DR Congo Health Minister Resigns AS Responsibility To Manage Ebola Outbreak Taken Away From Him

Date: 23-07-2019 7:12 am (4 years ago) | Author: Olusanya Akinrinola
- at 23-07-2019 07:12 AM (4 years ago)

DR Congo's Health Minister, Oly Ilunga Kalenga has resigned after the responsibility for managing the country's Ebola outbreak was taken away from him by President Felix Tshisekedi.

Kalenga's resignation letter was shared on Twitter in protest to the decision to remove the Ebola response directly from his supervision and reassigning it to a multi-disciplinary team that would report directly to him.  According to him, this might "risk creating harmful confusion and cacophony".

"As a result of your decision to place the response to the Ebola outbreak under your direct supervision ... I hereby submit my resignation as health minister," Ilunga said.
"As in any war, because that is what this is, there cannot be several centres of decision-making for risk of creating confusion," he added.

He criticised the outside pressure to deploy a second Ebola vaccine manufactured by US-based firm Johnson & Johnson.
"It would be fanciful to think that the new vaccine proposed by actors, who have shown an obvious lack of ethics by voluntarily hiding important information from medical authorities, could have a significant impact on the control of the current outbreak," he said.

Kalenga also issued guidance against the use of new vaccines against Ebola, stating that the Merck vaccine currently in use is the only one that has proven to be effective. This is coming after the World Health Organization declared 'Ebola' as a global health emergency.

Posted: at 23-07-2019 07:12 AM (4 years ago) | Hero
- Baye77 at 23-07-2019 08:28 AM (4 years ago)
He has his point ..could have still rendered his services tho..
Posted: at 23-07-2019 08:28 AM (4 years ago) | Hero
- KOSHIMANA at 23-07-2019 01:06 PM (4 years ago)
Hmmm na person b dat,if na my country he go carry am go religion & tribalism angle
Posted: at 23-07-2019 01:06 PM (4 years ago) | Upcoming

1. Celebrity Bar Man, Cubana Chief Priest in Messy Land Tussle With Imo State Government

2. Owners of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Where Nigerians Are Barred Respond to FCCPC‘s Summons

3. ‘I Stopped Going To Gym Because Of Heaven’ – Actor Williams Uchemba

4. Tanzania Shuts Down 5 Hydroelectric Stations to Reduce Excess Electricity in The National Grid

5. PHOTOS: 8 Years Old Girl Severely Assaulted and Left Almost Blinded by Her Aunt in Lagos

6. Israel DMW Reacts As Doctor Lists Benefits Of Marrying A Virgin

7. I Brought Afrobeat to America, Even Before Wizkid & Drake's Collabo - Singer, Rotimi (VID)

8. VIDEO: Davido Lists Artistes He Loves To Collaborate With

9. Daughter Of 14th Emir Of Kano Replies X User Who Described Her Husband As A ''Yoruba Man''

10. "I’ve Been Married for 20 Years But Never Cooked" – Mojisola Hunponu-Wusu

11. BREAKING: 119 Inmates Escape As Heavy Rains Destroy Suleja Prisons

12. "I’ll Have 11 Children Until My Late Son, Kambili Returns" – Actor, Yul Edochie Vows

13. 'God Won't Forgive Me If I Forget Leaders Who Put Me In Office When...' - APC Gov. Aspirant,

14. Actress, Uche Ogbodo Advices Single Colleagues To Marry Themselves

15. "APC Is The Answer To Nigeria’s Problems" - Ganduje Claims

16. Police Arrest Two Suspects Over killing Of Okada Rider In Niger State

17. Teenager, Abiodun Adewuyi Sentence To Three Years In Jail For Stealing Water Taps In Edo

18. “My Album Is Coming To Save You All From Shitty Music” – Zinoleesky Tells Nigerians

19. BREAKING: Tragedy As 4 Year Old Boy Dies In Abuja School Amid Suspicion Of Foul Play

20. Igbos Contributed To The Development Of Lagos, Abuja, Other States -Enugu Ex Gov, Nwodo

10. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So