"Marriage Vows, For Better For Worse Is Unscriptural And A Curse" - Bishop, David Oyedepo Reveals

Date: 26-03-2019 2:38 pm (5 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 26-03-2019 02:38 PM (5 years ago)

Bishop David Oyedepo of Winners Chapel has stated that marriage vows which people recite when they are tying the knot are a curse.

According to the clergyman, making vows by saying “for better for worse” is tantamount to calling on curses on one’s head. Oyedepo also revealed that such marriage vows are unscriptural.

The pastor was quoted by a Facebook page as saying:

All that
“for better for worse, in sickness and in health”
, that people recite as marriage vows is unscriptural. It is a curse.

Stay tuned as we update you with the rest of the pastor’s sermon from where the above quote was curled

Posted: at 26-03-2019 02:38 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- olowoinlionsden at 26-03-2019 03:30 PM (5 years ago)
Hope this Man of God understand the phrase 'for better or worse ' simply means 'In and out of Season' The modern Christan does not want any hardship,  hence he goes round to twist the Word of God to suit his purpose.  Hence you hear the phrases "My God is not a poor God,  Prosperity is mine,  No evil shall come my way",  Jesus Christ had the option of not riding on a borrowed  ass to Jerusalem,  He came to suffer in order to redeem Mankind. It behoves we His followers to at least get out of our Comfort Zone occasionally  to actually attempt to fulfill our much chorused "I want to be like Jesus Christ" anthem.
Posted: at 26-03-2019 03:30 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- james987 at 26-03-2019 07:02 PM (5 years ago)
Somehow we christians pray for the best and not for the worse. I agree with him
Posted: at 26-03-2019 07:02 PM (5 years ago) | Hero
- EMMYBOSS at 26-03-2019 08:06 PM (5 years ago)
For better, for worse is a normal phenomenon (fact) as far as Life on Earth is concerned.  Naturally, we don't have power to control what comes our ways, hence, we pray for good health, sometimes sickness comes etc.  The phrase "for better, for worse" to me, simply means whatever comes my/our ways, "I/WE SHALL NOT BE MOVED OR SHAKEN"  It doesn't mean you are bringing curses upon yourself.   
Posted: at 26-03-2019 08:06 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- busa04 at 26-03-2019 09:16 PM (5 years ago)
I hope Pastor is not encouraging those who are feeble minded. Men/Women will begin to leave marriages now since MOG has spoken without understanding what he is saying. Naturally no man/woman wants to suffer, but somehow suffering sets in and sometimes illness and when these enemies come people tend to abandoned their spouses either because they have terminal disease or are not able to make the kind of money their partners expect of them. So, when a vow is taken for better for worse is to be sure that when one spouse is helpless, the other should be able to assist because no condition is permanent. He the man of God that is talking like this, if today his riches fall down like Job, his wife might run away and he will not like it or better still if his wife becomes paralyzed, he will be the first to take another wife. So, I strongly disagree with pastor on this statement he made. This is not what men of God should be preaching. Jesus focused on REPENTANCE and I expect all men of God to preach more about repentance especially now that evil has taken root in our dear country!
Posted: at 26-03-2019 09:16 PM (5 years ago) | Upcoming
- ejikeiyo at 26-03-2019 09:32 PM (5 years ago)
wasted generation
Posted: at 26-03-2019 09:32 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kennynaija at 26-03-2019 10:31 PM (5 years ago)
just looking Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Posted: at 26-03-2019 10:31 PM (5 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Baye77 at 27-03-2019 10:18 AM (5 years ago)
I see...
Posted: at 27-03-2019 10:18 AM (5 years ago) | Hero

1. "No Woman Will Cheat On You If You...." -Gabonese Lady Says

2. Comedian, Macaroni Berates Wizkid For Shading Veteran Producer, Don Jazzy

3. Secondary School Student Allegedly Commits Suicide Over Unwanted Pregnancy

4. Meet Ndubuisi Egbo The First-Ever Nigerian Coach To Lead an European Team To A League Title

5. Court Slams N30 Million Damages Against Linda Ikeji Over Libel

6. Kizz Daniel Slams Troll Who Advised Him To Tread Carefully Around Wizkid

7. 2024 Will Be Tough Year For Afrobeat Apart From BurnaBoy, Davido, Others Are in Trouble -Paul O

8. 2024 Will Be a Tough Year For Afrobeat - Nigerian Music Executive, Paul Okoye

9. Nollywood Has Produced 274 Films in First Quarter of 2024 — Censors Board

10. Dem Mention Money, You Sef Dey Talk - Kizz Daniel Slams Tekno Over 'Buga' Royalties

11. BREAKING: Finidi George Gets NFF's Nod As New Super Eagles Coach

12. 2 Workers Die After Bridge Under Construction Collapse In Ebonyi

13. 52Yr Old Man, Hamisu Mamuda Arrested For Allegedly Trying To Smuggle Drugs Into Kano Prison

14. Tinubu Should Consider Second Term, He's Betraying El-Rufai, Bello – Atiku’s Ex-Aide Warns

15. Minister Adebayo Adelabu Says Nigerian Government Requires $10B Annually To Revive Power Sector

1. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

2. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

3. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

4. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

5. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

6. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

7. Drama As Actress, Toyin Abraham Ajeyemi Clashes With Area Boys On Movie Set (Video)

8. VIDEO: Singer, Davido Becomes First to Own The $500,000 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre

9. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)

10. "Polygamy Is Allowed In Celestial Church, Our Prophets Can Marry Many Wives" — Oshoffa's Son