Africans and Football.....is it really worth it if we have foreign coaches?

Date: 20-06-2010 9:39 pm (13 years ago) | Author: udo onwubiko
[1] 2 3 4
- at 20-06-2010 09:39 PM (13 years ago)
How can African football teams be having foreign coaches? These coaches don't understand how we play the football game as Africans, and all they do is mess up what we already know. Ivorycoast, Nigeria, name it...all of them have coaches from europe and America. Not to be racist or anything...but Siasa did a better job for Nigeria!!
The point is do u think that a foreing coach should coach Nigeria? or a Nigerian should be the coach?

Posted: at 20-06-2010 09:39 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Dguy at 20-06-2010 11:55 PM (13 years ago)
100% with you on that, foreign coaches are joke - except for Morinho who is a special one. Siasia is a super good coach, tested and trusted, but form some unknown reasons Nigeria still prefer a low-profile foreign coach for the job

Posted: at 20-06-2010 11:55 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ndjoe at 21-06-2010 12:55 AM (13 years ago)
hmmm for now my heart is hevy we will talk about this later not now i am not in the mood
Posted: at 21-06-2010 12:55 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- rihane at 21-06-2010 02:08 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: ndjoe on 21-06-2010 12:55 AM
hmmm for now my heart is hevy we will talk about this later not now i am not in the mood
Not in the mood?Huh? so u are feeling the heat? Nigeria has lost the first 2 matches....we are heading for a big Failure!! even though we have good players... anyway when u are in the mood....say ur mind..lol
Posted: at 21-06-2010 02:08 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ndjoe at 21-06-2010 03:54 AM (13 years ago)
you wont understand i am crying not just for Nigeria but for the rest of African teams
Posted: at 21-06-2010 03:54 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- vantheo at 21-06-2010 07:11 AM (13 years ago)
Foreign coaches r better no doubt

Posted: at 21-06-2010 07:11 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Tunjifasesin at 21-06-2010 10:12 AM (13 years ago)
Nigeria coaches did not do anything to eagle. Siasia tried, remember Tunde Disu and Xtian Chukwu the all tried when it comes to trainings of Hungry boys of under 17 or 21. But for under 23 and super eagle it is not possible because most of this players at this level have discovered themselfs they are pompous arrogant and always bliv they are doing us favor by playing for their nation. No local coach can control them. They always claim they earn more than the local coaches. the disrespect them so much. Did you hear what Obafemi did to lagaback that made him not to feature in Greece match. You remember how Mikel was behaving during the qualifiers. They are all arrogant who never can learn from any national coach except their club sides.
Posted: at 21-06-2010 10:12 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- popo2009 at 21-06-2010 10:32 AM (13 years ago)
@Rihane....God bless you for sharing my grievences with me
Siasia should have been given the coach but low-profile Lagerback
Why didnt him coach his own country......anyway corruption is our biggest problem
Posted: at 21-06-2010 10:32 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nwangwa at 21-06-2010 12:01 PM (13 years ago)
@POPO2009; don't bleme coach, you have to blame the players,  lagaback you dey try but no your fault, if i see that MUMU callled kaita, kat, kit,or mumu kaita any thing he called himself, i will fight him myself, is man to man, i wll show him that i'm stronger than him
Posted: at 21-06-2010 12:01 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Ybayour at 21-06-2010 12:16 PM (13 years ago)
U pple are making sense since, and i want 2 add dis my small contribution. I dont know y our leaders use 2 think darkly, somebody dat cannot coach his country 2 d world cup dat is d person dat we now think dat can lead us 4getting somebody dat makes u qualify.ao could dat be?.
Posted: at 21-06-2010 12:16 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ecology at 21-06-2010 12:27 PM (13 years ago)
Our problem is that we have not taken football as a serious business yet,people played football with their senses before playing with their feet and that s why someone like munrinho always win even with not too good players.Nigerian are too forgetful it was not up to a year that we were clamoring for a foreign coach now we are at it again.siasia is a good coach no doubt about that but the question is will NFF have anything to do with someone who is not the yes sir type?
Posted: at 21-06-2010 12:27 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- EZEANIOKOSISI at 21-06-2010 12:34 PM (13 years ago)
The problem is not entirely that of coaches,adequate preparation,timing and all that.I still believe that Westerhof did a yeomans job at USA 94,However with proper backing and objectivity our indigenous coaches can perform
Posted: at 21-06-2010 12:34 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- agabs at 21-06-2010 12:43 PM (13 years ago)
Nigerian Coaches lack Integrity, Discipline, Tact and the Respect needed to control the likes of the Obafemi Martins, Mikel Obi, Yakuba and the rest.

When you are corrupt and everybody knows you are corrupt, you can not enforce punishment. If you try it, I will call my Godfathers and we know your secrets, so you must listen to me and you must tolerate me.

