Militants: We’ll Start Oil War Soon

Date: 16-06-2010 7:44 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 16-06-2010 07:44 PM (13 years ago)

• Masked Ateke Tom militants hold their guns as they arrive at their camp, in Okrika, Rivers State. Ateke Tom is the leader of the Niger Delta Vigilante, an ethnic Ijaw militia in the Niger Delta region of Nigeria. Many militant groups in the delta say they are fighting for the control of government oil wells. PHOTO: AFP.

A faction of Nigeria’s main militant group in the Niger Delta on Tuesday complained of poor reward after its surrender, warning the President Goodluck Jonathan-led Federal Government that  it might return to the creeks to fight if the situation continued.

The militants believe the Federal Government’s amnesty programme has failed following the death of President Umaru  Yar’Adua who initiated it.

“We are now poor people on the streets. If government does not look into our grievances, we are ready to go back to the creeks to fight,” a spokesman of the faction of the Movement for the Emancipation of the Niger Delta (MEND), Mark Anthony, told AFP.

Some 20,000 former armed rebels who were fighting for a fairer share of oil revenues to go to local communities, laid down their arms under an amnesty deal in the restive oil-rich region between August and October last year.

Under the deal, the government promised to provide amenities in the region, jobs and re-train the ex-militants.

“The said amnesty has failed as the initiator of the amnesty died,” said a statement issued by ex-militant “general” John Togo, leader of the group, and emailed to AFP.

He was referring to former president Umaru Yar’Adua, who died on May 5 after a protracted heart ailment.

Togo said he was speaking for himself, and nine other ex-militant “generals.” Togo complained that since he and other “generals” embraced amnesty they were being paid 65,000 naira (430 dollars, 348 euros) monthly, the same as their soldiers, describing the situation as “an insult and direct slap on the faces of ex-generals”.

“How can a general in Nigerian army barracks be made to receive the same salary with infantry?” he asked in the statement.He alleged that government had withdrawn the “empowerment contracts” it gave to the ex-militants last year while only a few ex-militant “generals” enjoy government and oil companies’ patronage.

If this situation is not redressed “I want to say that is going to be the dawn of fresh oil war in Niger Delta,” he warned.

There is yet no official reaction to the group’s allegations.

Violence in the region from 2006 to last year played havoc with oil production which dropped to around a million barrels per day as against 2.6 million barrels at peak production level.

Posted: at 16-06-2010 07:44 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- aliaaz at 16-06-2010 08:22 PM (13 years ago)
One thing wey i hate about all this guyz be say those guns they nor dey ever use them.

Posted: at 16-06-2010 08:22 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- orland at 16-06-2010 10:09 PM (13 years ago)
Fire go thunder their them...wat abt me ko? Government no pay us Make i go do one thing wey dem go hate
Posted: at 16-06-2010 10:09 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ndjoe at 16-06-2010 10:33 PM (13 years ago)
ok we hear
Posted: at 16-06-2010 10:33 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ceejay58 at 16-06-2010 11:08 PM (13 years ago)
abeg make me too go begin gather guns and grenades.....lol   

don't wanna be caught pants down....  Lips Sealed
Posted: at 16-06-2010 11:08 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Ucynice at 17-06-2010 12:07 AM (13 years ago)
WE REALLY NEED GOD INTERVENTION IN THIS COUNTRY IN THIS WICKED GENERATION.
Posted: at 17-06-2010 12:07 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Enockia at 17-06-2010 01:14 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: aliaaz on 16-06-2010 08:22 PM
One thing wey i hate about all this guyz be say those guns they nor dey ever use them.

drop ur address nd they'll test it on u nd ur other family members

Posted: at 17-06-2010 01:14 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- aliaaz at 17-06-2010 07:39 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Enockia on 17-06-2010 01:14 AM
Quote from: aliaaz on 16-06-2010 08:22 PM

drop ur address nd they'll test it on u nd ur other family members

Okay fine.

Posted: at 17-06-2010 07:39 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- esonu at 17-06-2010 08:06 AM (13 years ago)
heard

Posted: at 17-06-2010 08:06 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Ocean2 at 17-06-2010 08:30 AM (13 years ago)
I wish I'm one of them ,i would have forget about this oil part and concentrate on all this people wey dey use 2 point something million dollars dey call beyonce to sing for them in their marriage and all this greedy bad politicians of us
Posted: at 17-06-2010 08:30 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- onyiis at 17-06-2010 09:16 AM (13 years ago)
fire on the mountain

Posted: at 17-06-2010 09:16 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- ooooekene at 17-06-2010 09:39 AM (13 years ago)
ok we dont hear
Posted: at 17-06-2010 09:39 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- frenzeecool_08 at 17-06-2010 10:44 AM (13 years ago)
They are simply lazy rogues fighting to illegally enrich their pockets.

Imagine this line

Togo said he was speaking for himself, and nine other ex-militant “generals.” Togo complained that since he and other “generals” embraced amnesty they were being paid 65,000 naira (430 dollars, 348 euros) monthly, the same as their soldiers, describing the situation as “an insult and direct slap on the faces of ex-generals”.
Posted: at 17-06-2010 10:44 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajiluv at 17-06-2010 11:06 AM (13 years ago)
these iliterate guys we never stop i quess they v lanquish the little cash dey where given last time on
women and achol now they want another money,fools.
Posted: at 17-06-2010 11:06 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Doniyke1 at 17-06-2010 11:09 AM (13 years ago)
Wonder shall never end.
Posted: at 17-06-2010 11:09 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- nwakama at 17-06-2010 12:20 PM (13 years ago)
Big boys never vex like that , this is a sensitive issue ,, nothing goes for nothing,, lets be very sincere and tell the politicians in Nigeria that they should stop using  these big BOYS for their political arithemetic by channeling their problems for their political ambitions,,fellow NAIJA  dont mind them this is purely political distraction planned to run down the government of President Goodluck  Jonathan ,, we are going pray fervently to counter their nasty plans prevent them from not coming  to reality, as the almighty God is incharge of Nigeria Government
Posted: at 17-06-2010 12:20 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- bomsiluv at 17-06-2010 12:25 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: orland on 16-06-2010 10:09 PM
Fire go thunder their them...wat abt me ko? Government no pay us Make i go do one thing wey dem go hate

You dey curse them abi? wait make Tompolo or Sogboma come catch you 4 here, na bomb them go put 4 your mouth
Posted: at 17-06-2010 12:25 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bless123omo at 17-06-2010 01:00 PM (13 years ago)
       Hi Sir, Mr Nametlkam,
Please, would you like to have your brthers and sisters, or your familly, keepth in gail, for your sake, i should belive that as a very briliant man you would not whant to do that, my friend life thay say is not all abaut do or dair, but if we come together and seat over this problem that is on graund in delta state, i know this will be takeing cear of, Sir, i respet una o. mak una tharlk to god make him help una for this problem na so me siam o. thanks,
     yours,
        Blessing Omoregbe.
Posted: at 17-06-2010 01:00 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- kwax at 17-06-2010 02:17 PM (13 years ago)
Ah! ha!ha ha haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!! WHo give them Arms?
Posted: at 17-06-2010 02:17 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- prospilo at 17-06-2010 04:17 PM (13 years ago)
u guys should just pray for this country, cos that is what we need.
Posted: at 17-06-2010 04:17 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4 5