019 07:32 PM (5 years ago)
Ndi Igbo are known to be wise people until Kanu was Born.
Posted: at 29-01-2019 07:32 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- OzohLawrence at 29-01-2019 09:25 PM (5 years ago)
I regret been a Yoruba man sorry to say,.we only make noise, not action, again, for those insulting and blackmailing IPOB, don't you ppl know that Nigerian resources comes out from there, so we have to treat them like king"
Posted: at 29-01-2019 09:25 PM (5 years ago) | Upcoming