Can not speak for other African countries. A Nigerian Coach can not handle the senior team. Too much NFA interference.
Posted: at 21-06-2010 12:43 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- hansgans at 21-06-2010 12:53 PM (13 years ago)
what i this is , is time that we african should stand for our self because in every thing we are lookint to europ and america
how can we expect the europian man to teach us to to beat there team we can see the mode of there playing  africans are slow in playing all this aide we are sicking from europe should stop look at maradona he is not better than jay jay okocha in playing but he is the one traing brazil we shold stand to our self because the europe never take us to be part of them
Posted: at 21-06-2010 12:53 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Bouncingbaby at 21-06-2010 02:22 PM (13 years ago)
The foreign coaches are nothing but exploiters, they come to Africa to extract our money. It is a pity that Nigeria as a country doesn't know what is good for them... Politics has eaten all aspects of her economy. If i may ask one question, why can't we do away with those old players of ours and recruit young stars. Even Eyimba of Aba will perform even better than Nigeria footballers. One problem with Nigeria is to get a good coach another thing is to give room for the appropriate players to partake. Not until all these are put in place, Nigeria football will never yield anything good fruit.

We have good coaches in this country, lets utilize them by giving them total freedom to carryout their duties as a coach and not NFF and NFA interfering on coaching issues as to who comes into the football team. Federal character principle should not be apply to football. For once lets appointment into the Nigeria football federation be by merit and not by slot....
Posted: at 21-06-2010 02:22 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- nasara45 at 21-06-2010 02:40 PM (13 years ago)
the main problem with african football is lack of understanding among the players,hetret,politics and the way our football federations handle their problems.be it a foreign or home based coach,there is no big deal about that.these players who do not play well on the african soil,do extremely well in europe,still under foregn coaches.we should ask ourselves why they can't do well in africa under thesame foreign coaches.we should not be blaming these foreign coaches......africa is not the first continent in the universe to have foreign coaches.our players should be blamed for all these mess they are giving to the continent...........is it the foreign coach who asked SANI KAITA to commit that errow? take the case with SAMUEL ETO'O FILS.Look at what he has done to FC BARCELONA.was it not under a foreign coach? Thesame SAMUEL ETO'O is in INTER MILAN STILL doing well with a foreign coach.DROGBA IN CHELSEA UNDER A foreign coach.just to name these few.what have they done to our african teams?maybe african terrain is not good for africans to play football on.look at what they do in europe! but back in african,they become snails in their shells.maybe if the various governments in africa can start paying players as what the do in their verious clubs in europe,things may change..some go to these competitions with grougests because they have not signed billions of dollars or euros with their verious countries,the way they do in their verious clubs in europe.THE CALAMITY THAT IS ROBBING AFRICAN FOOTBALL IN MUD IS THE PRODUCT OF AFRICAN THEMSELVES AND NOT FOREIGN COACHES.
Posted: at 21-06-2010 02:40 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- nasara45 at 21-06-2010 02:47 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: nasara45 on 21-06-2010 02:40 PM
the main problem with african football is lack of understanding among the players,hetret,politics and the way our football federations handle their problems.be it a foreign or home based coach,there is no big deal about that.these players who do not play well on the african soil,do extremely well in europe,still under foregn coaches.we should ask ourselves why they can't do well in africa under thesame foreign coaches.we should not be blaming these foreign coaches......africa is not the first continent in the universe to have foreign coaches.our players should be blamed for all these mess they are giving to the continent...........is it the foreign coach who asked SANI KAITA to commit that errow? take the case with SAMUEL ETO'O FILS.Look at what he has done to FC BARCELONA.was it not under a foreign coach? Thesame SAMUEL ETO'O is in INTER MILAN STILL doing well with a foreign coach.DROGBA IN CHELSEA UNDER A foreign coach.just to name these few.what have they done to our african teams?maybe african terrain is not good for africans to play football on.look at what they do in europe! but back in african,they become snails in their shells.maybe if the various governments in africa can start paying players as what the do in their verious clubs in europe,things may change..some go to these competitions with grougests because they have not signed billions of dollars or euros with their verious countries,the way they do in their verious clubs in europe.THE CALAMITY THAT IS ROBBING AFRICAN FOOTBALL IN MUD IS THE PRODUCT OF AFRICAN THEMSELVES AND NOT FOREIGN COACHES.
Posted: at 21-06-2010 02:47 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- sproduction at 21-06-2010 03:13 PM (13 years ago)
wat do u expect, do u want black africans to win the white nations with  white coaches. abeg make una dey think well
Posted: at 21-06-2010 03:13 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- akibirna at 21-06-2010 03:40 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: popo2009 on 21-06-2010 10:32 AM
@Rihane....God bless you for sharing my grievences with me
Siasia should have been given the coach but low-profile Lagerback
Why didnt him coach his own country......anyway corruption is our biggest problem

The NFA won´t allow Siasia to coach super eagles bcos they have nol concret confident in him but rather they have confident in foreign coach and we are not even progressing in the on going compitition.
Posted: at 21-06-2010 03:40 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- kwax at 21-06-2010 03:54 PM (13 years ago)
Naigeria has succeeded in wasting resources on a white man who is not better than Amodu :'(
Posted: at 21-06-2010 03:54 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4