ARTICLE: Odumegwu Ojukwu And The Biafra Dream, A 'Tactical Error' By Ex Gov. Osoba

Date: 28-06-2019 9:36 am (4 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 28-06-2019 09:36 AM (4 years ago)

Odumegwu Emeka Ojukwu reads a speech as he declares the independence of Biafra on May 30th, 1967. Fifty-two years after the first shot of the Nigerian Civil War, one-time governor of Ogun State, Olusegun Osoba, has said the decision to secede was a “tactical error” on the part of Chukwuemeka Odumegwu-Ojukwu.

Osoba, in his upcoming memoir, ‘Battlelines: Adventures in Journalism and Politics,’ scheduled for presentation on July 8, 2019 at Eko Hotels and Suites, Lagos, said:

“the day he announced that secession, I wept because I saw it as the end to the massive support that Ojukwu had generated, not just among journalists, but among the generality of Nigerians.”

He added: “Secession was one tactical error on Ojukwu’s side. It made him lose some level of sympathy from those who believed that the Igbo had not been well-treated in terms of the massacre in the North then. The feeling that we should go back to the kind of federation conferred by the 1963 Constitution where each state controlled its resources and then contributed reasonably to the centre was strong. Then the centre collected royalties from the mineral resources that were available in those areas.
“If we had had that kind of constitution, maybe Nigeria would have been better than what we have now, because at that time, the East under Dr. Michael Opara was developing reasonably well. Opara was building road networks. The Uli-Ihiala was one of the beautiful roads that Opara built.”

While saying that his generation of journalists totally supported the rebel leader on his position that the country needed to have a confederation because Nigerians generally abhorred the immoral principle of ‘monkey dey work, baboon dey chop’, Osoba noted that to have allowed the situation to degenerate into a civil war was most painful.

Posted: at 28-06-2019 09:36 AM (4 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Knowman at 28-06-2019 11:47 AM (4 years ago)
Saboteur called it a " tactical error " , to me I call it " attempt to redeem and save the ibos from calamity befalling them" . Ever since he tried and failed, there has been diplomacy,  meetings , pleadings with the hausas to let igbo go yet it keep falling on deaf ears. Same people who called ibos bad names , ask them to go out of their states still turn around to say " one stupid nigeria" .  They kill you and ask you not to cry
Posted: at 28-06-2019 11:47 AM (4 years ago) | Upcoming
- fineboy77 at 28-06-2019 12:17 PM (4 years ago)
Quote from: Knowman on 28-06-2019 11:47 AM
Saboteur called it a " tactical error " , to me I call it " attempt to redeem and save the ibos from calamity befalling them" . Ever since he tried and failed, there has been diplomacy,  meetings , pleadings with the hausas to let igbo go yet it keep falling on deaf ears. Same people who called ibos bad names , ask them to go out of their states still turn around to say " one stupid nigeria" .  They kill you and ask you not to cry
You just said it all....and it really baffles me how they hate the Ibos that much yet wont allow them to go !

Posted: at 28-06-2019 12:17 PM (4 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- hardwayonlyway at 29-06-2019 05:29 AM (4 years ago)
OSOBA ,  YOU ARE A COWARD.
Posted: at 29-06-2019 05:29 AM (4 years ago) | Newbie

1. Popular Content Creator, Chidike Emmanuel Shot Dead In Abuja

2. BREAKING: Police Arrest Singer, Portable Over Alleged G-Wagon Debt

3. 5 Soldiers Reportedly Killed, Others Injured As Bandits Attack Military Camp In Katsina

4. ISWAP Founder's Son Surrenders To Nigerian Security In Borno

5. Lady Recounts Her Horrifying Ordeal With One-Chance Robbers in Lagos

6. VIDEO: Singer, Reekado Banks Shows Off His Pending Multimillion Naira Project

7. How Herdsmen Kill Pregnant Woman, 10 Others In Benue

8. Man, Elisha Allagedly Kills His Girlfriend, Chops Up Her Body In Akwa Ibom

9. 17 BDC Operators Sentenced To 6 months Imprisonment For Operating Without Licence In Kano

10. Breaking: Oil Magnate, Sholaye Jeremi, Loses Mother

11. JUST IN: ASUU Threatens Nationwide Strike

12. VID: Nigerian Man Cries Out After Delta Govt Demolishes His N100m Building Structure

13. 23 Bandits Reportedly Killed In Zamfara Rivalry Clash

14. I’m Single But Have Broken A Few Hearts Says Singer, Ayra Starr

1. POLITICAL TURMOIL UNVEILED! 'Wike Was Instrumental To Peter Obi's Exit From PDP' - Paul Ibe

2. Peter Obi Visits Atiku in Abuja as Speculation of Unified Front For 2027 Elections Intensifies

3. Wetin She Wear - Movie Producer, Stanley Nwoko Mocks Destiny Etiko Over Her AMVCA Outfit

4. Lady Raises Alarm Over State of Actor, Nonso Diobi After Spotting Him in Her Area (Video)

5. Reactions as Naira Marley and Sam Larry Were Spotted Vibing to Portable's Diss Track About Them

6. Nigeria Rapper, Dremo Hits Back At Sarkodie’s Shade Of Nigeria’s Big 3 Artists With Diss Track

7. Afrobeat Singer, Davido Blasts Popular Blog For Calling Him “Papa Ifeanyi”

8. 'We Kidnap, Extort & Rap3 Male Victims' - Gang Of Homosegxwal Criminals Arrested In Lekki

9. EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Faces Visa Ban Threat Over Yahaya Bello's Case

10. Man Shoots Stepmom Who Tried To Give Him Hug During Graduation Ceremony