Cross River Workers Protest Over Early Payment Of May Salary

Date: 01-05-2019 5:29 pm (4 years ago) | Author: Olusanya Akinrinola
- at 1-05-2019 05:29 PM (4 years ago)

Workers in Cross River have protested the payment of May salary on the first day of the month by Governor Ben Ayade.
Mr Ayade has consistently paid the May salary on the first day of the month in the last three years of his tenure.

But speaking to journalists, the state chairman of the Trade Union Congress (TUC), Clarkson Otu, said workers and the leadership of labour were unhappy over the early payment of salary.

According to the labour leader, even though the government means well, labour was nonetheless not happy with the situation.

“As labour leaders we do not support early salaries payment. We have told the governor that it is not proper. April salary was paid only last week and on May 1st he pays May salary.
“We are surprised he still paid early this month in spite of our protest. We will continue to engage him on that,” he said.

Speaking in a similar vein, the state Chairman of the Nigerian Labour Congress (NLC), Ben Ukpepi, decried the early payment of salaries by the state government.
Mr Ukpepi said labour would engage with the governor with a view to putting an end to early payments of salaries in the state.
Meanwhile, Mr Ayade has expressed his administration’s readiness to implement the new minimum wage recently signed into law by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Speaking through the Secretary to the State Government, Tina Agbor, at the May Day rally in Calabar, Mr Ayade pledged to pay the new wage once the modalities was worked out.
In spite of the state receiving one of the least revenue allocation from the federation account and being the third most indebted state, Mr Ayade always pay civil servant early.

Posted: at 1-05-2019 05:29 PM (4 years ago) | Hero
- negyy2010 at 1-05-2019 05:51 PM (4 years ago)
Them pay una  now, una dey complain if dem no pay una, una go complain Nigerians una really know waiting una want?  Tongue
Posted: at 1-05-2019 05:51 PM (4 years ago) | Newbie
- okoknaija at 1-05-2019 06:43 PM (4 years ago)
This is pure madness and arrant non-sense. You are protesting for been paid your money early!!!!!!!!!!!!!! pure madness.
What is wrong with our people! or am i misreading or missing some important info.........!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 1-05-2019 06:43 PM (4 years ago) | Newbie
- Doyourworst at 1-05-2019 06:50 PM (4 years ago)
Quote from: okoknaija on  1-05-2019 06:43 PM
This is pure madness and arrant non-sense. You are protesting for been paid your money early!!!!!!!!!!!!!! pure madness.
What is wrong with our people! or am i misreading or missing some important info.........!!!!!!!!!!

Wetin dey worry our people?.....ok, make dem refund the money!. Stupid idiots.
Posted: at 1-05-2019 06:50 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tonyigho at 1-05-2019 11:27 PM (4 years ago)
They are afraid that they will spend the money finish before the July salary will be pay and some of them will hungry.
Posted: at 1-05-2019 11:27 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kennynaija at 1-05-2019 11:29 PM (4 years ago)
funny

Posted: at 1-05-2019 11:29 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kormeijama at 2-05-2019 07:14 AM (4 years ago)
The African is just a hopeless being. Any difference between  may 1st and  31st. Well unions these days have got no agenda, so picking up a useless fight is normal for them.
Posted: at 2-05-2019 07:14 AM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac