He Was a Friend - Official Press Release From Nigeria Customs On Today's Shooting

Date: 17-02-2019 7:12 pm (5 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 17-02-2019 07:12 PM (5 years ago)

A certain group of travellers were stopped by men of the Nigeria custom service earlier today on suspicion of trafficking the regular stopped soon resulted into a scuffle which lead to the discharge of one of the officer's weapon and death of someone on the scene, the Nigerian customs has released a statement to clarify the situation and deny the murder, see the press release below:

The attention of Nigeria Customs Service has been drawn to a disturbing video going viral with conflicting narratives.
While it is painful and totally unnecessary to loose life in anti-smuggling operations, today at Shagamu interchange along Ijebu Ode, attempt to obstruct lawful performance of duty by passengers of a commercial bus (a white Toyota Hiace) suspected to be carrying bales of used clothing led to the death of a young man (Godwin) and serious injury of a Customs Officer, ASC1, Destiny Onebamho.
Contrary to some narratives, the young man was not a passenger of the bus but a good citizen who always come to fetch water for Customs Patrol men anytime they return to the base.
Preliminary finding indicate that it was during the skirmishes and struggle to disarm the Officer that the riffle discharged and hit the friend of the Customs (Godwin) who lost his life. The Service is already in touch with the bereaved family.
Sadly, it should be noted that while attention shifted to the dead and the wounded, the passengers who filmed with inciting commentaries boarded their vehicle and left, leaving the wrong impression that it was one of them that was killed.
While the wounded Officer is under intensive care at the hospital, the patrol team has been recalled to the office for further investigation.

DC Joseph Attah
Public Relations Officer
For: Comptroller-General of Customs

Here is a video of the incidence:
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KnwKeGL8On0" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KnwKeGL8On0</a>

Posted: at 17-02-2019 07:12 PM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- victorstic1 at 17-02-2019 07:23 PM (5 years ago)
This ur story no enter oga cant u listen to the woman crying and shouting or u think everyone is mumu
Posted: at 17-02-2019 07:23 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- omalichris at 17-02-2019 09:10 PM (5 years ago)
Bloody liars.   Just look at a useless  statement from these goats
Posted: at 17-02-2019 09:10 PM (5 years ago) | Newbie
- zumata at 17-02-2019 09:34 PM (5 years ago)
Does he look like a boy that fetch water?a well dressed man with good shoe that your calling errand boy.Oga you no sabi liar abeg.

Posted: at 17-02-2019 09:34 PM (5 years ago) | Upcoming
- dareper at 17-02-2019 09:58 PM (5 years ago)
Thunder fire u there OGA. That guy is a traveler. U re insane!!!
Posted: at 17-02-2019 09:58 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- priston at 17-02-2019 10:19 PM (5 years ago)
they will kill his whole family too and nobody will feel for them mad custom useless boss ,liars that is why the country is suffering having bastard that is supposed to guide the citizen killing them ,owo ti baye iya won je.
Posted: at 17-02-2019 10:19 PM (5 years ago) | Newbie
- Brave5500 at 17-02-2019 10:21 PM (5 years ago)
U guys tink u can continue to fool d people right... He was a friend but d video proof otherwise we can hear d woman shouting and cry, indicating they all came from abroad and ur so called men was asking for #5000 which u have ur own share, this is Y u seat ur ass and cover up d truth... U people might b above civilian by intimidating them but remember U are not d owner of ur LIFE! Cry
Posted: at 17-02-2019 10:21 PM (5 years ago) | Upcoming
- kp45 at 17-02-2019 10:28 PM (5 years ago)
Hmmm speechless now o
Posted: at 17-02-2019 10:28 PM (5 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- SweetDaddy1 at 17-02-2019 11:45 PM (5 years ago)
The dead man was a friend of Customs why the Nigerians travelling on the roads in their Country are enemy of corrupt Customs gang members.
    Only in Nigeria you see road blocks by Customs, Police, Army, Armed robbers, Terrorists, Kidnappers, Road safety Corps, Political Thugs, Agberos etc.
    When will Nigeria become a Country among the Nations of the World... Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry
Posted: at 17-02-2019 11:45 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tonyigho at 18-02-2019 12:28 AM (5 years ago)
So the girl did not know the person or people she is travelling with right Mr custom liar oga? Do you think we are fools or what? Full grow up  man well dressed with good shoes is the one fetching water as errand boy abi ? For lying to to public u have to be sack.
Posted: at 18-02-2019 12:28 AM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- awobaba1963 at 18-02-2019 12:39 AM (5 years ago)
Quote from: tonyigho on 18-02-2019 12:28 AM
So the girl did not know the person or people she is travelling with right Mr custom liar oga? Do you think we are fools or what? Full grow up  man well dressed with good shoes is the one fetching water as errand boy abi ? For lying to to public u have to be sack.
Posted: at 18-02-2019 12:39 AM (5 years ago) | Newbie
- awobaba1963 at 18-02-2019 12:47 AM (5 years ago)

If your story is true then no evil will befall you but if your story is to cover up then just as this innocent guy was killed so shall every one in your entire family  be wasted,
so shall it be the the power that controls the day and night. you better retrace your lies before you bring misfortune to your family]
Posted: at 18-02-2019 12:47 AM (5 years ago) | Newbie
- proly at 18-02-2019 04:51 AM (5 years ago)
So sad this custom officers they are all thief ...even at the airport they beg money...send goods to Nigeria they share your goods at the port...but send it to other african countries your good is intact
Posted: at 18-02-2019 04:51 AM (5 years ago) | Hero
- emma4love3 at 18-02-2019 06:32 AM (5 years ago)
am short of words now, because this custom oga just spoil everything, can you imagine how they change the whole story... i have the video, the officer cock his rifle and release a shot immediately at a close range and the woman started shouting.....well the truth wil come out soon just watch and see
Posted: at 18-02-2019 06:32 AM (5 years ago) | Hero
- wenwenwen at 18-02-2019 09:08 AM (5 years ago)
Customs, you are disgrace to Nigeria.  Are you supposed to be on highway? Are the goods not coming out from the port? Where they not check before released.  Na wao for Nigeria.  Hungry people.  God will judge you all.
Posted: at 18-02-2019 09:08 AM (5 years ago) | Newbie
- allenspike at 18-02-2019 09:41 AM (5 years ago)
In his statement, he said "they were trying to disarm a custom officer", so are you telling me he corked and fired a passenger by mistake or hypnosis... If there was no video evidence now, that's how you'll make us believe your lies

Posted: at 18-02-2019 09:41 AM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac