Nurse Who Revealed Identity Of HIV Client Ejimbe Lilliane Is Under Fire

Date: 13-07-2019 10:21 pm (4 years ago) | Author: Olusanya Akinrinola
- at 13-07-2019 10:21 PM (4 years ago)

Ejimbe Lilliane, Nigerian Nurse Who Revealed HIV Positive Clients Identity In Port Harcourt Hospital Under Fire

Coalition of Civil Society Network about AIDS in Nigeria (COCSNAN) on Saturday called for immediate penalisation of a nurse for stigmatising HIV positive clients.

Such action is a violation of the 2014 Anti Stigma Act signed into law in February 2015 by former President Goodluck Jonathan.

Mr Ikenna Nwakamma, the first Co-Chairman of the coalition, described the action of the nurse as “flagrant violation of the anti stigma law.”

Nwakamma, who restated the call that the nurse be penalised, stressed that it would serve as deterrent to others.

He urged appropriate authorities to invoke the wrath of the law on the health worker and others who stigmatise patients.

He said “Coalition of Civil Society Network about AIDS in Nigeria demands that justice be served on nurse with Port Harcourt hospital.

“She disclosed the identity and made stigmatising statement about HIV positive client.”

The civil society co-chairman called for collective condemnation of stigmatisation, saying it was a constitutional breach.

He explained that it was time for health workers, particularly the union of nurses, to bring the woman to book to restore confidence of people living with the virus.

Posted: at 13-07-2019 10:21 PM (4 years ago) | Hero
- fineboy77 at 13-07-2019 11:15 PM (4 years ago)
I knew it would come to this.

Posted: at 13-07-2019 11:15 PM (4 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ngfineface at 14-07-2019 02:39 AM (4 years ago)
This people are talking trash. It's only in Naija that HIV patients hide identities. In developed countries, it's a crime to do so. You openly tell people about your status so that they know how to associate with you and you also have your community and live well. Are they now saying it's good to hide and share the virus? Awon were!
Posted: at 14-07-2019 02:39 AM (4 years ago) | Hero
- sholxy at 14-07-2019 04:04 AM (4 years ago)
Quote from: ngfineface on 14-07-2019 02:39 AM
This people are talking trash. It's only in Naija that HIV patients hide identities. In developed countries, it's a crime to do so. You openly tell people about your status so that they know how to associate with you and you also have your community and live well. Are they now saying it's good to hide and share the virus? Awon were!

No, that's not true. Infact it is only in Nigeria that a nurse will disclose patient's status to others and stigmatize  patient without facing any law. In foreign countries, eg USA, a professional nurse has NO right to disclose patient status to anyone neither is he/ she allowed to  share it with colleagues in order to make fun of this  patient. However, a nurse can give feedback to his/her co worker concerning  patient status if  the nurse is about to be relieved from the shift because the next nurse or nurses will need feedback in order to continue with the patient treatment. Patient has the right to disclose his/ her status to whosoever he/she want but in a situation mentioned here, the nurse  deserve to face the law.
Posted: at 14-07-2019 04:04 AM (4 years ago) | Newbie
- mikelu at 14-07-2019 08:24 AM (4 years ago)
Quote from: ngfineface on 14-07-2019 02:39 AM
General medical conditions of anyone is private. If you know what you are talking about, in the developed countries, you mentioned even for work purpose your employer  has to request in writing your full consent which you have a right to consent to or not depending on the nature of the job.
   The nurse should be locked up for all I know. In the developed country you mentioned, even celebrities gets backlash for coming forward to make their HIV status know.
Posted: at 14-07-2019 08:24 AM (4 years ago) | Newbie
- Henrybobo at 14-07-2019 10:05 AM (4 years ago)
I said it.. knew these would happen
Posted: at 14-07-2019 10:05 AM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- horizontal at 14-07-2019 02:03 PM (4 years ago)
wahala....
Posted: at 14-07-2019 02:03 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac