Give Monarchs Security Votes, Kidnapping, Banditry Will Become Things Of Past – Oluwo Tells FG

Date: 21-05-2019 9:13 am (4 years ago) | Author: Olusanya Akinrinola
- at 21-05-2019 09:13 AM (4 years ago)

Oluwo of Iwoland in Osun State, Oba Adbulrasheed Akanbi, has called on the Federal Government to make provision for security votes for the traditional institution to help fight insecurity in the country.

Akanbi, who spoke to journalists in Osogbo yesterday, said the traditional rulers were closer to the grassroots and were privy to the intelligence needed to curb crimes in communities.

He said: “Traditional rulers should be empowered to domesticate security at the grassroots which constitutes higher percent of the hideouts for kidnappers. Co-opting monarchs will unavoidably decimate security threat.

“Traditional institution should be given security vote to engage local hunters, vigilante, the Agbekoyas, trusted local Odua Peoples Congress (OPC), among others.

“In my own capacity, I am trying my utmost best in my domain but the institution I represent deserves security funding to act more.

“I have personally arrested a criminal in my domain and handed him over to the police. I know the nooks and crannies of my city. No criminal can survive with illegality here. I have instilled the fear in them and this has decimated atrocities in Iwo. I am ready to do more if empowered by engaging trusted local security details.

“The police saddled with this primary responsibility is underfunded and under staffed. Nigeria of over 200 million population is parading about 300,000 policemen. The police should be equipped with modern tools and should be paid good salaries and as well be assured of job security to motivate them for maximal performance.

“Government should provide surveillance helicopters to aid technical detective assignments by the police, most especially when searching kidnappers’ hideouts.”

Posted: at 21-05-2019 09:13 AM (4 years ago) | Hero
- Baye77 at 21-05-2019 09:40 AM (4 years ago)
We shd really try communal policing to tackle this issue..
Posted: at 21-05-2019 09:40 AM (4 years ago) | Hero
- 1ecsam at 21-05-2019 09:48 AM (4 years ago)
O k

Posted: at 21-05-2019 09:48 AM (4 years ago) | Newbie
- dleg at 21-05-2019 12:20 PM (4 years ago)
NOT THIS ERA. That can only happen in the time of PDP where the money are being shared.
Posted: at 21-05-2019 12:20 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 21-05-2019 02:01 PM (4 years ago)
you dey look for money wey you wan take marry extra young girls
Posted: at 21-05-2019 02:01 PM (4 years ago) | Hero